We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“faultless B and B :-)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sandpiper Guest House
Ranked #25 of 148 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“faultless B and B :-)”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

The hosts were v welcoming, the room we stayed in was spotless and decorated to a v high standard, the bed was sooooo comfy. the bar was great, and the breakfast superb. Short walk to the seafront. if you're thinking about booking this place definitely do it you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SkatersSkaters31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    33
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
79
150
17
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed at the Sandpiper for one night. Our accommodation was bright and very clean. We had a lovely walk to the Theatre in Torquay from the Guest House, although should point out it is quite a hilly walk. Breakfast was delicious and nothing too much trouble. We would certainly book to stay in this Guest House again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mairi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We stayed in The Sandpiper for one night only. We arrived very late but were warmly welcomed by Russell. Room facilities were excellent. Very airy and exceptionally bright and clean. The en suite had a huge shower cubicle and the water pressure great....so nice not to have to step into a bath for a shower. All toiletries were supplied together with fluffy white towels. So we were well pleased for our comfortable bed and nights rest. But there was more, the dining room was so smart, no sauce and jam pots here! lovely individual pots for top range jams and sauces, ground pepper and sea salt how lovely. I had a large helping of fresh pineapple there was also a choice of water melon plus cereals etc...but I knew I was having a cooked english breakfast and wanted to leave room for that, and of course, that was as good as everything else at The Sanpiper, Individual pots of tea or coffee, refilled if you wanted more! Thank you, 10 out of 10 for the short stay......wished I could have stayed all week, disappointed I did not have had long enough to try the evening meal.

Room Tip: Room 1, very quiet and comfortable,on the ground floor which I prefer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 24PatS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2014

My wife and I chose the Sandpiper from the internet so it was our first visit. Everything described on the internet and photographs etc. proved to be exactly as shown. Our room was immaculate, newly decorated with good quality furnishings and the en suite likewise. Everything was spotless. We were very comfortable throughout the week. Helen & Russell were perfect hosts and were most helpful, no matter what was asked of them. The breakfasts were plentiful with a varied choice and of very good quality. We enjoyed it so much that we have booked to return later in the year and cannot wait! No hesitation in recommending The Sandpiper whatsoever. 5 Star rating!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Went to Torquay for the Royal British Legion AGM and stayed at the Sandpiper and found it to be a friendly and comfortable guest house. The food was very good. They catered for us as well when we had to leave early in the morning for meetings.
Thank you Helen & Russell for making us welcome and your 2 children

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aa_je
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Myself, my wife and two daughters stayed for one night. We had a double and twin room that were next to each other and set apart from other rooms, ideal for us as a family. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, very peaceful at night so a good nights sleep was had by all. The breakfast was wonderful, good quality locally sourced ingredients and nicely cooked.

Room Tip: We had rooms 1 and 2, a double and a twin, ideal as a family especially as these two rooms were set...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

A warm welcome awaited us ! A lovely situated guest house , the rooms fresh & clean with a nice comfortable bed & en-suite with a nice powerful shower. The full english breakfast was cooked to perfection every morning & served in a well appointed bright & airy dinning room. There is also a lovely well stocked bar & a lovely decking area to sit.Thank you Russ & Helen Adam & Laura

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 321DEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#5 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
1.1 mi away
Braddon Hall Hotel
Braddon Hall Hotel
#38 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Glenwood
The Glenwood
#71 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Burleigh House
Burleigh House
#26 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harmony Guest House
Harmony Guest House
#27 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westgate
The Westgate
#13 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sandpiper Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandpiper Guest House

Property: The Sandpiper Guest House
Address: Rowdens Road, Torquay TQ2 5AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sandpiper Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the Sandpiper Guest house, set in a peaceful tree lined cul-de-sac just a short walk away from the Riviera international Centre, Torre Abbey Gardens and the seafront. We offer quality accommodation in a relaxed, informal and friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Sandpiper Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sandpiper Guest House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing