We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Biker friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Sandpiper Guest House
Ranked #22 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed here for one night with friends whilst motorcycling around Devon and Cornwall. It's in a good position,ten minute walk to local amenities.good off road parking.the room was clean and comfortable.cant fault it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 350neo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
There are newer reviews for The Sandpiper Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 335 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

We arrived on a Saturday night to realise I had made a mistake online and we hadn't booked until Sunday. This was not a problem a room was found for us. I've not stayed in a guest house for a long time. I can't fault the Sandpiper, our hosts were extremely accommodating and very kind. We only stayed for one night, the service was superb as well as the rooms being very clean and modern. Breakfast was excellent. We had such a lovely stay that I have already enquired about coming back in July.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickyM680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This guest house run by Helen and Russ is outstanding. The minuet you walk in you are made to feel at home. The rooms were clean and comfortable with on suite and tea making facilities. Lovely dining room with a choice of everything you would want for breakfast which would set you up for the day. Evening meals at an extra charge again excellent . Overall excellent value for money and to make things even better , if like us you are dog owners they are made equally as welcome. Their two children Adam and Laura are also very helpful and nothing is to much trouble for any of the family.

Room Tip: Excellent location in a quiet area but within walking of Torquay. All rooms seemed to be quiet.
Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Sandpiper is a guest house licensed to sell alcohol and they have a small bar area open in the evening as well as wine to go with dinner etc. Our room though not one of the refurbished rooms was spotless, included fluffy white towels and toiletries; perhaps a little old fashioned but very well decorated, comfortable and overlooked the garden. There was a small flat screen TV but the guest lounge has a large TV for those who want it. The breakfast was excellent with good quality produce, nicely laid table and fast unobtrusive service. The dining room spacious and bright. A pleasant walk direct from this guest house takes you to the harbour shops and gardens by the seafront which are a delight. All in all a great stay for a modest price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suewWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Another great stay at the Sandpiper Torquay, Russell and Helen were great hosts The hotel is spotlessly clean, our room was excellent with a large en-suite, Breakfast was excellent. We will be returning later in the year. Doug + Sheila

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doug +sheila J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We've just spent a lovely 4 days in Torquay at The Sandpiper. What a wonderful place to stay for so many reasons:
Russell and Helen are friendly, professional and there to make your stay perfect. I forgot my phone charger and they lent me theirs.
All of the rooms are beautifully decorated and SPOTLESSLY CLEAN, including communal areas. We had a huge lovely shower en-suite and as it was more than a little chilly in Torquay we needed a lovely warm shower on our return.
Russell's cooking isn't bad either! Breakfast is a choice of cereals and/or fruit followed by a great English breakfast of your choice of items, to set you up for the day.
We also ate on 2 evenings and the food was of the same high standard at very competitive prices.
I seriously can't fault The SandPiper in any way whatsoever and would recommend a stay there to anyone. Reasonable rates, great home from home atmosphere. Give them your business, we'll definitely be going again! A huge thank you Helen and Russell, we feel we have some new friends! from Sue and Alan x

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soolooSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed for four days in January with our elderly pet dog who enjoyed her stay as much as we did, owners Helen and Russell made us very welcome and although the room was on the small side it was very clean, well designed and decorated, comfortable king size bed and immaculate en-suite bathroom with large shower. Full English Breakfast was excellent with wide choice of cereals fruit juices etc
Russell does all his own decorating and has finished the rooms to a very high standard.
Would certainly recommend it to guests with own transport as it is a little way from town centre.

Room Tip: Room No.1 on ground floor ideal for those with pets and also for easier disabled access.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Trelawney Hotel
Trelawney Hotel
#33 of 87 in Torquay
127 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Glenwood
The Glenwood
#80 of 149 in Torquay
67 reviews
0.2 mi away
Garway Lodge
Garway Lodge
#23 of 149 in Torquay
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harmony Bed and Breakfast
Harmony Bed and Breakfast
#21 of 149 in Torquay
204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grosvenor House
Grosvenor House
#51 of 149 in Torquay
77 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Marina
Villa Marina
#16 of 149 in Torquay
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sandpiper Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandpiper Guest House

Address: Rowdens Road, Torquay TQ2 5AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $77 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sandpiper Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the Sandpiper Guest house, set in a peaceful tree lined cul-de-sac just a short walk away from the Riviera international Centre, Torre Abbey Gardens and the seafront. We offer quality accommodation in a relaxed, informal and friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Sandpiper Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sandpiper Guest House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing