We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“couple william and caroline greenwood”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sandpiper Guest House
Ranked #28 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Porthleven, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“couple william and caroline greenwood”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

friendly welcome .very clean good food twenty minute walk to torquey but it didt seem that long .we had two nites just ashame it wasnt longer was sad to leave will certainly go back .great hosts made you so welcome willing to help .breakfast was fanstastic great start to the day .we went to torquey for our wedding anniversary and had a great nite in the town .the quest house is in a quiet location so slept very well .theres a nice cosy bar which was very pleasant and could get to know and chat to the other guess .really can not fault this guest house in anyway at all its the best ive ever stayed in and would certainly tell my friends if ever in torquey to stay there

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    33
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
81
154
17
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Warm, welcoming and well- run, this is a lovely place to stay, Russell and Helen make everyone feel at home. The rooms are nicely decorated, well furnished and very clean. The hotel has a spacious lounge and cosy bar. The breakfast was delicious and the service excellent. It is in a quiet road with its own parking. There are lots of attractions and lovely countryside to visit in the surrounding areas. Many guests happily return year after year and, if you stay here, you will understand why.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

What a great place to stay. Warm welcome from the owners. Immaculately clean and comfortable public and private rooms. Cosy bar with very reasonable prices and choices of chilled (or unchilled), bottled beers. Excellent breakfast. Convenient location to walk to beach, harbour and town and yet peaceful at night. Off-road parking. Astonishing value. Would stay again without any doubt at all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Very nice guesthouse, the room I had was small but perfectly equipped and very clean.
We were allowed to check in early with no issue.
It's just over a mile from the centre of Torquay so quite a walk although there are bars shops etc nearer.
The breakfast was nice and service good.

You could do much worse than stay here in Torquay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dscarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Me and my husband stayed for two nights. The room was very clean and, although a tad small had everything you can possibly need and free wi-fi. The bed was very confortable and we were offered free water and biscuits every day.
The breakfast is very well prepared with local food and to your liking. Good diversity too.
Nice location in relation to the centre of town. All in all, recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pcou1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Entrance, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed here overnight and it was great. The bed room was was well decorated and the bed was very comfortable. Although the ensuite was a little small, it was clean and the shower had a really good flow. Helen prepared us a scrumptious and hearty breakfast. We would stay here again, and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NettiD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

Possible the best Guest House we've ever stayed in. The owners were incredibly kind and friendly and provided a very welcoming enviroment. Our room was big, bright and spotless clean, the breakfast was also excellent. The house included a cozy lounge area and even a downstairs bar. Overall it was an amazing experience and we can't wait to be back!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karolkawie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#5 of 87 in Torquay
522 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
0.0 mi away
The Glenwood
The Glenwood
#74 of 149 in Torquay
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Iona Torquay
Hotel Iona Torquay
#51 of 149 in Torquay
270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Garway Lodge
Garway Lodge
#27 of 149 in Torquay
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sandpiper Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandpiper Guest House

Property: The Sandpiper Guest House
Address: Rowdens Road, Torquay TQ2 5AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sandpiper Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the Sandpiper Guest house, set in a peaceful tree lined cul-de-sac just a short walk away from the Riviera international Centre, Torre Abbey Gardens and the seafront. We offer quality accommodation in a relaxed, informal and friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your The Sandpiper Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sandpiper Guest House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing