We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you want cheap and cheerful this is it!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Richmond

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Richmond
Ranked #67 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If you want cheap and cheerful this is it!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2010

Ghastly long journey down with Sunrise Holidays?- surely some mistake! Hotel room smelt constantly of bad drains and furnishings and fittings were tired. Looked out over the noisey car park of the adjacent Old Peoples Home. Bathroom basic and not very clean. Bed uncomfortable. Good plentiful breakfasts in the morning. Evening meal really very basic and poorly cooked. However, hotel management and staff faultless, friendly and helpful at all times.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diddy_dave_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    98
    66
    47
    45
See reviews for
61
128
27
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2010

Just arrived home from a weekend at theRichmond. It wasa very relaxing weekend,the room was overlooking the Bay and what a lovely view it was. The food was perfect,real home cooked English meals.The staff were all polite and always very helpful.The Manager seemed to be around all the time and was always busy doing different things around the place., when we were leaving Monday he was preparing for a " Will meet again" break putting up posters and flags.We have been going there three or four times a year for the last fours years and would recommend it to everyone

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Suegeorge00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colchester, essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2010

My Mother and Father In Law stayed at this hotel for a week in July 10 and had never experienced anything like it! Hotel Room: Shabby, dirty, bed linen old and worn, bathroom area needed cleaning, furniture all outdated! Food: Meals on menu not always available and not hot. Drinks in bar: Ordered a baileys which was served in a tall tumbler! Lost half the drink by the time it reached the top of the glass!!! After returning home, my Mother in-law complained to the hotel chain but they were not interested - infact their recollection of events (the state of the room, meals etc) was very different! They would never recommend this hotel to anyone - would however recommend Torquay as a resort JUST DONT STAY IN THIS HOTEL WASTE OF MONEY!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank laulou19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Torquay hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2010

The bed covers smelt vile and were yellow and had not been changed it seemed like in 6 months it was awuful!!! The sink area had not been cleaned n a while area, there were whiskers all around the back and grime. The hygeine of the so called hotel room i stayed in was disgraceful! and when i asked for a refund i got a very hostile attitude from the owners saying that it was my responsibilty to let them know!!!!!!! well im sorry but it's there duty to ensure that the room is suitable for a customer to sleep in if you are running a business!!!! I was shocked at there attitude and after a battle got a refund, they are very lucky that the hotel inspector the week before did not sleep in that room or the place would be shut down. This is the WORST by far place i have every stayed in my life i would rather have slept in the toliet. I would never recommend anyone to stay there! I hope i don't catch something from there hygeine standards and am glad i did not book in for breakfast there.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank madammoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truro cornwall
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2010

We have stayed in the hotel before and had such a great stay that we returned and will do so again. The staff are friendly and very helpful and the room we stay in is well presented with a big balcony overlooking the bay. The hotel is situated 10mins walk from city centre and about the same to the Princess theatre.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2010

We have hust returned from the Richmond for a new year break.
Our room was very shabby and smelt of cigarette smoke. We had to sleep with the windows wide open in spite of the temperature being -2 degrees outside. The bath had a shower but it could not be regulated. either scalding hot or cold. The fittings were very shabby and were in urgent need of refurbishment. We changed our room the next day for a better room. This could not be described as a double room but it was clean. There were no other rooms so we settled for this.
The food was ok but for the New years meal there were no waiting staff to serve our meal or lay the tables. Hence no starters. Luckily we had a buffet main meal .It was a real shambles with the manager coming round 30 mins after our meal had finished trying to get rid of the only hot sweet....Rhubarb and custard. Would have had it if it had come earlier.
We were given a shot glass of grapefruit juice to celebrate the New Year....Where was the advertised bubbly?
The decorations in the hotel were wonderful...the best I had seen. Just a pity they did not spend the time and money on the rooms and service.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank greenaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2010

My wife and i have been organising New Year Tours for 35 / 45 peoplefor over 20 years and without doubt our New Year spent at the Richmond was the best ever.Nothing was to much trouble for the staff or managment.Food was good and the entertainment was excellent.The decoration s were magnificent.This was the opinions of all our group not just ours,so much so they want to go back .Thanks again for a wonderful 4 days.John

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judi42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#33 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.5 mi away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#57 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#55 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#49 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
1.0 mi away
Anchorage Hotel
Anchorage Hotel
#77 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.0 mi away
Howden Court Hotel
Howden Court Hotel
#16 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Richmond

Property: Hotel Richmond
Address: 27 Croft Road, Torquay TQ2 5UD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Richmond 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Hotel Richmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Torquay
Hotel Richmond Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing