We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Coach party haven”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Richmond

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Richmond
Ranked #67 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Coach party haven”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a week. First impressions weren't great as the hotel looked run down and tired from both the outside and the inside. Was surprised by the room though as it was decorated quite well and was overall very clean. After the first couple of days a coach party arrived which was very annoying as the outside and foyer became crowded with mobility scooters; our room was over looking the terrace where they congregated smoking so the smell of smoke came into the room (had to leave window open as room v hot) and their loud out of tune entertainment made it impossible to sleep. I also would say the short cut path at the back needs to be tidied. Overall enjoyed the stay but probably wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank charcart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your constructive feedback, following your recent stay with us.

It was disappointing to hear that the hotel did not meet with your expectations on this occasion. Your feedback is extremely important to us and we really do value your custom as such I offer my sincere apologies for any inconvenience that you may have suffered during your stay.

Please be assured that your comments have been taken on board and we are sorry that you do not feel able to return to us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    98
    66
    47
    45
See reviews for
61
128
27
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for a weekend getaway with friends. We paid £100 a room (B&B), which quite frankly was way too expensive. The hotel is in need of extensive refurbishment. The room was clean but very very tired. Even the telephone/radio/alarm clock was of a vintage only seen in retro police drama's nowadays. There was a pervasive smell of sickly sweet air freshener that seemed designed to hide an aray of unpleasant aromas. If you're looking for a break, I'm sure you'll be able to find something better.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank treenyweenywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us recently

I really was very sorry to read your comments regarding the overall décor of the Richmond, we agree that there are some areas and rooms which need upgrading within the hotel and this forms part of a rolling maintenance programme. Your comments have been noted.

Once again thank you for your comments and please be assured that I have taken them on board.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Torquay hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a one night stay at this hotel. Fortunately I was staying with friends as if I went with my family I would have refused to stay. Our room was, in my opinion, an absolute disgrace. There was a hole in the wall above the bed which seemed to have been caused by somebody punching it. The headboard of the bed was absolutely covered in hairs and there was an iron burn mark on the carpet. The ceiling of the room had a massive stain and was damaged in other areas. The only plus side was the very nice radio/alarm clock/telephone combination unit - I'm not sure why these haven't caught on more widely.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Munky O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us recently

We agree that there are some areas and rooms which need upgrading within the hotel, however we pride ourselves on the level of service provided, I am sorry that you did not find this to be the case on this occasion.

Please be assured that all of your comments have been taken on board

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in August 2013. Initially booked five days, then extended it for another five days. Hotel was general very good, as was the room. Desk staff excellent and very helpful. Location is great, on a very quiet street very near the sea-front. Didn't managed to get a balcony room, but I suspect the views are great up there!
A few negatives, breakfast seemed to be chaotic, but food arrived as ordered. Choice limited, but it's probably what you expect in this price-range. Our biggest disappointment was discovering the milk for the cereals was on the turn one morning. Staff initially claimed it was in date then stated it had happened before a few weeks ago. Disappointing that they are not checking such things, especially if it happened before! We decided to skip the cereals from that point onwards, and for the last few days skipped breakfast altogether and headed to the near-by Weatherspoons (we would probably have done this anyway for the variety).
A few other negative points - kept getting left only 1 set of towels and had to ask the desk staff for more, which there was never a problem with. The floor-boards are very creaky, but there wasn't a lot of late-night activity so this didn't bother us. TV was very outdated, not tuned correctly and missing the remote. We called at the 99p shop in Paignton and picked up a universal remote (for 99p) which quickly solved the tuning problem. I think we'll keep this in our suitcase. Final negative point was the tea! - Both breakfast and in-room tea was terrible! I can recommend the chap on the sea-front for a good cheap £1 cuppa though, or just bring your own tea-bags, which you should probably do anyway no matter where you're staying.
Also worth mentioning, for the benefit of the hotel, is that there was no way of getting a proper coffee after 9pm from the bar. For those that don't drink a lot, this would be a good thing to offer. However, you're within 5 minutes of a Beefeater that serve Costa, so if you're desperate you have an option.
In summary, apart from the few very minor negative points, we would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cheryl_and_Tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us recently.

I was pleased to read your positive comments and have passed these on to Ian and his team as I know how much these will be appreciated.

Thank you once again for your custom and please be assured that your constructive comments have been noted.

We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel with friends - travelling with Glenton. The friendliness & service from the staff was very good. The food was excellent with 4 course dinners every night with plenty of choices, and good sized portions. Nothing was too much trouble for the restaurant staff and we had extra coffee & toast every morning. It was good to see the Manager in the restaurant every meal time & he made a point of speaking to the guests at every table. The Hotel was well positioned with a short walk to the seafront along a wooded path. Yes the the hotel needs a bit of TLC but on a coach tour how much time do you spend in your room! Value for money it was certainly well worth it!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank namw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us recently.

I was pleased to read your positive comments and have passed these on to Ian and his team as I know how much these will be appreciated.

Thank you once again for your custom and please be assured that your constructive comments have been noted.

We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Ok, yes this hotel looks dated in the communal areas and the quality of breakfast could be better. But I booked a room with balcony and sea view for a very reasonable price. It was a good size, clean and pleasant looking. Ladies do bring your own hairdryers though, there's is not very modern!! Staff were friendly enough and hotel is in good location. This is not a hotel with all the mod cons which ideally i would like, but Room size, balcony, seaview and price would make me return again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarahjcla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us recently.

I was pleased to read your positive comments and have passed these on to Ian and his team as I know how much these will be appreciated.

Thank you once again for your custom and please be assured that your constructive comments have been noted.

We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lapworth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had a four night break in august and it was the best time and stay we have ever had in torquay it was close to everything and the view from our balcony was astounding ,staff were very helpful and the head waitress was brilliant .The only downside was the hotel needs a bit of decorating, and limited car parking but hotel was exceptionally clean

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tracy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us recently.

I was pleased to read your positive comments and have passed these on to Ian and his team as I know how much these will be appreciated.

Thank you once again for your custom and please be assured that your constructive comments have been noted.

We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#33 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.5 mi away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#57 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#55 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#49 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
1.0 mi away
Anchorage Hotel
Anchorage Hotel
#77 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.0 mi away
Howden Court Hotel
Howden Court Hotel
#16 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Richmond

Property: Hotel Richmond
Address: 27 Croft Road, Torquay TQ2 5UD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Richmond 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Richmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Torquay
Hotel Richmond Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing