We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Richmond
Nearby Hotels
The Marstan(Torquay)
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atlantis(Torquay)(Great Value!)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$97
$94
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glenorleigh(Torquay)(Great Value!)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Westgate(Torquay)
$85
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$103
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$211
$205
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$402
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (406)
Filter reviews
406 results
Traveler rating
88
118
83
54
63
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
118
83
54
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrand uksea viewchristmas decorationspleasant stayexcellent value for moneycoach partytea and coffeesea fronttown centrecannot faultbed and breakfastwarm welcomelovely roomyogurtbrianbalconybay
Filter
Updating list...
340 - 345 of 406 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This hotel is very tired and in need of some TLC.Our room was large enough and furnished ok
The only problem was the bed,it needs replacing to get rid of the lumps!
The bathroom could do with updating and more shelving for toilletries etc
Hot water this is very ,very hot in fact it was well above the recommended safe temperature, be warned!
Food was acceptable but items that were on the menu were not available when requested.
The entertainment on the Saturday night was excellent.
Would return but chose a room at the front with a balcony

Room Tip: Chose a room with a balcony
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit to the hotel. Our sea view rooms are very good value for money with excellent views across the bay. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay and we will look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel on first seeing was looking a little tired and paint work on the balconys needs sorting out and refreshing and there was not a lot of parking at the hotel.We got our keys and told which way to our room the signage was very poor and we spent a long time finding our room,the room was cleanand so was the bathroom but there were no soap etc!
The hotel was clean and the staff were very smart and friendly.
The evening meal was a decent menu and the food was served quickly but the food was luke warm,the bar was clean but only had basic drinks on sale could have been more on sale.
Breakfast was so so could have served better portions but ok a 5 out of 10.
Avoid the lift it holds 2 persons and the buttons do not always work it is in need of replacing.
Portarage this was very quick and good service.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view and a balcony room.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank christopher w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Thank you for your feedback regaridng the hotel. I am pleased that you found the staff friendly and helpful. I take on board your comments regarding the food. The lift is small but it is serviced on a regular basis to ensure it operates at all times. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and we will look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

rooms were not up to scratch. Cables just left hanging about out side the room thatIwas in with my friend. Bath room was needing a good clean as was the hole hotel. Food was not cooked properly getting meals that were only half cooked. Swimming pool was looking onto the dining area and the main frame work was dirty and rusty where as the tiles were dirty and greecy and there was only 2 small boxes there for changing. So I advise you not to waste your money going to this hotel for a rating of my own I would give it a - 1

Room Tip: Don't waste your money here.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 169scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

I am really sorry that the hotel’s décor did not meet your expectations on this occasion. The hotel has investigated your comments regarding the cables. I am also sorry to read that the cleanliness had not reached our normal standard. The swimming pool is facility offered for guests only. Any refurbishment work is currently being considered. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We really do value your custom and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

went on a coach holidays to this hotel very quite location hotel little dated but that does not matter food needed little more cooking ie the spuds but really enjoyed the stay and would stay again but would go for a balcony room

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rose w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

I am really sorry that the hotel’s décor did not meet your expectations on this occasion. I would like to thank you for taking the time to us about the aspects of your stay that you did enjoy. Your comments regarding the food are being addressed by the hotel management team. I am pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay and we will look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Me and my family stayed at this hotel Mon - Fri , The first room they gave us was for a disabled person with no proper shower or bath , so asked for another room , the second room they gave us was terrible very dark and dingy it felt so dirty when you walked in, it was so in need of some TLC , so again asked for another room, this room was a little better but still in need of some TLC as it is very dated, curtain rail hanging off, bathroom smelt terrible probably cos of the old carpet in there . The evening meals were disgusting ,not much choice and dont cater for children , me and my husband are not fussy eaters but even we couldn't stomach the food . The hotel had a funny smell to it and the down stairs toilets was a lot nicer then the rooms , The entertainment was for the over 80's ,but one good thing we had the swimming pool to ourselves,The staff was helpful and polite .I dont usually write reviews but this hotel was so bad i thought people needed to know. :(

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hayley118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

I am sorry that the hotel’s room choices did not meet your expectations. The first room is used as a specifically designed disabled room with a wet room. It is also a large room with a private balcony that we use for families. The hotel had already sold many of their other rooms and therefore the choices on arrival would have been limited. However, there is no excuse for curtains hanging off their rails. The hotel has now rectified this and is investigating your concerns regarding any smells you experienced. We do cater for children and the hotel, and the menu choices are available on request. I am pleased to read that you found the staff to be friendly. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We really do value your custom and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews