We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant surprise!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Richmond

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Richmond
Ranked #66 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very pleasant surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

Just returned from an overnight stay at this hotel. We'd chosen it, mainly for value, from the huge choice of accommodation available in the Torquay area & were definitely not disappointed. Our welcome at reception was warm & friendly - qualities that we also experienced from all the other staff we encountered. We were delighted with our room - sea view with balcony &, obviously, recently refurbished and our breakfast was hot & hearty
Whilst this was just a 1 night business trip, we would definitely use this hotel again if returning to Torquay

Room Tip: Apparently not all of the rooms have been refurbished yet so it may be worth asking when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoyceB33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    95
    64
    44
    43
See reviews for
58
125
27
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harlow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

after staying here a year ago I could understand some of the poor reviews posted had an element of truth to them. I have just returned after staying at the hotel for a few days and what a difference. A new manager who has united the team of staff who are happy, friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. I had a fantastic room with balcony and sea veiws. The food was very good, service efficant yet friendly. the manager or his assistant were always available to assist the staff and provide information on the hotel and the local area.
Some areas would benifit from a little up dating, but it was very clean and every worked as it should.
I will be returning as often as i can. Every thing you can ask for at very reasonable prices.

Room Tip: pay a very small suppliment for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gert h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2011

when i arrived at the hotel staff were really helpfull and sorted out my query with my tv in my room number 1 straight away
my room was in an excellent position for me but others could find it noisy as it is right next to the ballroom, i did although find the stairs difficult to climb up and down into the dining hall area
i found the food excellent and the restaurant staff worked so hard to make my holiday nice
my room was comfy but the room was slighty outdated could do with a more up to date tv and new beds and offer wi fi service
my overall holiday experince here was excellent and i shall book again here either with grand tours uk or separately

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sue y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

I was at this Hotel last week end for a family celebration . 17 in total .The meal on the Saturday night was very poor to say the least. We selected our meal on the Friday from limited menu Overcooked veg cooked within a inch of its life, frozen fish ,everything tasteless.
The stafff were pleasant enough but if you are looking for good food do not stop at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank redevil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Torquay hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

Before we even finished checking in we were told we had to be out at 10 AM. Filthy carpets, the bed was at least 25 years old, sagging, springs poking through, sheets didn't fit the mattress, 2 pkgs of instant coffee, no shampoo in the bath. Smelled stale, the breakfast was terriable, couldn't eat it.

Room Tip: Ask to see your room before you pay, make sure it's what you expect. If the hotel has a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carleen289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

after reading some of the reviews of this hotel, we stayed here in the week 26. 9. 2011 we fo und the reception,manageress to be excellent, and in a very friendly manner. some of the decor needs to be looked at,but we had one poor meal which was sorted immediately, we found bar staff, and restaurant staff, very cheerful and looked after us. we would stay again, again.----

Room Tip: ask for room with a sea view and a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kinggeorge5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

The Manageress at this hotel is a nightmare! She is rude and has little to no interpersonal skills! On our visit we were accused of paying for less guests than were in our party! After a long argument she told us that they counted us when we were asleep in our rooms! Needless to say she eventually found that she had counted a room that had nothing to do with our party! This was made even worse by the fact they had given away one of our rooms even after we had paid in full, in advance (as per is the norm here). The breakfast was tiny and was all cooked a good few hours before we ate it, all in all it was truly rancid! The walls are paper thin and I could hear a phonecall from 2 rooms down clear as day! Also with the lift door slamming every 5 Minuets throughout the night, it made it nearly impossible to sleep. Every room in our party also had issues with their shower, where you either had a shower that scaled you every 2 minuets or you had one with almost no water pressure what so ever! To be fair, the night-porter was refreshingly helpful! Needless to say, we will not be staying here again!

Room Tip: Choose another Hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CrashDel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Howden Court Hotel
Howden Court Hotel
#17 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
1.0 mi away
Anchorage Hotel
Anchorage Hotel
#80 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.5 mi away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#55 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#58 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#35 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.7 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#49 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Richmond

Property: Hotel Richmond
Address: 27 Croft Road, Torquay TQ2 5UD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Richmond 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Hotel Richmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Torquay
Hotel Richmond Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing