We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (441)
Filter reviews
441 results
Traveler rating
97
130
90
57
67
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
130
90
57
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrand uksea viewchristmas decorationscoach holidayexcellent value for moneypleasant staysea fronttea and coffeetown centrecannot faultwarm welcomelovely roomweekend breakyogurtbrianbalconybay
Filter
Updating list...
405 - 410 of 441 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2011

very nice hotel,decor probably needs updating in some places but manager and staff were so helpful.Bank Holiday weekend when everything went wrong for them but they still carried on smiling for the customers. Clean tidy, good food good location defo go back again.

Room Tip: ask for sea view
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank swindon2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

The cleaning staff and a young restaurant waitress have to be praised for their endurence at this hotel. The room was clean. The reception staff were particularly unhelpfull, dismissive and oblivous to the local transport information for torquay, especially if you are disabled. One receptionist answered every enquiry - even about hotel queries with "dunno"! on every occassion. If you were part of a group booking you are made a fuss of, but if like me you were solo you were treated as a second class citizen.
The rooms need a lot of updating, if you like the shabby retro look with original mismatched furniture you may enjoy staying here.
The food was adequate. As their card machine was broken I had to pay in cash, just as well I had enough with me. No alterntive type of payment was offered.

It would have been a good idea if an information pack was available with
local events information and local transport services available. Also if the staff had knowledge of trhe area so that visitors could access Torquay and see its sights.

I would never, ever stay here again - even if it was free .

Room Tip: Never stay here
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank crazyhorseistambul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Very friendly helpful staff. Food was average but good choices. Breakfast was excellent. Oldish hotel & some rooms have been updated. Room we were in was a family room (double bed & sigle bed). Clean room but bathroom has carpet! which really needs updating to lino or tiles & Shower / Bath was a bit fiddly to use. Only got the hang of it on last day even though Hotel Manager came & gave us a demonstration on how to use it!

Car park very small.

Tip: If you need towels changing put towels in bath or they won't change them!

Overall nice hotel (View from terrace amazing) Make sure you ask for a recently refurbished room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's recently been refurbished.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vse60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed one night that more than enough the rooms were to hot the hotel needs a big uplift although the staff was friendly. The bar was shut early Saturday night we got no sleep all night noisy and disturbing would not reccomend this to anyone the breakfast was the worst we have ever had we would not return glad we only had one night.
Pat from Nuneaton

Room Tip: Do not bother
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pat504201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

There is allways a warm welcome by Brain & Joan they are so friendly and obliging, = the meals are excellent thats a big thanks to dave the chef, = My room was excellent as allways, = And the entertainment was also excellent,= Having stayed here many times before and never had any problems and i will be back for many holidays to come. = A big thank you to all from Gerry.

Room Tip: Just pay a little extra and have a sea view room
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank GRBR20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews