We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed with the reality after reading the reviews” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Devon Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Devon Court
Ranked #57 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Disappointed with the reality after reading the reviews”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

Easy to find. Located within 10 minute walk of several places to eat out & the seafront. Pool looked nice, although we didn't use it. As the hotel's on a hill, one way out is fairly steep, but the other way is a much gentler incline.

We had been booked into a larger room, which was just as well as we had to fit a travel cot in the room. The room was clean & tidy, although the decor & fittings are quite dated as it is mainly pine furniture & the wardrobe was squashed in one corner next to the dressing table, so you could only open one door. Complimentary water was provided on the first day, which was a nice touch especially on a hot day.

We didn't get the really friendly & helpful welcome that other guests have commented on: Despite telling one of the owners we had quite a lot of stuff to bring in, due to having a young baby, we were not offered any help with our bags, so I had to stay in the room with the baby, while my husband made 4 trips up & down stairs, struggling through 2 heavy fire doors to get everything in.
On arrival, there was very little soap in the liquid hand soap dispenser at the wash basin & only 2 sachets of shampoo & shower gel. When we asked for more, the soap dispenser was refilled, but we were told that the sachets were only complimentary on the first day. We had brought our own shampoos/conditioner, but expected there to be at least some soap for the shower/bath.
There was only a tiny bin in the bathroom for us to dispose of the nappies, & on 2 days of our 4 day stay, the cleaner didn't empty it, so I had to take the rubbish outside myself (again, despite telling the owner, she apologised, but did not offer to help).

Breakfast slot is fairly tight 8.30 - 9.15. We were provided with a highchair, but there were no restraining straps in it. Breakfast was ok, although the eggs were overcooked, not remotely runny (even the poached ones) & the mushrooms were quite rubbery. The waitress was very pleasant & helpful.

Overall, we were disappointed with the reality compared to the reviews we'd read.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank picassofishface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    21
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
26
106
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
midlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2009

Received a warm welcome.

Room was clean and comfortable.

Did not use the pool but it looked inviting.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank r1ch4rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2009

We have just come back from 3 lovely days staying at the Devon Court Hotel and have had a lovely time. The owners off the hotel are very nice and make you feel welcome. The weather was really hot when we stayed so a dip in the Hotel pool was a welcome release from the heat! The breakfast in the morning was freshly cooked and the waitress was extremely polite and friendly. The walk to the beach takes about 5 mins so the hotel really is in a prime location. The rooms were cleaned every day and always to a high standard. Overall I would reccommend this hotel to anyone, I will definately be going back!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AshfordAmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2008

My wife and I stayed for few days after we got married and were going to mexico later on in the year so we wanted a short break.
It was perfect here, we had plenty of welcome and plenty of privacy.
The breakfast was A1 and thats coming from a food expert!!!!
We will be looking to stay here a some point in the future and will look forward to it!
If you go to Torquay- stay here! they will look after you

  • Liked — Quiet but welcoming
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed June 2004, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WelshCheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2006

The Devon Court Hotel is owned by a couple (whose names I can't remember) who run the hotel between them, apart from a pleasant waitress at breakfast. The hotel is in a good position for both shops and beach and has a swimming pool. We were on a working weekend in sub-zero March weather, so the swimming pool wasn't an option (although one of our colleagues did mention she wished she'd brought her swimming costume?!).

Our room was in the annex, decor was a little old fashioned but spacious with a shower en-suite and very clean. Comfortable, kingsize bed (two singles joined together), also tea, coffee and biscuits. The lady owner was friendly and we had a nice chat with her in the lounge - where we ordered a pot of tea. She lit the fire and we relaxed in the comfortable leather sofas and armchairs, just what we needed after a tough day! There is also a small bar in the adjoining room (it's worth having a look at the original ceiling of both rooms).

The hotel has character and is a good price. The breakfast is freshly cooked and the scrambled egg was one of the best hotel scrambled egg I've ever had. Delicious!

I said to the lady owner I would give the hotel its first review on trip advisor and I hope she likes what I've written! I got the impression in the short time we were there that, apart from working extremely hard, she and her husband are really interested in their guests - which is something special in the current corporate hotel enviroment.

Helpful?
8 Thank pemberton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 mi away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#5 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.0 mi away
Howden Court Hotel
Howden Court Hotel
#17 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crofton House Hotel
Crofton House Hotel
#3 of 33 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#12 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.6 mi away
Burleigh House
Burleigh House
#25 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hillcroft - Boutique unique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devon Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devon Court

Property: The Devon Court
Address: 24 Croft Road, Torquay TQ2 5UE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Devon Court 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Devon Court is a beautiful Victorian Villa which is decorated to a high standard and under goes continuous review and update. The hotel is situated in a quiet street just a few minutes stroll to the Beach, Torre Abbey, Harbour, Theatre and shopping area. There are many good restaurants, cafes and bars to choose from at any time of the day or evening, all within easy walking distance. There is a South facing private garden and patio areas which surround a heated outdoor swimming pool, (seasonal) the ideal place to relax and soak up the sun. Umbrellas are available for those of you who prefer a bit of shade. The hotel offers off road parking and has a bar and lounge for residents use only, both of which overlook the gardens and swimming pool. The bar offers a good selection of beers at competitive prices, which you can enjoy at the bar or outside on the patio. We offer a full English or continental breakfast every morning which is delivered to your table freshly cooked to order. We are situated in the perfect spot to explore Torquay and Torquay offers the perfect base for exploring the many different and exciting sides of Devon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Devon Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Devon Court Torquay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing