We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Devon Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Devon Court
Ranked #56 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We have just stayed at the hotel for 3 nights and it is absolutely fantastic. Carol and Pete are very welcoming and helpful. We stayed in the Four poster room and it was immaculate and tastefully decorated, as was the rest of the hotel. The breakfast (full English) was beautifully cooked and delicious. The pool and area is lovely, very clean, and attractive. We will definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 358Sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    21
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
26
106
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have just stayed at the hotel for seven nights and enjoyed every minute. The hotel is of a very high standard. Immaculate decor,comfortable beds, home from home. Wonderful garden and pool area. A bar and lounge area available. Breakfast had good choice and was very tasty. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Never mind 5 out of 5 this is a definate 10. Stayed for 3 nights from 21st of June to 24th celebrating a joint Birthday. Carol and Pete are such lovely people, so helpful and welcoming and really take a pride in what they do. They never bothered us but were always there when needed. The Hotel is lovely! so fresh and very clean, lounge area and bar is very comfortable with leather chesterfields. The bedrooms were a good size, beds were really comfy and there was a handy little fridge on the bedside table too! -how clever. Shower room was well equiped with hand wash etc., and lovely soft bath towels. Breakfasts were really good with pleanty to choose from - all cerials, fruit salad, yogurt and juices to start then choose from continental, full English with black pudding, you could also have kippers or mackrel and I can highly recommend the Smoked salmon and scambled eggs with english muffin...yummy!! also plenty of toast, tea and coffee in fact everything was really tasty, beautifully cooked and good portion sizes too! The heated pool is great! with penty of seating for sun bathing or just to relax. The walk to town and sea front is 5-10 mins, but would recommend the lift in the top car park as hill is a little steep - ask Pete for directions. We had everything we needed in Torquay for a brilliant Birthday weekend and would also recommend the 'Hole in the Wall' in town for really good food and drink. This hotel is a little gem !! We can't wait to return for another stay!!.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenny f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

We've just returned from a 3 night stay and couldn't wait to write a positive review for this hotel. The high marks are extremely well deserved as the hotel building was impressive, freshly decorated and very clean. The comfort levels were wonderful and our room was very spacious. Breakfast was varied and tasty, the lounge and bar was nice to use and the drinks were cheap.
Above all, Pete and Carol were the most attentive and pleasant hosts we could have asked for. They were kind and nothing was any trouble. They went out of their way to make sure our needs were met and we are very grateful to them for that.
We shall definitely see you next year and will be recommending others to stay at The Devon Court Hotel.
Steve & Jo

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Frogman1649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Clean, tidy and extremely well run. Rooms cleaned daily. Good selection at breakfast (served 8.30 - 9.15). Nice lounge and bar area. Pool area very nice and water temperature warm. Brilliant location situated 5-10 mins walk into the centre one way and also Belgrave Road in the other direction which has plenty of bars, cafes and restaurants to choose from. Even a casino just 5 minutes around the corner. A brilliant stay and will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BristolBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Could not ask for better, In a few words Perfect. A place that feels like a home,clean, cosy, comfortable, well stocked bar, superb breakfast, soft extra large bath towels to wrap around the whole body, Would strongly reccomend and advise friends to stay.

Room Tip: All very pleasant, as have stayed a few times and in different rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed for three nights and were impressed! The room we stayed in was a ground floor one, plenty of space , flat screen tv and dvd, large bed, nice big shower and spotlessly clean. The breakfast had a great selection. Pete and Carol were friendly and helpful and we enjoyed our stay (apart from the weather!).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fleur98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 mi away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#4 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.0 mi away
Howden Court Hotel
Howden Court Hotel
#19 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.0 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#12 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Burleigh House
Burleigh House
#23 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crofton House Hotel
Crofton House Hotel
#3 of 33 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hillcroft - Boutique unique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devon Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devon Court

Property: The Devon Court
Address: 24 Croft Road, Torquay TQ2 5UE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Devon Court 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Devon Court is a beautiful Victorian Villa which is decorated to a high standard and under goes continuous review and update. The hotel is situated in a quiet street just a few minutes stroll to the Beach, Torre Abbey, Harbour, Theatre and shopping area. There are many good restaurants, cafes and bars to choose from at any time of the day or evening, all within easy walking distance. There is a South facing private garden and patio areas which surround a heated outdoor swimming pool, (seasonal) the ideal place to relax and soak up the sun. Umbrellas are available for those of you who prefer a bit of shade. The hotel offers off road parking and has a bar and lounge for residents use only, both of which overlook the gardens and swimming pool. The bar offers a good selection of beers at competitive prices, which you can enjoy at the bar or outside on the patio. We offer a full English or continental breakfast every morning which is delivered to your table freshly cooked to order. We are situated in the perfect spot to explore Torquay and Torquay offers the perfect base for exploring the many different and exciting sides of Devon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Devon Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Devon Court Torquay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing