We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't be faulted”
Review of The Devon Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Devon Court
Ranked #57 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester
Level Contributor
83 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Can't be faulted”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Having read the reviews on Tripadvisor, everything lived up to our expectations and we weren't disappointed. Very clean and well appointed accommodation, spacious superior rooms and excellent well cooked and varied breakfast. We found Pete very helpful and friendly. Off road parking a bonus but quite a steep uphill walk from town centre and sea front though not far to either. Shame we couldn't make more use of the pool area due to the weather. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We liked our large room no.9 but it didn't have an outlook like our friend's room no.5 with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluefox47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    22
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
27
111
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff Wales
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Just back from 4 days at the Devon court, all i can say is that i totally agree with all the fab reviews below, the hosts are fab, very homely which is very relaxing when you are away. carol and hubby could not do enough for you, you dont get that from any of the chain of hotels i can say that from first hand experience. The pool is an added bonus, which we were lucky enough to use this week, the weather was glorious. we choose this hotel from the reviews and the excellent location and i dont think i could have chosen better. Breakfast was very good, lots of choice and piping hot. the house itself is beautiful, spotlessly clean, would not hesitate in staying here again - thank you both had a fantastic holiday

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jabba1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HUDDERSFIELD
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2012

just got back from yet another fantastic stay at this first class hotel.
year after year it just gets better, that is why we have booked again for next year.

there is not much more i can say except try it for yourselves and you will see.

Room Tip: room 5 sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RANGERHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We have been staying at the Devon Court Hotel for some years now and after our first or second year of staying there we did not think it could get any better but every year it does, needless to say the last 11 days that we have had there were at the usual standard. I car't really add any think else to what all the other review's have had to say, other than Pete and Carol really do there very best to make you feel at home, needless to say we have booked up for next years
stay with them along with our frends that stay there as well.

Richard & Carol .

Room Tip: We always have room 12 which as plenty of room and very nice bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tartanclipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Just left and had a great stay. Rooms were large, spacious, clean and plenty of sunlight.

Pete is a great host and could not have done more to make us feel welcome.

Food was great and I'd highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Cheers, Stuart.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpugSafc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Devon Court for 4 days if there is a better hotel for the price we paid I would like to find it, we arrived home but the next day we felt that we wanted to return, it is a lovely hotel, Carol&Pete are the perfect hosts, the hotel is spotless, the food is exellent, and the bed was most comfortable.as we are older people our room was allmost next to the front entrance, also I must say the other guests were very nice people,and so when we visit our son again who lives in Torquay we will certainly hope to stay at the Devon Court Hotel. (if they will have us ) thanks Carol& Pete

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesben4029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

If you're visiting Torquay it would be very worth your while to consider the Devon Court Hotel. This spotlessly clean, comfortable hotel is centrally located for both the seafront and the town centre. As well as the bright, comfortable and spacious room, the breakfasts are delicious and include a wide range of choices. The proprietors, Carol and Peter, are very friendly and welcoming; providing a real home from home.

Room Tip: The superior rooms on the Ist floor a re very spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotlandteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
0.0 mi away
The Cimon
The Cimon
#14 of 87 in Torquay
401 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crofton House Hotel
Crofton House Hotel
#3 of 34 in Torquay
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Westgate
The Westgate
#12 of 149 in Torquay
290 reviews
0.5 mi away
Glenorleigh
Glenorleigh
#60 of 149 in Torquay
58 reviews
0.0 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#10 of 149 in Torquay
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devon Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devon Court

Property: The Devon Court
Address: 24 Croft Road, Torquay TQ2 5UE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Devon Court 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Devon Court Hotel Built in the middle of the XIX century, since the first day of its existence The Devon Court was a luxurious seaside villa. Having survived wars and crisis The Villa has never lost its charm and status and always remained faithful to the original architecture ensuring its position as one of the best seaside resorts in Devon. Ideally located on the quiet road with a short through to both the city center and the beach The Devon Court will be your ideal place of stay. Long hiking walks, beach and sea fun, fine dining, yachting, - choose anything that fulfills your soul and the Devon Court hotel would become your base and home to relax in. The hotel was carefully renovated and refurbished in 2017 to increase its already high standards even more so that every guest of the property would feel him or herself at a luxurious home away from home. We have thoroughly chosen only the best materials and furniture to be used during the renovation as we believe that our guests deserve only the best and so that their holiday should be. Relax in style with our wide range of deluxe rooms and spacious suites or why not opt for a secluded private apartment. Featuring freshly done bathrooms, luxurious, bespoke beds and fine linen, and a range of complimentary extras, we guarantee your stay will be extravagant, yet comfortable. Allow yourself and indulge from the daily worries and have a holiday in a home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Devon Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Devon Court Torquay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing