We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”
Review of The Devon Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Devon Court
Ranked #57 of 148 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gillingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Devon Court for 4 days if there is a better hotel for the price we paid I would like to find it, we arrived home but the next day we felt that we wanted to return, it is a lovely hotel, Carol&Pete are the perfect hosts, the hotel is spotless, the food is exellent, and the bed was most comfortable.as we are older people our room was allmost next to the front entrance, also I must say the other guests were very nice people,and so when we visit our son again who lives in Torquay we will certainly hope to stay at the Devon Court Hotel. (if they will have us ) thanks Carol& Pete

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesben4029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    22
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
27
109
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

If you're visiting Torquay it would be very worth your while to consider the Devon Court Hotel. This spotlessly clean, comfortable hotel is centrally located for both the seafront and the town centre. As well as the bright, comfortable and spacious room, the breakfasts are delicious and include a wide range of choices. The proprietors, Carol and Peter, are very friendly and welcoming; providing a real home from home.

Room Tip: The superior rooms on the Ist floor a re very spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotlandteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

off to DEVON COURT again for our 16th year on the run, My wife and myself enjoy each year at the Devon Court where we are made to feel very welcome right from the start, nothing is to much trouble, we feel like life long friends with Pete and Carol now, we have also met some great friends there, and we now meet up with them every year, one person will be missing this year due to having her first baby, (Kirsty the most friendly waitress) and we will miss seeing her, but The hotel is excellent, immaculately decorated and cleaned daily. The hotel has a friendly atmosphere and is close enough to the centre of Torquay for shopping, and the beach.
Jim and Jean from Birmingham

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbo073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

spent 3 nights at this hotel after reading reviews on TA, peter and carol are lovely people,,
the superior room was spotless comfy bed,settee,flatscreen tv ,fridge ,breakfast was THE BEST.choice of f/english or continental,perfectly cooked,well done carol.the bar prices were very reasonable,peter joined us in the bar in the eve for a chat.all in all my wife and i could not fault this little gem of a hotel.
thank you peter and carol.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billpatsuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

My wife and I spent the weekend at the Devon Court and were made to feel very welcome right from the start. The room was excellent, immaculately decorated and cleaned every day. The hotel has a friendly atmosphere and is located in a quiet area but close enough to the centre of Torquay for shopping. I would not hesitate recommending this hotel and will certainly use it again when I return to Torquay. I wish all hotels were like this. Thank you Pete and Carol.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Myself, my wife and baby daughter stayed recently and we could not fault the hotel. We were made to feel extremely welcome and the service was first class. Overall it was a lovely friendly place to stay where numerous small touches made us feel very at home, excellent value for money too. Many thanks.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ben d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spennymoor
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

My wife and i had the pleasure of staying at The Devon Court Hotel for four nights,we were made so welcome,from the minute we walked in the door we were made to feel at home,our room was a superior,the fixtures and fittings were of excellent quality,and everything was pristine clean,we visited the bar-lounge and the atmosphere was very very cosy with plush leather furniture,and the breakfast was again faultless with an excellent choice,all in all,if you are going to Torquay,in our opinion,this is the only place to stay,Peter and Carol a BIG thank you

Room Tip: The Superior room was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SpennymoorNige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 mi away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#5 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cimon
The Cimon
#15 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Howden Court Hotel
Howden Court Hotel
#18 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crofton House Hotel
Crofton House Hotel
#2 of 34 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#11 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devon Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devon Court

Property: The Devon Court
Address: 24 Croft Road, Torquay TQ2 5UE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Devon Court 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Devon Court Hotel Built in the middle of the XIX century, since the first day of its existence The Devon Court was a luxurious seaside villa. Having survived wars and crisis The Villa has never lost its charm and status and always remained faithful to the original architecture ensuring its position as one of the best seaside resorts in Devon. Ideally located on the quiet road with a short through to both the city center and the beach The Devon Court will be your ideal place of stay. Long hiking walks, beach and sea fun, fine dining, yachting, - choose anything that fulfills your soul and the Devon Court hotel would become your base and home to relax in. The hotel was carefully renovated and refurbished in 2017 to increase its already high standards even more so that every guest of the property would feel him or herself at a luxurious home away from home. We have thoroughly chosen only the best materials and furniture to be used during the renovation as we believe that our guests deserve only the best and so that their holiday should be. Relax in style with our wide range of deluxe rooms and spacious suites or why not opt for a secluded private apartment. Featuring freshly done bathrooms, luxurious, bespoke beds and fine linen, and a range of complimentary extras, we guarantee your stay will be extravagant, yet comfortable. Allow yourself and indulge from the daily worries and have a holiday in a home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your The Devon Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Devon Court Torquay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing