We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“home from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hotel Balmoral

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hotel Balmoral
Ranked #16 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
southwest
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2010

we recently stayed at the balmoral and found it very cosy,comfy,and met all our needs the room was cleaned every day the food was excellent and the staff were brilliant. the towels were changed every day we could park with ease the food was plentiful and we were treated like royalty our friends stayed in a room on the ground floor which was perfect for thier needs, we would recommend the hotel to anyone it was a gem on the edge of torquay near to the town and beach lovely and quiet we would have thought it was worthy of more than the 2 star rating. visit ato come againnd try it and you will want

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daytrippersummer2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    143
    33
    14
    19
See reviews for
70
310
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2010

This was our first visit to the Balmoral, and we were very happy with what we found. The room, although small, was clean, comfortable and had all we needed. The food was extremely good with a good choice available. Overall the hotel was comfortable, homely and nicely decorated. The staff were friendly and helpful, top marks to Simon who looked after us in the dining room. The position near Meadfoot beach was an extra bonus. We would be happy to recommend the Balmoral to any of our friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jandbfox2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

We went with friends. the hotel was very clean, although very outdated. but then most of the other residents were of the era and as they obviously keep returning it must suit them well and make them feel at home!
our room was very basic an quite small but had a sea view as promised and was clean and well serviced for basic 2** as advertised. Next time i'll take my own towels as theirs were very thin and tending towards hand towel size anyway.
Food was hot, served fast and cooked nicely. Don't expect gourmet cuisine here - but you are not paying gourmet prices so what do you expect? Service was excellent. Mr Robbie is a feature of the Balmoral and once you get over the Fawlty Towers similarity you can appreciate his attentions and just enjoy!! How many times he changed his shirt during service can easily become a betting game if you get in the right frame of mind!
We slept well, we ate till we were stuffed, we drank well [no extorsionate bar prices and they were very happy to serve our own champagne at a very reasonable corkage charge]
and the whole weekend cost us less than one night's stay elsewhere. Just up from the town, near enough for the taxi fare to be less than a fiver, not so near that we were disturbed - Top shout all round!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beaconbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourport on Severn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2010

Stayed for 4 nights in September. Nice clean hotel, very pleasant room, food very good, staff friendly and helpful - particular mention must go to Mark for his excellent service, first class. Was also lucky that there was a nice friendly bunch of guests to liven up the evenings - a number of whom were revisiting the hotel.
I am very fussy about my food but there was something nice for me on the menu every night.
Would definitely go back and also recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quiet place to stay. This really was excellent value for money.
If I had to come up with one slight negative - I was not overly impressed with the sea view which attracted a small extra charge. The sea was visible, through a group of large trees - that said it was still a pleasant view.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2010

Stayed for a week in August, booked a room with a seaview which was clean and largeenough for our stay. Several guests were on return visits to the hotel which is always a good sign. The meals were excellent and were served to us quickly but full marks to Mark who was friendly and polite while doing so. Alex was also helpful and nothing was too much trouble, but we were dissapointed with the unfriendliness of the owner , obviously the regulars are more important to him. A good morning now and again would have been nice !!!!! Overall a very good stay and a nice position in torquay to be in.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scooby1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Dorset
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

We stayed at the balmoral for 2 nights. Overall we had an enjoyable experience. The Dinning room, Guest Lounge and Bar very nice. But the bedroom was a little shabby round the edges. Needs up dating and a little more care round the edges when cleaning. We had to share the room with a numer of insects, Nice size bed ! But the Duvet was to small for the bed. But what can you expect for the money. The food overall was very good. staff excellent, fantastic location. When you go down into the town use the bus service from outside of the hotel. A lot cheaper than paying Torquays parking charges, PLUS you can have a few drinks if you wish. Overall verdict! For what you are paying very good value for money compared to most hotels. Feel good hotel with very friendly feel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saintyWimborneDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

we stayed in this hotel after accidently discovering it on the internet-with half board available the price is unbeatable-our room was large though a little tired and our waitress on our last night was very slow to clear our mains-we waited half an hour -and i did complain to the head waiter at the time.Otherwise a very nice hotel and tremendous value for money-we will go back

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fras22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,534 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#28 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#7 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Balmoral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Balmoral

Property: The Hotel Balmoral
Address: Meadfoot Sea Road, Torquay TQ1 2LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#18 Family Hotel in Torquay
#24 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel Balmoral 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Balmoral - set in a superb Torquay location overlooking some of the most beautiful coastal scenery on the English Riviera. Elegantly furnished and decorated public rooms give the hotel a restful, welcoming atmosphere with a touch of class, which is matched by the hospitality provided. The Hotel Balmoral stands in its own secluded grounds in a quiet, peaceful setting, yet close to all the amenities and attractions of Torquay Devon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Hotel Balmoral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Torquay
The Hotel Balmoral Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing