We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“norman/mavis birmingham”
Review of The Hotel Balmoral

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hotel Balmoral
Ranked #16 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Booked for four nights midweek from 04//11/2013. This hotel is most certainly great value for money.Could not fault the food, all members of staff provided first class service and they were all very friendly. Hotel very clean. It appeared that people return year after year. A number of people staying had been before. Also the cream tea on arrival was a lovely touch. All in all our stay was most enjoyable.

Room Tip: Had a sea view room, view fine but room rather small. Would ask for a larger room next time, and we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mavis k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (616)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 616 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013

we are no strangers to the HOTEL BALMORAL, having been customers for about 25 years. The hotel has always maintained a high standard, and this weekend was no exception We are satisfied customers, and that includes the whole family, ranging from 3 yrs old to 85 yrs old. May it long continue.

Room Tip: Choose what you think will suit you, All rooms are OKI
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 402DickyBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

This is the first time my wife and I have stayed at the Hotel Balmoral and our four night stay was very comfortable and the room was very clean. The staff are just lovely and the meals are really good with a very good choice and always served piping hot. The waitress that served our table was so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We would definitely stay here again, it was a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonnybournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

good time. had once again, been back year after year. The Hotel Balmoral is an ideal break just before the Christmas madness,a big thankyou to Steve the gaffer,Alex and the crew for a most enjoyable stay.The hotel is comfortable,freindly and most of all the food is salubrious.I have taken different members of my family year after year and all have been overwhelmed by the hospitality and the great value for money.Will see you all for the valentine weekend.
The McCanns

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donna m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Unbelievable value for the November Christmas shopping break. I don't know how they do it for the price. The food is always very good, I've never had a bad meal in the seven years I've been going. The staff are friendly and courteous, nothing is too much trouble. You find people go back, like us, year after year. Its lovely catching up and new people always comment how friendly it is.
The rooms are fairly basic but always clean, with coffe/tea making facilities and biscuits every day.
The hotel is slightly off the beaten track but there is a small beach nearby and a bus service, into town, which stops immediately outside.
I highly recommend The Balmoral to anyone wanting good food, good service and a friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaztoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

My wife and I found our three night stay at The Balmoral Hotel very relaxing and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the meals were enjoyable. A good full cooked breakfast was available each morning and the evening meal was varied and appetising. We appreciated the touch of having a cheese board after the main dessert, followed by a coffee served either at the table or in the lounge. Our room was clean and light.
We really felt that the overall tariff for our time at the hotel was both competitive and very good value for money. We would have no hesitation in recommending The Balmoral to friends or relatives and would certainly consider returning some time in the future. A lovely hotel with caring staff.

Room Tip: Although our room overlooked the road, it was generally very quiet and we slept well on each of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We have visited the hotel many times over the years as we know we will always get a warm welcome,a clean room with excellent food,friendly staff, returning familiar guests and overall a very pleasant and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thornem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
957 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 87 in Torquay
3,242 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#27 of 87 in Torquay
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
671 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Cimon
The Cimon
#15 of 87 in Torquay
418 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Balmoral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Balmoral

Address: Meadfoot Sea Road, Torquay TQ1 2LQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#11 Family Hotel in Torquay
#23 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $87 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel Balmoral 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Balmoral - set in a superb Torquay location overlooking some of the most beautiful coastal scenery on the English Riviera. Elegantly furnished and decorated public rooms give the hotel a restful, welcoming atmosphere with a touch of class, which is matched by the hospitality provided. The Hotel Balmoral stands in its own secluded grounds in a quiet, peaceful setting, yet close to all the amenities and attractions of Torquay Devon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Hotel Balmoral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Torquay
The Hotel Balmoral Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing