We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regular satisfied visitor”
Review of The Hotel Balmoral

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hotel Balmoral
Ranked #16 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Regular satisfied visitor”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We have visited the hotel many times over the years as we know we will always get a warm welcome,a clean room with excellent food,friendly staff, returning familiar guests and overall a very pleasant and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thornem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    160
    36
    15
    19
See reviews for
78
330
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

This was our first visit to the Balmoral Hotel and it was most enjoyable. The staff were cheerful and helpful, the food was good and the room was clean and comfortable. The decor in the lounge and bar was relaxing and made for a very pleasant stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

my wife and I have visited the hotel before and when ever we return to Torquay we always book the Hotel BALMORAL.We know that we will get a warm welcome,a clean room with excellent food,friendly staff always made to feel welcome.

Room Tip: rooms 1&26
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryde, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The cleanliness of the hotel and the standard of food was of the highest quality lovely hotel .inadition we were especially impressed with efficient and cheerful attitude of all the staff which made our stay so enjoyable .

Room Tip: Room no 6 early morning sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederick169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was our first visit to the Hotel Balmoral and we thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay. The food was excellent with plently of choice and variation .The lounge area was very comfortable with the bar being close at hand and relations enjoyed visiting us in the evening . The hotel is within easy reach of Torquay centre and close to the nearby Meadfoot beach .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilHill27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Well done Balmoral hotel, you never disappoint, yet another excellent stay, service and food and very helpful staff. The location of the hotel is so lovely with sea views and clear air. I do recommend this hotel from experience. Truly well managed hotel, Keep up the excellent service Balmoral!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea views to watch sunrise...amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Azzeddin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We were a party of 10 from a skittles team from Cheltenham. We had been to the Balmoral before and could not fault it which was why we decided to come again.. The staff are all extremely helpful and friendly and the food was first class and the accomodation was very comfortable. We all thoroughly enjoyed the evening entertainment. We would highly recommend the Balmoral to anyone, including our friends and families

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,757 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,281 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
499 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 87 in Torquay
807 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#31 of 87 in Torquay
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Balmoral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Balmoral

Property: The Hotel Balmoral
Address: Meadfoot Sea Road, Torquay TQ1 2LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#17 Family Hotel in Torquay
#23 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel Balmoral 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Balmoral - set in a superb Torquay location overlooking some of the most beautiful coastal scenery on the English Riviera. Elegantly furnished and decorated public rooms give the hotel a restful, welcoming atmosphere with a touch of class, which is matched by the hospitality provided. The Hotel Balmoral stands in its own secluded grounds in a quiet, peaceful setting, yet close to all the amenities and attractions of Torquay Devon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Hotel Balmoral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Torquay
The Hotel Balmoral Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing