We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family gathering”
Review of The Hotel Balmoral

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hotel Balmoral
Ranked #14 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We are a party of 19 family and friends, we have been going to the balmoral hotel now for 11 years and we enjoy it every time, we all feel we get value for money , the rooms are warm clean and comfortable , the menu is always varied and it suits us all , the staff are very helpfull and polite , the entertainment is always varied and rounds the evenings off , we always get to know our people staying at the hotel and its a very friendly atmosphere. We will be going again next year and have already booked , wheel done hotel balmoral and long may you keep going

Room Tip: I like room 14 its big and has a lovely en suite and my husband likes the television on the wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muriel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (608)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

406 - 412 of 608 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

we spotted the special mid week offer and decided to book.The hotel is clean,quiet and friendly.the bedroom was nice and warm and v clean.the 5 course evening meals were excellent value with good choices inc pork,chicken,beef and fish meals.the waiter and waitresses were really excellent,they were polite and efficient,really a credit to the hotel.The receptionist was also friendly and gave us a nice welcome.if you want to relax and have a nice chat in the evenings this is the place for you.the buses stop just outside the hotel and are cheap to travel on.the drinks were cheap and the bar and lounge were comfortable and relaxing.nothing was too much trouble and i am sure we will visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCOLLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed here for a week recently, the room we had was a bit small though pleasant and clean , maybe the bathroom needed a bit updating, but was and we didn't spend much time in the room, the main lounge was large and bight with lots of comfie sofas and chairs and a good stocked bar at reasonable prices. The food was excellent , the breakfast had a good choice of fresh fruit, yoghurts etc with a good selection of alternatives to the full English cooked breakfast. the five course evening meal was also first class with plenty of choice ,All the staff were friendly and efficient. The Hotel is situated near to the quieter Meadfoot beach,there is a café and toilets here ,not much else,but lovely and peaceful,. It is a short ten min walk from the harbour and main town.(a bit of a hill if you are not used to it),

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marietRossendale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were a party of 8 people, the special weekend break was excellent value. The rooms were all very clean,tidy and warm without any heating being on. The food was first class, compliments to the kitchen staff, and the front of house staff were all very friendly and happy.The two nights entertainment were top class, and they really made our stay one to remember.We are already sorting out our next return visit.Next time in the spring/summer months with the light evenings so we can pack more in.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonathan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Just returned from The Hotel Balmoral after a 2 night stay. We were very lucky as excellent bay window room with views of the garden and sea view through the trees so cannot comment on the other rooms.

No problem with staff as always obliging and cheerful. Yes, it was necessary to ring the bell at Reception desk but within seconds always someone there to assist. Lovely furnished restaurant which overlooks the well maintained garden. Good choice of menu and food served at a high standard. Best steak I have eaten for a very long time - £15.00 for a 5 course meal. Excellent value and more importantly quality food. Just surprised that this is not advertised at the Reception desk, as in conversation with fellow guests, some were not aware of this. Also if we had been aware of the cream tea, we would have phoned in advance to order this on our arrival.

It would be nice if staff in public areas wore name badges.

To sum this Hotel up - good location, relaxing gardens, nice public areas (lounge bar and drawing room) excellent food and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Room was too small. Food wasn't the best but was good enough. Couldn't fault the overall service, staff were very friendly, kind and would help you when needed.

Unsure whether we would want to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jade H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

After reading previous reviews was slightly nervous about our stay but was pleasantly surprised. Our room was of a reasonable size and comfort. We did not have a sea view but that wasn't a problem as we were hardly in there anyway. We stayed on a B&B basis and the breakfast was of good quality and filled us up for the day. We did try the hotel's cream tea and I must say that this was delicious and excellent value for money. The bar was always open when we needed it and the staff were helpful and friendly throughout our stay. The hotel is 2 mins walk from Meadfoot Beach which has a cafe, sunbeds/deckchairs for hire. The town centre and harbour area are about a 10 minute walk from hotel although this is mainly downhill on the way but uphill on the way back. We walked in every evening but got a taxi back to hotel (cost between £4-£5). Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Hotel Balmoral which was helped by glorious weather.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DF0865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 85 in Torquay
665 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#25 of 85 in Torquay
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 85 in Torquay
914 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#19 of 85 in Torquay
1,172 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Cimon
The Cimon
#16 of 85 in Torquay
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Balmoral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Balmoral

Address: Meadfoot Sea Road, Torquay TQ1 2LQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#11 Family Hotel in Torquay
#23 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $75 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel Balmoral 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Balmoral - set in a superb Torquay location overlooking some of the most beautiful coastal scenery on the English Riviera. Elegantly furnished and decorated public rooms give the hotel a restful, welcoming atmosphere with a touch of class, which is matched by the hospitality provided. The Hotel Balmoral stands in its own secluded grounds in a quiet, peaceful setting, yet close to all the amenities and attractions of Torquay Devon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Hotel Balmoral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Torquay
The Hotel Balmoral Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing