We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent weekend breaks”
Review of The Hotel Balmoral

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hotel Balmoral
Ranked #14 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were a party of 8 people, the special weekend break was excellent value. The rooms were all very clean,tidy and warm without any heating being on. The food was first class, compliments to the kitchen staff, and the front of house staff were all very friendly and happy.The two nights entertainment were top class, and they really made our stay one to remember.We are already sorting out our next return visit.Next time in the spring/summer months with the light evenings so we can pack more in.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonathan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (608)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

410 - 416 of 609 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

Just returned from The Hotel Balmoral after a 2 night stay. We were very lucky as excellent bay window room with views of the garden and sea view through the trees so cannot comment on the other rooms.

No problem with staff as always obliging and cheerful. Yes, it was necessary to ring the bell at Reception desk but within seconds always someone there to assist. Lovely furnished restaurant which overlooks the well maintained garden. Good choice of menu and food served at a high standard. Best steak I have eaten for a very long time - £15.00 for a 5 course meal. Excellent value and more importantly quality food. Just surprised that this is not advertised at the Reception desk, as in conversation with fellow guests, some were not aware of this. Also if we had been aware of the cream tea, we would have phoned in advance to order this on our arrival.

It would be nice if staff in public areas wore name badges.

To sum this Hotel up - good location, relaxing gardens, nice public areas (lounge bar and drawing room) excellent food and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Room was too small. Food wasn't the best but was good enough. Couldn't fault the overall service, staff were very friendly, kind and would help you when needed.

Unsure whether we would want to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jade H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

After reading previous reviews was slightly nervous about our stay but was pleasantly surprised. Our room was of a reasonable size and comfort. We did not have a sea view but that wasn't a problem as we were hardly in there anyway. We stayed on a B&B basis and the breakfast was of good quality and filled us up for the day. We did try the hotel's cream tea and I must say that this was delicious and excellent value for money. The bar was always open when we needed it and the staff were helpful and friendly throughout our stay. The hotel is 2 mins walk from Meadfoot Beach which has a cafe, sunbeds/deckchairs for hire. The town centre and harbour area are about a 10 minute walk from hotel although this is mainly downhill on the way but uphill on the way back. We walked in every evening but got a taxi back to hotel (cost between £4-£5). Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Hotel Balmoral which was helped by glorious weather.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DF0865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

John T

Booked double room with sea view well in advance .NB-Sea view is just imaginary. I could not believe the room size that we had been allocated - room 6. The size of this room is probably not adequate to be described as a single room, we asked to be allocated a bigger room to no avail. We were told an alternative room was to be ready within 2 days, thanks to Alex. After 2 days we were moved to room 18,roomier,no view and could not tell the difference between day and night, no working shower extractor. Day 2 at the hotel while having dinner we asked for glasses of water and the waitress brought dripping wine glasses and she told us these doubled up as water glasses. That was our hospitality experience at Balmoral. I'm not sure how they get a 3 star rating!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 505JST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Balmoral for a few days and had a great time.

The hotel was easy to find and only a few minutes walk to the town centre. Big hills to walk though which was the only slight downside to the location although that didn't put us off personally.

The staff were friendly and the drawing room/ entrance were lovely. These rooms seemed to have the historic charm that we chose the hotel for.

The slight downside is that was where it stopped. The bedrooms were a little dated/old fashioned rather than 'had character' and a few of the cups/spoons in the room were a little dirty. It was overall still great and still gets a 4 out of 5 from me.. Just want to give my honest review. The shower was good :)

The garden was exquisite with a gorgeous view of the sea. Takes away any bad points for sure!

The breakfast was great too. Lovely, tasty and warm... Just a shame that on a personal level there was no beans or mushrooms which to me makes a cooked brekkie!! I'd take those items rather than black pudding any day!

Overall a great hotel. If you're more about the getting out and doing something like we are rather than sitting in you're room all day then its a great choice of places to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicci P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Having worked at 3 and 4 star hotels in the past, I wasn't sure what to expect here, particularly having read a few of the previous scathing reviews. Suffice to say I really was pleasantly surprised, as were my partner's family who are more accustomed to 5 star establishments!

The room was a reasonable size, clean and comfortable. Not too dated, it had everything we needed. Both dinner and breakfast were very good, the selection adequate, and the service pleasant and professional. Aside from very limited wifi access for some of our party, everything was very satisfactory.

My only slight disappointment was upon enquiring about the spa facilities available for Balmoral residents at another nearby hotel, we were given practically no information, aside from to pop over and ask them if we were interested. I did think that if you were going to advertise this sort of facility then it would be prudent to have the information on hand, or at the very least contact the venue to find out on our behalf.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,118 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 85 in Torquay
666 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#25 of 85 in Torquay
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 85 in Torquay
914 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 85 in Torquay
1,173 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Cimon
The Cimon
#16 of 85 in Torquay
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Balmoral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Balmoral

Address: Meadfoot Sea Road, Torquay TQ1 2LQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#11 Family Hotel in Torquay
#23 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $74 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel Balmoral 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Balmoral - set in a superb Torquay location overlooking some of the most beautiful coastal scenery on the English Riviera. Elegantly furnished and decorated public rooms give the hotel a restful, welcoming atmosphere with a touch of class, which is matched by the hospitality provided. The Hotel Balmoral stands in its own secluded grounds in a quiet, peaceful setting, yet close to all the amenities and attractions of Torquay Devon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Hotel Balmoral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Torquay
The Hotel Balmoral Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing