We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value food fantastic”
Review of The Hotel Balmoral

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hotel Balmoral
Ranked #17 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Excellent value food fantastic”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Very good value would recommend it to anyone, food very good ,excellent service, nice location lovely scenery , nice garden,only 10 minute walk to town. beach 2 minutes away. plenty of parking, drinks reasonably priced

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hipster13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    162
    36
    15
    19
See reviews for
78
331
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Friendly and cheerful staff. Delicious home cooked meal. Live music. Beautiful room. Quiet area. we couldn't ask for more. Thanks very much guys! We really enjoyed our stay. We definitely look forward to come back next year for a week in a summer time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan_gurung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calstock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at The Balmoral the first weekend in November and had a wonderful time. We were greeted on arrival with a delicious cream tea in the comfortable lounge and the food continued at a very high standard for the whole weekend through to Sunday lunch. There was plenty of choice on each menu and the service was efficient and unobtrusive. Our room was on the top floor and we had no view, other than over lower roofs of the building. The bedroom, though compact, was well-furnished with plenty of storage and the en-suite shower room, again small, had everything we required. We spent very little time in the room during the day as we wanted to be out exploring and we sat in the lounge on both evenings being entertained by affable singers who each had a varied repertoire and seemed to pitch their acts well to their audience.
The reception and waiting staff were mainly young and were very polite and friendly. We did not see the kitchen staff but congratulate them on the quality of the food.
We were able to park in the car park on arrival but on returning from a drive on Saturday there was no space for us but we were able to park on the road at the entrance to the drive.
The weekend break was excellent value, I doubt unbeatable for a hotel so close to the coast, and we would not hesitate to stay again. Thank you.

Mr. Paul Alderton - 5th Nov, 2012
Verified Review

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Took advantage of a mid week break which included dinner, bed and breakfast for £35 per person per night which was good value for money. The room was a bit dated but was comfortable and had everything expected. Good service and cheerful staff and a good choice of food. Lovely garden with view of the sea but unfortunately it was too wet to enjoy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, shrophire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Balmoral for a 2 night break, we had booked to go on the friday to the sunday. We are self employed and found it hard to make it for the friday night meal at the hotel restaurant. We telephoned the manager on our journey there to let them know that we were going to be a couple of hours late checking in. On arrival we were delited to find that the restaurant staff had stayed on to bring us our meal when we got there!

The food was fantastic and so was the room we had at the hotel. The staff were very friendly the value was excellent. Needless to say, the hotel was fully booked.

We have booked another weekend there........

Room Tip: There are sea view rooms available at an extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Some rooms are basic, but value for money all round at every stay and the staff are happy to show you rooms on checkout day, or advise you of what they think will suit your needs. The food is good and most importantly.. The staff are welcoming and friendly.
Our kids aren't young, but have special needs. Staff understand this and they feel 'grown up' because they can move around the hotel freely. We relax because the kids are safe, so everyone wins!
I almost don't like doing good reviews because this hotel gets quite booked up... And no disrespect dear traveller... But we want there to always be a space for us!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

we all six of us just got back from wekend away at the balmoral what a fab time food all home made staff so hlepful clean welcome so friendly got to go back good vaule every meal was cooked perfet i am a cook so i really know what home cook or not the pudding are yummmi

Room Tip: i would pay little extra and get a big room they are lovely comfortable great bay windows over gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dee42d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,803 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
819 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 87 in Torquay
2,321 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,097 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Balmoral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Balmoral

Property: The Hotel Balmoral
Address: Meadfoot Sea Road, Torquay TQ1 2LQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#17 Family Hotel in Torquay
#23 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel Balmoral 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Balmoral - set in a superb Torquay location overlooking some of the most beautiful coastal scenery on the English Riviera. Elegantly furnished and decorated public rooms give the hotel a restful, welcoming atmosphere with a touch of class, which is matched by the hospitality provided. The Hotel Balmoral stands in its own secluded grounds in a quiet, peaceful setting, yet close to all the amenities and attractions of Torquay Devon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Hotel Balmoral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Torquay
The Hotel Balmoral Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing