We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hotel Balmoral
Nearby Hotels
$183
$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Orestone Manor(Torquay)
$351
$315
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$93
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Corbyn Head Hotel(Torquay)(Great Value!)
$194
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$123
$104
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Imperial Torquay(Torquay)
$127
$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$152
$147
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (625)
Filter reviews
625 results
Traveler rating
364
178
42
18
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
364
178
42
18
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmeadfoot beachcream tea on arrivalspecial weekendweekend breaksunday lunchcourse dinnerpremium roomsea viewlovely gardenwaiting staffhalf boardwell stocked barother guestslittle gembar pricesbus stopexcellent value for money
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
528 - 533 of 625 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and found the hotel very comfortable with good food and excellent staff. We had room 5 which was large and spacious with a very comfortable bed and a lovely view of the gardens and sea.

The weather was great which was a bonus.

Certainly recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Recommend room 5
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Good value hotel with a friendly welcome and nothing is too much trouble.
Only one word to describe the food “WOW”, you should include food when stay as you won’t be disappointed. Our bedroom was clean and tidy with ensuite and plenty of hot water. We had a room with a sea view and bath, paying the extra was worth it.
The staff are very helpful and friendly, we couldn’t fault the service throughout our stay.
Many of the guests were regulars and always spoke and said hello, which made the stay very welcoming, thank you. We hope to return again very soon.

Room Tip: Worth paying for a sea view and bath.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Just returned from our sixth Easter break at the Balmoral. Top marks for cleanliness and food. Loved the dinner menu. Some of the rooms are small and I would recommend upgrading to a larger room. We always ask for a seaview. As we have come to expect, the staff were unobtrusive but friendly and always ready to help. We look forward to our next visit and to renewing friendships. .

Room Tip: It is worth paying the extra to upgrade to a larger room. Still excellent value for money.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We stayed here for a retirement weekend a group of eight men.The rooms were spotless and the staff unobtrusive. Breakfast was plentiful the only down side was thin bread used for toast.
I will certainly return as it also offered excellent value for the price we paid.

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank Jathe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

I'm glad I choose this one in all the hundreds of hotels in Torquay. We had a great time at the beach!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RjanCamoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews