We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Torquay Hotel Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hotel Balmoral

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Hotel Balmoral
Ranked #16 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Wincanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First Torquay Hotel Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

top class hotel....welcome friendly and not overpowering...nice and relaxed...room good....and well appointed...food top notch...all served very quickly and with a miniumum of fuss...plenty of choice and not small portions either...entertainment one evening...very nice....well stocked bar....all in all a nice place to spend a few days with no hesitation in booking again when the time comes

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wincantontwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex I, General Manager at The Hotel Balmoral, responded to this review, December 19, 2011
Dear Wincantontwo, May i thank you for leaving us such positive comments and im really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us for one of our november specials. (I assume it was, guessing by the one nights entertainment). Its fatastic to hear such excellent feedback on our food, staff and hotel and i personally take pleasure in welcoming you back again for a short break with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    143
    33
    14
    19
See reviews for
70
310
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Corby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

We loved the food and the room was fairly spacious and very clean with good fittings and fixtures although bathroom compact water was hot and shower was large, bed was comfy. Town was walking distace and not far away as where most ameneties. Really good scenery around this area and we took the great costal path recomended at reception was ace and we needed a good walk after all the grub we ate. food fantasic, especialy considering my wife has a gluten intolerance which they easily catered for. The value here is unbeatable in our opinion comapred to hotels we usually stay in, i would definatly stay here again and will be booking another weekend break next year.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasonsrift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex I, General Manager at The Hotel Balmoral, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Dear Jasonsrift, Thank your review, its fantastic to hear such a positive feedback. We always take pride in being able to cater for special diets and I will pass your comments on to our chef. Im extremely pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

We read reviews on tripadvisor often, very rarely write them. I feel this small hotel deserves my time in leaving some well deserved positive comments. Firstly this is not a five start hotel so anyone wanting breakfast in bed, champney bathrobes, & valet parking this hotels not for you. I myself have traveled hotels worldwide often on business torquay was an exception for a short break being close to home and with good weather forcast it was a no-brainer..... On arrival we were warmly greeted at reception and shown to our room (15) it was a very large room with what seemed like new fittings & carpet , it was clean and smelt freshly serviced! The view overlooked the carpark and the road was quiet.. Bar prices are cheap and well stocked unfortuantly the guiness was not on tap but i will live with that. We booked bed and breakfast only but in conversation with other guests staying they reccomended the food in the evening so decided to book a table and we where not dissapointed, excellent food and friendly service nothing was too much trouble for them in the resturaunt even though it was busy, each course was piping hot and tasty. location is good It took us only 10 minutes to walk to the harbour area although a little hilly, we enjoyed watching the squirrels ,birds and gardners in the garden in our window seat in the lounge (we pinched that every night too :P ) Would definatly reccomend this little place and would visit again should we stay in Devon.

Room Tip: room 15 was great although cost a little more as we upgraded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elliot D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex I, General Manager at The Hotel Balmoral, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
Dear ElliotD, Im elated to hear that you had a fantastic time with us and thankfully the weather was on your side. We appreciate your time in leaving your feedback and will pass on your comments to the rest of our team and especailly our chef. Its delightful to hear you too the time to enjoy our beautiful grounds, that i agree are perfect for watching the abundance of wildlife,
I look forward to personally welcoming you back again with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

Have visited Hotel Balmoral on many occasions for their various breaks, and have found on this visit that the staff and the food have been even better than previously. Steve, Alex, Lauren and Mikey, were all extremely helpful and friendly. We met regular guests who, like ourselves, visit again and again, so they must be doing something right! The hotel is well situated to visit Torquay, Cockington, Paignton etc. with a good bus service from outside of hotel. This hotel is for people who like traditional holidays, good location,good food,lovely scenery and the seaside.(There is usually some evening entertainment in the evening). Guests are in all age groups, and if you want more to do, then you can use faciliities in hotel/spa across the road.

Room Tip: The rooms are of variable size and facilities, so check your own requirements before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ORPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

Had a great weekend at the balmoral. As usual excellent hosts, room, breakfasts and dinner superb. Room spotless, great location and easy to access the surrounding area. Looking forward to our next visit. We were also allowed to use the gym and swimming pool too across the road for free. Many thanks to all staff you made our stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruceylit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

Had an enjoyable stay at this hotel, only stayed for bed and breakfast wish i stayed for dinner too after reading some of these reviews on here. Room was not huge but well furnished and clean and had a nice outlook over the road. Staff friendly and made us feel welcome had a good chat with the barman on a few occasions. Its located in my opinion in a superior part of torquay with great walks around meadsfoot area and which is within walking distance of town but quiet and scenic. Would reccomend the balmoral to anyone looking for to stay in torquay, we will probably visit next year but have dinner this time too, oh we had to ask but you can use the health club opposite at the osbourne we used their large indoor swimming pool only although they had a gym and sauna, their is apparently a small charge but they just let us straight in for for free.

Room Tip: car park or ones overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwanerly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

my mother and i arranged a visit to torquay, stayed one week at balmoral. had a few problems finding the hotel at first due to a sat nav problem so i phoned them up and and alex directed us straight there, very welcoming on arrival and he took our bags up to the room and explained about the local area. very happy with the room it wasent huge but perfectly adequete for us fresh towels and spotlessly cleaned. would have liked hot chocolate in the tea/coffee service tray. food was very very good as were the staff they really did make us feel at home after a long travel from ireland. If we came to torquay again we would definatly return for balmorals great location, value, & excellent food i would have though this hotel would be higher then a two star. thank you for a great stay, ken.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kennethcars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,527 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#7 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Balmoral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Balmoral

Property: The Hotel Balmoral
Address: Meadfoot Sea Road, Torquay TQ1 2LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#18 Family Hotel in Torquay
#24 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel Balmoral 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Balmoral - set in a superb Torquay location overlooking some of the most beautiful coastal scenery on the English Riviera. Elegantly furnished and decorated public rooms give the hotel a restful, welcoming atmosphere with a touch of class, which is matched by the hospitality provided. The Hotel Balmoral stands in its own secluded grounds in a quiet, peaceful setting, yet close to all the amenities and attractions of Torquay Devon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your The Hotel Balmoral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Torquay
The Hotel Balmoral Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing