We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I wish we were still there.”
Review of The Hotel Balmoral

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hotel Balmoral
Ranked #17 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I wish we were still there.”
Reviewed April 16, 2011

We really enjoyed our four night 'midweek break'. Nicely decorated, though small, bedroom; the hotel had plenty of character and we would jump at the opportunity to stay there again. The staff were very friendly and efficient, and the room cleaned well every day. The temperature of the shower was rather variable, however. The food was excellent throughout, with a wide range of choice.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Incognitoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    151
    36
    15
    19
See reviews for
76
321
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2011

We found the ambience of this place perfect. Our few days there were met with friendly staff ,owners and Rocky dog.
The meals were amazing -choice and quality. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trendytrainers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2011

Booked one of their "special weekends" which included breakfast lunch and dinner for under a 85 quid each B-A-R-Gain Service was good and staff where more than happy to let us check in early a good few hours, reception greeted us warmly and we were shown to room 7 which was modern clean tidy and had good views of the garden and sea. food was very good with loads of choice on the menu, as was breakfast. Entertainment was good with a lively bloke on the friday who stayed on for at least 3 hours. Grrreat steak on the saturday night. The missus and i walked into the harbour from the hotel and it took about 10 mins, bring your nikes as torquay is fairly hilly though. Tried to rebook a weekend when we left but they were already fully booked for the date we wanted :(:(:(:(.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lirhardmighty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

stayed over new year. 3 day break. Have stayed here before 2 years ago. Food was good and plenty of it. Entertainment good 2nights out of three. We had a sea view room even though we had not requested one so that was a bonus. Room adequate and warm. Other guests had stayed many times and were friendly. Will be going again later in the year for one of their short breaks.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank callum2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2010

A group of 12 of us stayed at the end of November on a weekend offer break. The Hotel is not bad for the price and for a 2 star hotel it was good. I can see where people previously have stated that its clicky, as you are expected to know some of the format of what goes on, like at meal time. We stayed a week into the cold spell, there was some confusion over our party as all the rooms had been put down under one name, although a list with each persons requirements was sent with the booking, but this was all sorted very quickly. The rooms were ok and the food was better on the Saturday night, as was the entertainment. I would visit again, but probably in the warmer weather when the surrounding area had more to offer.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justvisiting58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2010

Stayed for 4 days Food was excellent. service friendly but inconsistent. insufficient seating in lounge area when hotel is busy. room very small had to breath in when walking round the bed. Shower room only but it could do with a proper screen instead of a curtain as water tended to overspill onto carpet. We did find it very strange ringing the bell for service at the bar but soon got used to it.
Will return here as it is clean and in an excellent location. OVERALL GREAT VALUE FOR MONEY

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank thebirches40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2010

just returned from weekend stay,been many times before,cannot understand the negative reviews for this hotel,yes it is a bit jaded,but it is a busy hotel,so what would you expect,staff are polite and friendly,food is excellent and entertainment is enjoyable,cleanliness is very good with none of the usual dust around the edges ,as found in so many hotel rooms throughout the world.
some rooms are better than others,we have a favorite room which we try to book.
will keep returning for our twice a year breaks.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d3akx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,661 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#31 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Balmoral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Balmoral

Property: The Hotel Balmoral
Address: Meadfoot Sea Road, Torquay TQ1 2LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#18 Family Hotel in Torquay
#24 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel Balmoral 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Balmoral - set in a superb Torquay location overlooking some of the most beautiful coastal scenery on the English Riviera. Elegantly furnished and decorated public rooms give the hotel a restful, welcoming atmosphere with a touch of class, which is matched by the hospitality provided. The Hotel Balmoral stands in its own secluded grounds in a quiet, peaceful setting, yet close to all the amenities and attractions of Torquay Devon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your The Hotel Balmoral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Torquay
The Hotel Balmoral Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing