We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Stay at Cary Court !!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cary Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cary Court Hotel
Ranked #3 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding Stay at Cary Court !!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

I would just like to simply say a Big Thank you to Paul and Linda for making our stay at Cary Court outstanding,even before we set off to Torquay Paul had called to inform us of the main rd on the Sea front being closed to road works and gave us exact directions to avoid them,the room was fantastic,food fantastic,Cary Court and it's hosts fantastic you really will have to go a long way to beat this and we are already in the process of booking to go back !!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonymezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    44
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
73
328
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

A great fun and interesting place to stay in Torquay in a good location, close to the town center but far enough away to be quiet and restful.

This guest house is an eclectic mix of styles which makes it quite unique in our experience. The rooms are very clean and fitted out well and seem ample for most needs. The garden is amazing and the swimming pool a very welcome touch :)

Paul and Linda run the establishment with a certain style and flair which makes it a fun and welcoming place to stay. The breakfast is a treat with a great selection and the hot food was cooked to perfection and everything seemed very fresh indeed.

Highly recommended and I'm sure we will return again in the near future.

Many thanks from Paul and Sarah

Room Tip: Upgrade to best rooms if you can but ours was a standard room and it was very nice indeed so not too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Well looked after by Paul and Linda on arrival, this carried on by Rob who was stand in host for the weekend. Would definitely stay again and recommend to others. Plent of space to sit outside and enjoy the sun, like being in a tropical garden.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Can't add to other reviews. Would have preferred a view of the gardens instead of the car park, but the room was great and the welcome and service second to none. Would recommend unconditionally. Thank you Paul for pretending you know nothing about computers, made me feel needed and helpful.
We would certainly return if we choose to visit Torquay again. Thanks.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bilston
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

As per all the reviews, Cary Court is wonderful, Paul and Linda are great hosts , cannot do enough to make sure your break however short or long , a happy relaxing one. The room was great , very clean and well maintained., Gardens and pool very good. The breakfast was first class. Would recommend this hotel to anyone . The hill is a challenge but keeps you fit., Thanks Linda and Paul for making the stay so pleasurable. You are 2 lovely people.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stedon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

- Outstanding service from the charming hosts Linda and Paul. I've visited some of London's best hotels and restaurants including the Ritz and Linda and Paul have got the balance between friendliness and professionalism just right.

- Beautifully kept, generously proportioned, en suite room, with solid period furniture and fittings.

- Excellent standards of cleanliness. 

- Invaluable advice on where to visit in the local area and wider Devon and how to get there - as this was our first visit to Devon it was all the more useful. Their advice meant that we got to enjoy the beauty of Dartmoor!

- Delicious, generous breakfast, again with friendly, professional service.  We loved the full english and the salmon, cream cheese bagel and enjoyed copious amounts of tea and orange juice.

- Convenient, free, safe parking.

- Very well located, a short walk to the harbour but away from the hectic centre. 

- Stunning family house with exceptional facilities including a sub-tropical garden with carp pond and a heated pool, a cosy snug, elegant living room and even a chaise longue and four poster bed in our bedroom. Also appreciated the BYO bar.

- Overall an absolutely wonderful stay, can't recommend highly enough! 5*

Honestly can't think of anything we didn't like. Cary Court is a delight to stay in. You feel relaxed and genuinely welcome. Wish we'd stayed longer to make full use of the facilities and visit more of Devon. We'll be back! Thank you Paul and Linda.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mediterranean room which was wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sittingbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

stayed at the carey court from eight august for 6 nights ihave to agree with other travellers it was first class the only down side was the hill if there is a better guest house in torquay iwould like to find it linda and paul were brilliant the food was first class has was the accomadation 100 per cent would defenetly return

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank davekent1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.6 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#8 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,593 reviews
0.9 mi away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#5 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cary Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cary Court Hotel

Property: Cary Court Hotel
Address: Hunsdon Road, Torquay TQ1 1QB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#4 Family Hotel in Torquay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cary Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cary Court was built over a century ago on part of the Cary Estate. It is a "Plantation" style house, peacefully situated in the leafy Warberries, a quiet conservation area, yet only a few minutes from restaurants, shops, theatre, night life and Marina. Cary Court is a Bed and Breakfast Guest House offering tastefully and comfortably furnished accommodation with a mixture of period and Antique pieces. The bedrooms, some with Four-Poster beds some with King-size beds are all en suite, all have televisions, complimentary beverage trays, hair dryers and free wi-fi. Cary Court is renowned for its "Full English Breakfasts" served in elegant surroundings with views over the Verandah and subtropical garden. There is a heated out door pool ( seasonal - open from the end of May to end of September ) surrounded by south facing gardens and sundecks. There is car parking on site for eight to ten vehicles supplemented by un restricted on street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Cary Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cary Court Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing