We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As good as ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cary Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cary Court Hotel
Ranked #3 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“As good as ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

This was our third stay at Cary Court, and we were welcomed like old friends. Our room was tastefully furnished, a comfortable bed and ample supplies of tea, coffee and biscuits. We will certainly be back.
The hotel is in a quiet location in beautiful grounds, hard to believe the bustling town is a short walk away, down a very steep hill (coming back it seems even steeper!).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TiggiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    44
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
73
328
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Booked this hotel for a night away at the beach. Although the usual management weren't there we were made well aware of this which impressed us. The service was great got what we needed and left to enjoy the lovely hotel grounds. 10 minute walk to the beach and the pubs/resteraunts is an easy downhill stroll.
Keep up the good work

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gkay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelmsford, england
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed at Cary Court for a long weekend and were not disappointed. The hotel is in a quiet street but only a short walk ( down a very steep hill) to the harbour. Nice Victorian building with an excellent decked garden with tropical plants and a decent sized swimming pool - it is heated and was warm enough to swim in despite cold air temperature. The garden is a sun trap and a lovely place to chill out. The rooms are large and well appointed. The breakfast choice is excellent and host Paul is full of information about the local area. This is a great base to explore South Devon. We would also recommend The Old Vienna restaurant which is a short walk away and like Cary Court deserves it's excellent rating on Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkandBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Enjoyed a two night stay when on Business. Someone else picked the place glad they did. Very clean, good breakfast and friendly owners. Would stay again if in the area. Nice gardens and quite surrounds.

Room Tip: Bit of a walk up hill from the town, take the shortcut via Debenhams.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S-H
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Cary court has very nice hosts and a wonderful tropical garden and a deep blue Pool! Unfortunately the weather was too cold for swimming. Paul is full of Informations about Restaurants, Sightseeing, Torquay and the area of Torquay. We didn´t book a room, so were just asking to stay for a night and it was perfect. Definetly we like to come back!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank keho_sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Fawtly Towers this was not... Our hosts were as family, welcoming and informative of the local area. The décor is period perfect for the architecture which creates an ambiance of a Mediterranean ex-pats villa. A veranda for sipping tea or gin slings, a conservatory for mulling the crossword and a palm shaded pool to cool in the sun.
You can not help but relax and unwind.
The rooms are űber clean and charming in individual character. The two we had were of a good size and well appointed.
Breakfast is in the grand dining room and caters for all tastes and appetites. Both the full English and the Salmon and scrambled egg versions are highly recommended!
I am in two minds to let the wider world know about this little Torquay gem...

Room Tip: The rooms are individually styled and named. A pair at the front have a shared balcony, great for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seti_yeti_62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Cary Court is a lovely place to stay. It has ample sized ‘themed’ rooms and spacious bathrooms. The host (Paul) is very helpful with lots of good tips as what to do. The walk down to the harbour using his directions looks fearful but actually works very well.

The full English breakfast is filling but not at all greasy; as with many B&B breakfasts.

The garden is a weird delight, akin to a Mediterranean jungle. It wasn’t quite hot enough for us to enjoy it but in a month’s time I’m sure it would be great to lounge in with a glass of wine.

A good choice

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewbob17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#7 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,527 reviews
1.0 mi away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#4 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cary Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cary Court Hotel

Property: Cary Court Hotel
Address: Hunsdon Road, Torquay TQ1 1QB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#4 Family Hotel in Torquay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cary Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cary Court was built over a century ago on part of the Cary Estate. It is a "Plantation" style house, peacefully situated in the leafy Warberries, a quiet conservation area, yet only a few minutes from restaurants, shops, theatre, night life and Marina. Cary Court is a Bed and Breakfast Guest House offering tastefully and comfortably furnished accommodation with a mixture of period and Antique pieces. The bedrooms, some with Four-Poster beds some with King-size beds are all en suite, all have televisions, complimentary beverage trays, hair dryers and free wi-fi. Cary Court is renowned for its "Full English Breakfasts" served in elegant surroundings with views over the Verandah and subtropical garden. There is a heated out door pool surrounded by south facing gardens and sundecks. There is car parking on site for eight to ten vehicles supplemented by un restricted on street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, LateRooms and Travelocity so you can book your Cary Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cary Court Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing