We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Cary Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cary Court Hotel
Ranked #6 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We had a great stay at Cary Court. It more than met our expectations. Our room was very clean and comfortable, as was the whole hotel. Lots of antiques and quirky ornaments around. The garden was lovely. Unfortunately the weather was not warm enough to try the pool, but t looked good. We had super breakfasts. Paul and Linda were great hosts and made us feel very welcome. Paul gave us good advice on places to visit and where to eat. The hotel is in a good quiet location in walking distance of the harbour. We especially liked the diy bar!! (fridge, ice, glasses and lemon - you just provide the drink!). Definitely would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahFGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    45
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
75
336
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2011

This was our first stay at Cary Court, highly recommended by a friend. Paul and Linda are great hosts and made our stay so very special. Breakfast is excellent, our four poster room was superb, as were the lounge and dining rooms. The gardens and the koi pond are very exotic, a shame we did not have enough time to enjoy all that was on offer. We will definitely recommend to our friends and are making plans for a return visit very soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Thanks Linda & Paul for another wonderful & relaxing stay, you are both great hosts and your full english breakfast is to die for!!!! We particulary enjoy the free full bar set-up you provide, where you can bring your own alcohol refrigerate it & enjoy at anytime day or night, this is a fantastic facility that we find works very well. look forward to seeing you both next year.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxted, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We were very pleased that we chose this hotel to stay in. The accomodation was excellent. Our side room was lovely and quiet and it was all clean. The owners could not have been more attentive or helpful. I am pleased to say that I can find no faults. The towels were fluffy and large and there was tea in the room. There was only a one hour window for breakfast but as this is an owner run hotel you can understand why. The food was excellent with a good choice well cooked and well presented. Even the coffee met my standards. I hope to return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKE-screen-name
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemgo, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2011

An elegant, comfortable, tastfully furnished B & B with excellent service. All facilities are of the highest order, including the exotic garden and pool area. The breakfast offered is scrumptious with ample coffee or tea.
I was pleasantly surprised at the warm welcome we received on arrival and the unforced and natural friendliness of Paul and Linda through out our stay. They offered splendid advice when asked and their recommendation on where to dine was invaluable.
My sincere thanks for making our stay so pleasant.

Room Tip: Our two bed room was super.....very quiet, sufficient wardrobe space. a good bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterLemgo_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Spotless, excellent breakfasts, a really comfortable bed, great service, off street parking and a five minute walk from the harbourside restaurants. Great service and good value in Torquay ? Yes - Really ! Top notch....

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank thefolksonthehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuss, Germany
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Linda and Paul are excellent hosts! They helped us to find nice places to visit and were able to give us exact driving instructions. Also a booking for a theather visit was made for us.

The fully English breakfast was very good! We felt very welcome and looked after.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.6 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
2.6 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
500 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 87 in Torquay
470 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 87 in Torquay
809 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#34 of 87 in Torquay
2,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cary Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cary Court Hotel

Property: Cary Court Hotel
Address: Hunsdon Road, Torquay TQ1 1QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Torquay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cary Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cary Court was built over a century ago on part of the Cary Estate. It is a "Plantation" style house, peacefully situated in the leafy Warberries, a quiet conservation area, yet only a few minutes from restaurants, shops, theatre, night life and Marina. Cary Court is a Bed and Breakfast Guest House offering tastefully and comfortably furnished accommodation with a mixture of period and Antique pieces. The bedrooms, some with Four-Poster beds some with King-size beds are all en suite, all have televisions, complimentary beverage trays, hair dryers and free wi-fi. Cary Court is renowned for its "Full English Breakfasts" served in elegant surroundings with views over the Verandah and subtropical garden. There is a heated out door pool ( seasonal - open from the end of May to end of September ) surrounded by south facing gardens and sundecks. There is car parking on site for eight to ten vehicles supplemented by un restricted on street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Cary Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cary Court Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing