We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of The Redholme B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Redholme B&B
Ranked #3 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We highly recommend everything about this beautiful hotel. From its excellent and attentive hosts, to its tastefully modernised bedrooms all equipped to a extremely high standard, spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated, and last but not least the wonderfully tasty cooked breakfast, you would expect to pay far more. We have already recommended to both family and friends and we will definitely be coming back very soon. Thank you both for a lovely stay. Markus and Jayne

Room Tip: All rooms are finished to the same excellent standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MellieBrand, Owner at The Redholme B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

We really appreciate any time taken to give us reviews, and are glad that you enjoyed your stay enough to do so, it really does help other travellers to see what a good time can be had at The Redholme! Its all about the bed and the breakfast and you enjoyed both so we are happy too! Stay with us again if ever you are in Torquay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (521)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

492 - 498 of 521 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2014

After struggling to find holiday accommodation to sleep all 5 of us, it was such a delight to find this lovely Bed and Breakfast which also has a very interesting history. We could not find fault with any aspect of our stay, we were made welcome from the moment we arrived, Mel and Paul went out of their way to make sure both we and the children had everything we needed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bananagirlbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MellieBrand, Owner at The Redholme B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Thanks for your lovely review, we do really appreciate the time taken to do so. We are only too aware that a family of 5 so often have to pay for 2 rooms which is most unsuitable and expensive, so hope that families staying with us really do spread the word that 3 children can sleep very comfortably in our family rooms and the parents can still walk around without treading on them! We treat all children as guests not pests and hope we see you again when you are next in The Bay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

From the minute you arrive you are guaranteed a wonderful stay, the hosts are very warm and friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. This Hotel has been lovinfly restored to a high standard by the current owners. We cannot recommend this Hotel highly enough. Carol and Andy.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank carolhubbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MellieBrand, Owner at The Redholme B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

My Goodness! To be called the Gem of Torquay is just Amazing! We are both glad that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for such a nice review, it really does reassure other travellers who may be unsure about us because we are so newly open, that they will have a great stay, thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

The accommodation was spotless, the breakfast excellent and plentiful, the hosts welcoming and friendly. What more could you ask for? My little boy Alex said it should have a star rating of infinity and he can't wait to go back, I agree with him.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MellieBrand, Owner at The Redholme B&B, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Thank you for your comments. As a family ourselves we like to make sure that children enjoy themselves just as much as the adults! We hope you consider staying with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

My kids and I had great stay at the Redholme. Mel & Paul are fantastic hosts, nothing was ever too much trouble and they could not do enough to make sure we were all comfortable, well looked after and had everything we needed. The room and accommodations were spotlesly clean, well decorated and equipped to a high standard. Both my son & daughter loved it and I have recommended the redholme to my friends and family since we stayed. We will certainly be staying with Mel & Paul again, thanks guys!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimonLogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MellieBrand, Owner at The Redholme B&B, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thanks for your review. As a recently opened B&B, we value your feedback enjoyed your stay with us. Please consider us again when you visit Torquay again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Thank you to two wonderful hosts for their hard work in creating and welcoming me into their beautiful and historic home.
Their dedication to the renovation of this building and their enthusiasm for sharing it's story is charming.
Mel and Paul are kind and friendly and their b&b is lovely in every way.
very comfy bed
fantastic shower
generous breakfast
very reasonably priced.
10 out of 10

Room Tip: I had the blue stripe room, perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 113kmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MellieBrand, Owner at The Redholme B&B, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thank you very much for your kind comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Amazing Hotel..i have been going to Torquay for 8 years and this is one of the best Hotels i have stayed in.Great house,great people ,fab breakfast NOTHING was to much trouble.Will definetly be returning very soon,this year.

Room Tip: Any room...just book it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MellieBrand, Owner at The Redholme B&B, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thanks for your feedback. Thanks too for mentioning our check in time. I didn't realise it was shown online as being so late, so I have adjusted this to an earlier time. I am sure 2pm will be more popular. I hope you will visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.8 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
303 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Somerville
The Somerville
#4 of 149 in Torquay
1,116 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#6 of 149 in Torquay
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 149 in Torquay
373 reviews
0.7 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#10 of 149 in Torquay
312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kingsholm Hotel
Kingsholm Hotel
#8 of 149 in Torquay
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Redholme B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Redholme B&B

Address: 62 Braddons Hill Road East, Torquay TQ1 1HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $83 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adult only B&B offering quiet elevated position on one of Torquay's 7 hills, within a 5 minutes gentle sloped walk of Torquay harbour with its array of bars, restaurants and clubs and buses and ferries across the Bay. All rooms are spacious with en suites and most first floor rooms have sea views. These sea views are as a result of our elevated position, we do not claim to be seafront! There is also free off street parking for all guests. We are motorbike friendly with secure flat parking at the side of the house, and also offer use of our fresh water wash down and drying area for wet diving , sailing or motorbike gear. Due to the elevated position of The Redholme, guests with mobility issues may find the sloped driveway access to the house difficult. It also goes without saying that the return from the harbour to The Redholme is uphill. If you find walking uphill difficult then we suggest you stay elsewhere. Complaining later on a review site is bad form. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Redholme B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Redholme B&B Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing