We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Trelawney Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Atlantis(Torquay)(Great Value!)
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Westgate(Torquay)
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$89
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Marstan(Torquay)
$103
$97
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$234
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Imperial Torquay(Torquay)
$103
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveler rating
106
47
8
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
106
47
8
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall ensuitefull englishfour poster bedparking is limitedtop floorgreat couplefriendly hostsminute walk to the beacha lovely night staylovely little hotelshort break in torquaysea fronthotel is locatedstayed here for nightsroom was lovely and cleanrecommend staying herecooked breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
152 - 157 of 165 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2010

Totally disappointed with this hotel, was under the impression it had luxury accomodation ha! not so a four poster bed does not make it luxurious basic B & B at best, poor management skills, such as ignoring your guests! doh . Basic cleaning & breakfast,don't ask for a poached egg! Noisy if your (luxury) room ha! is on the main road. Would i recommend this place NO CHANCE SORRY

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wessy4561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2010

The Trelawney Hotel in Torquay is in an excellent location close to the town, seafront and nightlife. During our stay the proprietors, Rose and Jim, were walm and welcoming and created a relaxed atmosphere where we felt immediately at ease.

Our room had recently been refurbished to a very high standard and was clean and comfortable with modern quality furnishings.

Breakfast was definitely far superior to most business hotels I have stayed in. It offered a seletion of fruit juices, cereals, yogurt and an excellent full english breakfast, etc.

Parking spaces are limited but we understand this is common place in Torquay. We had no problems parking and there was adequate side road parking within a few hundred yards of the Hotel.

During our stay the Trelawney was fully booked. We will certainly be returning as the hotel also offers an excellent base to explore the wonders of Devon.

We wish to bring to the attention of readers the review dated 22nd August 2009 refers to the Trelawney Hotel in WEYMOUTH, this should not be confused with the Trelawney Hotel in TORQUAY to which our review refers.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthKentCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2009

i found the hotel to be in an ideal spot, close to the beach, minutes walk to nightclubs & shops, and still had a peaceful nights sleep.
The breakfast was huge and i love that i could go off for the day on such a full belly!!!
the bar was cosy in the evening, and we were entertained by funny stories from
the propietors.
definately home away from home

Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank hatchling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

This B&B is rather cheap, so it's easy to overlook some of its obvious flaws. Rooms are quite old-fashioned and in our case also a bity shabby. The location is very good, a 10-minute walk to the centre, 5 mins to the waterfront.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inamey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trelawneyhotel, Owner at Trelawney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2011

During 2009 / 2010 and continuing through 2011 we have continued to upgrade all our rooms and have now completed all rooms and added a new dining room. Having aquired The Trelawney at the end of 2007, a tired hotel, we can appreciate the comments in this review but now feel that we can with confidence allay fears that our rooms are " outdated "

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2008

Rosie and Jim were very friendly, they showed us on a map where everything was situated and made us feel welcome. The hotel is in a great location just a 10 minute walk down to the sea front and the town. Car parking was a pain as the hotel only had one space and so we'd spend a bit of time having to drive around trying to find somewhere to park. Usually this probably wouldn't be a problem but in peak season it was. The breakfasts were lovely, really great food and all made to order, no grease in sight. The room was small and not much air circulated but it was really clean and the bathroom was spotless.

Stayed: August 2008
1  Thank Bluesky77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews