We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wondefully friendly staff”
Review of Trelawney Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Trelawney Hotel
Ranked #27 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed August 15, 2009

i found the hotel to be in an ideal spot, close to the beach, minutes walk to nightclubs & shops, and still had a peaceful nights sleep.
The breakfast was huge and i love that i could go off for the day on such a full belly!!!
the bar was cosy in the evening, and we were entertained by funny stories from
the propietors.
definately home away from home

Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank hatchling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 141 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2009

This B&B is rather cheap, so it's easy to overlook some of its obvious flaws. Rooms are quite old-fashioned and in our case also a bity shabby. The location is very good, a 10-minute walk to the centre, 5 mins to the waterfront.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inamey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trelawneyhotel, Owner at Trelawney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2011

During 2009 / 2010 and continuing through 2011 we have continued to upgrade all our rooms and have now completed all rooms and added a new dining room. Having aquired The Trelawney at the end of 2007, a tired hotel, we can appreciate the comments in this review but now feel that we can with confidence allay fears that our rooms are " outdated "

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2008

Rosie and Jim were very friendly, they showed us on a map where everything was situated and made us feel welcome. The hotel is in a great location just a 10 minute walk down to the sea front and the town. Car parking was a pain as the hotel only had one space and so we'd spend a bit of time having to drive around trying to find somewhere to park. Usually this probably wouldn't be a problem but in peak season it was. The breakfasts were lovely, really great food and all made to order, no grease in sight. The room was small and not much air circulated but it was really clean and the bathroom was spotless.

Stayed: August 2008
1  Thank Bluesky77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2008

Me and my partner stayed at The Trelawney Hotel in July 08 - Rosie and Jim were lovely and helpful, telling us where the best places to go were and even letting us have a go on Rosies piano. The rooms were clean and our on-suite bathroom was brand new. Breakfast was yummy too. I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a central location.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Polly47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2006

We stayed here in May 2006. We found this hotel by searching on the web.

The hotel doesn't actually have a car park, but we had no problem parking on the road near by.

The hotel is quite small, but it was fine. We were greeted as soon as we got there by the friendly owners, which was a good start.

They had actually booked us into a room with a four poster bed even though we hadn't requested it. The room was clean and tidy, although a little dated, but that wasn't a problem. Although the shower was a bit of a tight squeeze.

The hotel is located about a 15 minute walk from the centre of the town, but there were a couple of nice bars near by.

We found the staff to be very helpful, advising the best restaurants and pubs etc.. The breakfast was good with a fair selection of things to choose from.

Generally the hotel was perfect for a weekend break and we would probably stay there again.

An excellent restaurant that we found was called "Hooks" which has a pirates theme. It's probably best to book a table as it tends to get extremely busy.

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank balsburyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Coventry
11
Reviewed December 3, 2005

Very Freindly and very clean

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank Juanfradelgado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trelawneyh0tel, Owner at Trelawney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0 mi away
The Patricia Guest House
The Patricia Guest House
#49 of 85 in Torquay
105 reviews
0 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#28 of 85 in Torquay
125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#7 of 85 in Torquay
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brandize Hotel
Brandize Hotel
#26 of 85 in Torquay
162 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Barton
Hotel Barton
#35 of 85 in Torquay
154 reviews
0.9 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#48 of 85 in Torquay
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trelawney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trelawney Hotel

Address: 48 Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#13 Family Hotel in Torquay
#14 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#30 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $60 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Trelawney Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paul and Liz welcome you to the Trelawney Hotel in Torquay in the heart of the English Riviera. Luxury Bed and Breakfast accommodation, with all the warmth and comfort you’d expect from a family run establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Trelawney Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trelawney Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing