We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Trelawney Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Trelawney Hotel
Ranked #47 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed for one night over the weekend as a trip down for my partners Birthday. Room rate was £55 for the night which I think is very reasonable for this type of accomodation.

It is only about 300 yards (downhill) to the coastline and about a ten minute walk to the main bay with all the local restaurants and attractions, so very well postioned.

The room was cosy enough and the decor modern looking, the bed was very comfy, we had en-suite shower, 4 poster bed and a plasma tv with about 30-40 of the usual free view channels.

Breakfast was hearty and excellent - full english was superb and looking back at previous reviews and picking up on the idiot who put the one negative review on here back in 2010, when I ordered and poached egg it was not a problem and very tasty too boot. Made freshly by the poor chap in charge who's wife normal does the cooking but was not very well (this was only the 2nd time in five years he'd done the breakfast shift!)

Would happily recommend to friends and would consider for accomodation again when we return to Torquay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grauters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    38
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
49
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunstable
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed here in August 2012 for our wedding anniversary. We booked a room with a four poster bed and I have to say I have stayed in many a 5 star hotel and this was every bit as plush although smaller of course. The room was clean and well kept, the bathroom was small but clean and nice and bright. Rose was very helpful when we arrived very early and showed us to some parking around the back which is very limited. Jim also recommended some restaurants and possible trips to do during our short stay, All in all I would recommend to anyone and if we venture back to Torquay I would definitely try to book here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taz_nut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Myself, husband and son stayed in the Trelawney Hotel for 4 nights. Rosie and Jim are fab hosts and the breakfast is lovely. They made a particular effort with my little boy, which he enjoyed. We stayed in a family room that was modern, spotless and comfortable. The price we payed was excellent for the room standard. We honestly could not fault it and will some day return I hope. I would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda135479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

Just got back from two nights at the trelawney with four friends. A very warm welcome awaited us from Rosie and we stayed in room 12 & 15. The first thing that amazed me was the amazing decor, comfy beds and everything was spotless. Jim was very helpful and friendly and the breakfast was plentiful and filling and nothing was too much trouble. Overall I would highly recommend the Trelawney and will be difinitley going back!!.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bowps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

We had a super family break taking over more than half the Trelawney Hotel. Many late nights in the bar and keeping either Jim or Rosie up to the early hours of the morning but we all got up much to Jim's suprise for a 8.30am full english breakfast with extras.The bedrooms are very comfortable with all required amenities.Plenty of suggestions for eating places. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aylesbury
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

Stayed at Trelawney with a group for conference. Excellent location only 5 minutes from the conference centre. Very friendly owners who made us feel very welcome throughout our stay with a cup of tea on arrival and booking restaurants and taxis for us. Very pretty bedrooms with comfortable bed. Delicious breakfasts with lots of choice. Owners made sure we had a great stay and this hotel is really excellent value for money. We would definitely go back there. Thankyou Rosie and Jim for your excellent hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

Just got back from a two night stay at the Trelawney Hotel. It has a good location the sea front is a short walk away and it's easy to find. There's some parking at the back of the hotel. It was exactly what you want from a bed and breakfast style hotel. Our twin room was very pretty, a lot of thought has gone into the decor. There were nice tea and coffee making facilities, complimentary toiletries, comfy beds with duvets and a small flatscreen tv. The room was clean and the bathroom had a good shower. It was nice and warm when the heating was on. Jim and Rose were very friendly and accomodating, they didn't mind us picking and choosing what we had for breakfast from the menu and were more than happy to toast the gluten free bread I had bought with me. They even kept it in the kitchen ready for the next morning. Jim suggested we catch the ferry to Brixham which we did and we had a lovely day. We found that everything was in walking distance for us (fit twenty somethings). Rose even put out some hot cross buns and homemade cupcakes because it was Easter Sunday! I will be going back and recommending to my wedding guests next year.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gronk27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Southbank Hotel
Southbank Hotel
#46 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#33 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Patricia Guest House
The Patricia Guest House
#50 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kelvin House Hotel
Kelvin House Hotel
#48 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ashwood Grange Hotel
Ashwood Grange Hotel
#61 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brandize Hotel
Brandize Hotel
#31 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trelawney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trelawney Hotel

Property: Trelawney Hotel
Address: 48 Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Torquay
#31 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Trelawney Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trelawney Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trelawney Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing