We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location & great value”
Review of Hudson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hudson Hotel
Ranked #62 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Great location with just a few minutes walk to the harbour. Free car parking and Wi Fi. The room was nice with a great cooked breakfast. I tried the smoked salmon & scrambled eggs which were delicious. Very impressed thanks Brian.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mancsolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 182 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

Friendly staff with great breakfast to add, its location is brilliant and just walking distances to the harbour had a great couple of days there. I would recommend this hotel/BB for couples who fancy a relaxing few days away.

Room Tip: Room 7 nice with brand new power shower and a good bed, the TV was a little small but enjoyed the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwillcraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights and enjoyed our stay. A couple of minor issues or I'd have voted 4 (very good) rather than 3 (average). TripAdvisor really needs to allow a vote of 3.5 stars (good).

The pluses:

- good location, just a few minutes walk from the Harbour
- nice clean room
- lovely breakfast with real coffee served in mini cafetiere; a big plus for those who like proper coffee
- comfortable beds
- free car parking

The minuses:

- Room was a little cramped. Would have been fine for a night or two but we could have done with a little more space for two of us for a four-night stay.
- Not much storage space in the room (see above)
- TV very small (smaller than my laptop screen) and very, very tinny sound. Minor point as we didn't come here to watch TV of course
- Soap in shower very low and it wasn't refilled. We did get some bars of soap in the end but only after we asked.
- Breakfast was delicious but it was oddly organised. The owner/manager seemed to make life harder for himself and for the guests by taking orders for tea/coffee initially and not allowing you to order your main breakfast dish until after you'd finished your cereal, orange juice, whatever. I can't imagine why, or how this helps the diner, the kitchen staff or him. Very odd. See pluses above though - quality of food was excellent.
- Room was quite warm and opening the window meant there was a fair bit of traffic noise. To be fair we are experiencing an unusually hot and humid period of weather.

All in all, not bad - wouldn't take much to make it much better.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surrealistic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
briney1, Owner at Hudson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

I was pleased to hear that the visitor in his own words found hotel hudson's breakfast to be delicious and the quality of the food to be excellent, but with respect, had he have wished to order the cooked meal immediately, then, there would have been no objection.
I find in practice that 99% of guests prefer to help themselves to orange juice or apple juice, cerials, fresh fruit, fresh farm yougharts and toast before they embark on there main course. Also I find 99% of guests like to chill out with fresh coffee before deciding on the main choice menu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I booked for one night to visit friends nearby. Great location, not far away from everything but nice and peaceful. Brian (the owner) was very helpful and friendly over the phone and on arrival, sorted secure parking nearby free of charge which was very good given that there's very little free parking around the area. Bedroom was spotlessly clean and up to date, with tea/coffee facillities, hairdryer, ironing facilities, TV and more. The dining area has tables with plenty of space between them, unlike many of a similar cost, with a baby grand piano and nice little bar area. The highlight as others have said has to be the breakfasts, which would not look out of place in a hotel three times the price. Cereals, fresh fruit, youghurts, toast and bread, preserves, fruit juice, tea, coffee etc then a choice (or mix and match) of Full English, vegetarian, or Scrambled Eggs with smoked salmon. It takes a lot to tempt me away from a Full English, but I went for the Salmon & Eggs, it was a veritable mountain of scrambled egg with a very generous amount of smoked salmon and was excellent! All the above as B&B for a price of £35 mid-July is a superb deal. Top marks across the board, will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisC_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Come to the hudson many times a year will not go anywhere else as its so perfectly clean friendly welcoming hotel. Rooms are modern and tidy. Everything you need in a hotel Nothing can be faulted whats so ever!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scottiedog19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

myself and my husband have used this hotel a couple of times ,it is very clean and friendly.the breakfast is excellent, with a vast range of food, for everyone,the rooms are clean and fresh,the only thing we could pick fault with is you couldn't control the heating. and we felt a bit coldbut we will be going back to this hotel soon for are weekend breaks thanks for having us xx

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikeandshell186259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Myself and my girlfriend recently stayed at the Hudson at the end of may this year , it was a very pleasant stay for us the staff are very helpful and polite , zthe breakfast was very nice with a choice of cereal , yoghurt , toast , full English and tea and coffee . The rooms are very clean and the decor was fresh and modern , we are already planning another stay at this hotel in the near future :-) . The location is excellent aswell , well worth the money .

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevieandstace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Peppers
Hotel Peppers
#20 of 85 in Torquay
290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Braddon Hall Hotel
Braddon Hall Hotel
#40 of 85 in Torquay
216 reviews
0 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#47 of 85 in Torquay
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
1.2 mi away
Corbyn Head Hotel
Corbyn Head Hotel
#57 of 85 in Torquay
536 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hudson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudson Hotel

Address: 545 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $54 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hudson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 250 metres from Torquay harbour, our guest house provides superb quality bed and breakfast accommodation just a short distance from a bustling array of shops, restaurants and bars. There are 10 spacious bedrooms, each with a stylish shower room, digital TV, seating and coffee/tea facility. Free wi-fi is available to all guests. This superb venue has recently been awarded FOUR-STAR status by Enjoy England. A fully licensed hotel, we are able to provide a wide range of wines, beers and spirits for you to enjoy in our sizeable bar or while relaxing on our raised front patio, taking in the views across Torwood Gardens. The bar will also be open to the public on Saturday evenings from 5pm during the summer season (April to October). Accommodation prices start at just £27.50 per person, per night. There is guaranteed free car parking available for every hotel room (one car per room). Breakfast is served between 8.30am and 9.30am, starting with tea or coffee, fruit juice, toast, cereals and fresh fruit, followed by your choice of full English or continental breakfast (special diets catered for). We are a gay friendly hotel. Our guest house does not have family rooms and we do not take children under 12 years of age. No pets allowed. Groups by prior arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hudson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hudson Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing