We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such lovely people and hotel.”
Review of Hudson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hudson Hotel
Ranked #63 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Such lovely people and hotel.”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Me and my partner who are both in out 20's wanted to celebrate our engagement and couldn't have picked a better B&B to stay in! Perfect place for people of all ages.

We were greeted when parking the car and shown our way in. Both Brian and Paul are lovely people and made us feel very welcome, especially on Saturday when we had a few drinks at the bar and met some friends of Paul and Brian who were all so lovely.

Breakfast was nice with lots of choice, Brain is very attentive and makes sure all your needs are met.

Our room was on the top floor and we had a view to a church which was nice. The room is decorated modern, with a nice en-suite and tea or coffee to make at our leisure.

Overall me and my partner had a great stay and would love to come back.

Thank you to all the staff at The Hudson your all AMAZING!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    62
    22
    9
    9
See reviews for
13
104
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed at the Hudson Hotel to celebrate our second anniversary from the 5th to the 8th of august the hotel was immaculate and the staff very friendly, paul the housekeeper was keen to help in any way he could and kept his rooms spotless. the hotel is a 2 minute walk from the harbour with nice bars and restaurants on the way (cotton eyed joes is a must try) over all a thoroughly enjoyable break.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senghenydd, null, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed at the Hudon Hotel for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel room itself was one of the cleanest I've experienced and the housekeeper Paul was a joy to converse with (one of the treasures of this hotel). The breakfast was also very well prepared and the breakfast room laid out nicely. Location is also good for access to town centre and waterfront. Would recommend to others and stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I stayed for three nights 27th - 29th of July , room was brilliant , hotel itself is nicely decorated and very clean. Breakfast room was nicely laid out. One of the nicest small Hotels I have stayed in.Owner is extremely helpful. I travelled by train so I cannot comment on the parking.

Would stay again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed at Hudson Hotel for 3 nights in July and had an amazing time! The rooms were very clean and light and airy. It could not be in a better location 3-4 minuites from the water front and town centre. The staff were very helpful and reccomended some great places to eat. The breakfast was fantastic one of the best i have had from a hotel and i have stayed at alot! I would definately stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We had a very pleasant stay at The Hudson at the end of June this year.
The rooms were very nice, light and airy.
Paul, who services the rooms, always made sure that the tea and coffee (and biscuits) tray was well stocked and everything was spotlessly clean.
The KING size bed was clean and comfortable.
The breakfast was substantial with a great choice of hot and cold food. Vegetarian options are available too. The chef always did a first class job and breakfast is served by the hotel owner who know lots about the local area and is very helpful.
We had WiFi access which was great.
We stayed in room 4 which is a huge room ~ it has a balcony and fantastic views.
We were made to feel most welcome and we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RawsonsHX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2012

This hotel is perfect, the staff are so friendly and are happy to help, nothing is ever a problem. Car parking is easy, and if by any chance there is no room in the car park at the back of the hotel there is another FREE car park a short walk away. The location of the hotel is a perfect distance to the harbour (2 minute walk away). The rooms are absolutely perfect, we recently stayed in one of the balcony rooms which was brilliant, very spacious, clean, comfortable bed etc etc.
We have been to Torquay for years and have stayed in other hotels on the same strip, however, since we stayed at the Hotel Hudson we havent stayed anywhere else, and will always go back to this hotel when we next visit Torquay.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms are brilliant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Harbour Heights Guest House
0.0 mi away
Hotel Barton
Hotel Barton
#36 of 87 in Torquay
151 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Palms Hotel
The Palms Hotel
#26 of 87 in Torquay
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#50 of 87 in Torquay
362 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#3 of 87 in Torquay
528 reviews
1.0 mi away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#8 of 87 in Torquay
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hudson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudson Hotel

Property: Hudson Hotel
Address: 545 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hudson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 250 metres from Torquay harbour, our guest house provides superb quality bed and breakfast accommodation just a short distance from a bustling array of shops, restaurants and bars. There are 10 spacious bedrooms, each with a stylish shower room, digital TV, seating and coffee/tea facility. Free wi-fi is available to all guests. This superb venue has recently been awarded FOUR-STAR status by Enjoy England. A fully licensed hotel, we are able to provide a wide range of wines, beers and spirits for you to enjoy in our sizeable bar or while relaxing on our raised front patio, taking in the views across Torwood Gardens. The bar will also be open to the public on Saturday evenings from 5pm during the summer season (April to October). Accommodation prices start at just £27.50 per person, per night. There is guaranteed free car parking available for every hotel room (one car per room). Breakfast is served between 8.30am and 9.30am, starting with tea or coffee, fruit juice, toast, cereals and fresh fruit, followed by your choice of full English or continental breakfast (special diets catered for). We are a gay friendly hotel. Our guest house does not have family rooms and we do not take children under 12 years of age. No pets allowed. Groups by prior arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hudson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hudson Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing