We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice clean hotel”
Review of The Bahamas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bahamas
Ranked #99 of 148 Torquay B&B and Inns
Hornchurch, Esse
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice clean hotel”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Just returned from a two night stay a the bahamas, our room was lovely and very modern with a very nice bathroom. We stayed in the deluxe room which had a lounge with a flat screen tv and sofa and a bedroom with a small flat screen tv. Our view was over the car park and our sisters room was over a small back yard so neither pretty but we weren't there to spend time in the hotel! Breakfast was very nice and well presented and the owners were welcoming.
It is about a 15 minute walk to the harbour or £5 in a cab which was very reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Essexfamily_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    30
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
56
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Great wee hotel in a quiet area , added benefits is the fact it's got it's car park. Lovely clean rooms , really good value. Defo would go back.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feeshols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
150 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012 via mobile

Visited Torquay with my mum for a couple of days for mothers day weekend. We had a lovely stay clean comfy beds & bathroom. Friendly hosts & nice atmosphere. Breakfast was filling & tasty. Positioned a quick walk to the seafront and on the flat easy to get to and from. Will recommend and certainly stay again.





Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fiona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northants
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We have just spent a very comfortable weekend at the Bahamas.
We found the room on Laterooms.com and booked the room on a buy two nights get one fee basis, which we thought was a very good deal.
We arrived to a very warm welcome from John and shown to a very comfortable and inviting room. There was a cosy kingsize bed with lovley crisp white bedlinen, a good sized TV, tea and coffee making faciites........and biscuits and an en-suite with fluffy white towels and plenty of hot water.
Breakfast was delicious, fruit, cereals, a choice of cooked breakfasts including kippers and fresh brewed coffee and tea.
The Bahamas is a nice fifteen minute walk into the centre of Torquay and beautiful beaches and very central for visiting other Devon attractions.
John and Sonia offer a very warm welcome and we will certainly be visiting them again in the summer.

Room Tip: We booked a Superior room, which was very quiet, and comfortable (room 8)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliciousNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
Level Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

I had a business meeting in Torquay and my hubby and I decided to roll it into a few days break. We found a good deal on Laterooms.com for the Bahamas and it suited us perfectly. Right from the start the communication and welcome from the owners John and his wife Sonia was really attentive and helpful. We found the hotel easily enough following the description on their website and were greeted in a very friendly fashion. John gave us a local map on which he pointed out local sights that he thought would interest us - he was spot on, we loved them all! We really liked the personal touch that the local info added to our trip. the hotel itself has charm, we dislike modern 'travelodge' style hotels and the Bahamas has a real traditional feel to it. Our bedroom was not huge but more than adequate. It was very clean, modern, nicely decorated and had a lovely bathroom with a walk in shower and lovely fluffly very white towels Also the toiletries were good quality and plentiful which I liked very much. We were in room 2 which was on the ground floor and looked out onto the front drive but as the hotel is set back from the road, it was really quiet. The double bed was very comfortable and the bedding was lovely and clean and very nice quality. Tea and Coffee making facilities were topped up with adequate supplies every time we used them. The weather was really cold when we were visiting and the heating in the room also impressed us, we were toasty and warm in the room! We had full Dorset breakfast each day plus cereals and juice and it was very nice, we especially liked the honey roast Devon sausages! I did struggle a bit with the WiFi and found it worked perfectly in the lounge but was a bit slow in the bedroom. All in all a fine little hotel with attentive hosts - perfect for a short break. Convenient for the town and public transport should you not wish to use your car. We had a really nice time and loved the recommendations for places to visit and eat from John and Sonia.

Room Tip: We liked room 2 on the ground floor, very convenient and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank makoshr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Eventually we pulled up their drive way...a very well concealed drive way with poor signage (certainly at night). The initial appearance of the Bahamas was quite austere and unwelcoming.
We entered the establishment only to find a lack of reception area, receptionist, hotelier or anything by way of a welcome. We had to telephone the Bahamas to try to reach somebody...anybody. Somebody, (possibly John, introductions were lacking) rounded the corner ..stopped dead in his tracks and said 'Oh, I didnt expect to see you there' and continued passed me to the front door. The stay didn't improve much thereafter. We signed in, paid and were shown a local map that he circled 3 places on and then showed us the 'brochure rack'.

We were shown to our room, a large room numbered 7. The room was reasonably decorated, possibly newly decorated but using a budget range. No choice of tea in the complimentary tea tray..no alternative to nescafe coffee...no hot chocolate or mineral water or biscuits. There was no information pack in the room, just a small A5 sized frame next to the toilet detailing some of the hotels policies/services. The bed was hard and actually a twin zipped together which I really isn't ideal unless you are the hotelier. The bathroom had a plumbing problem, the water drained very very slowly from the shower and the toilet had a very unattractive motor attached to it, churning up waste once flushed. A small sign was present on the tile behind and above the tank, asking guests not to deposit sanitary items in the toilet, but NEGLECTED to provide any sanitary disposal bags!

Breakfast, the window of opportunity was a megre 45 mintues, 8.30 to 9.15, hardly relaxing when away on a weekend break. Was it worth the rush down at 9.10? Not really, the greeting was nearly as dull as the breakfast rooms decor. This was only surpassed by the horribly dated bar area and let's not even discuss the lounge. In all honestly it looked like the last senior citizen had recently passed and they were waiting for a charity to come and collect the old furniture.

Cold, unfriendly, unwelcoming, creepy, erie, poor poor poor. The same gentleman couldn't even hold the door open for us as we struggled out with our cases on departure. Avoid this place...infact avoid Torquay...what a tired looking town it is. Babblecombe was much much nicer. For the record, i'm prone to giving good and bad critique, both are important and when I managed a hotel in SW London for 14 years constructive criticism was key to the hotel was were running.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pinksinnit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Very clean accomodation, good breakfast, friendly attentive staff (family owned), plenty of off road parking, very nice room, I have used this guest hose before and will again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thornewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#31 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
1.1 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#49 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#7 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brooklands
Brooklands
#104 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bahamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bahamas

Property: The Bahamas
Address: 17 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bahamas 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bahamas is a family run guest house hotel offering a friendly, relaxed and informal atmosphere for couples, families and the business traveller. The hotel offers a range of bedrooms all of which have full en-suite facilities, digital TV, free broadband internet access, individually controlled central heating and complimentary toiletries and tea & coffee making facilities. The hotel offers quality guest accommodation operating on a bed & breakfast basis, with ample free parking for all hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Bahamas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahamas Hotel Torquay
The Bahamas Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing