We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tonys view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yardley Manor Hotel
Ranked #50 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed August 25, 2013

On the booking form the room was stated as a Superior Double or Twin room with Sea view.
Well I would not consider the room as Superior in anyway it was standard. The sea view description was misleading and a play on words the only view of the sea was a small triangle of sea in the distance miles away in between the buildings, we expected to have a ( view of the sea ) from our window as described.
The Hotel seemed to be going through some kind of maintenance problem it was very untidy the presentation was not good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
There are newer reviews for Yardley Manor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 365 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

we stay in a b & b over the road. but the Yardley manor made us feel very welcome in there bar. and we even took our dog in there to. very friendly and helpful. we will go back again. We will be back and so will the dog.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights from the 18th August, and cannot fault the place. The hotel has a homely feel and the staff were great. The hotel is located about 5 mins from town which is ideal. Breakfast was fantastic, and the rooms were spotless. Improvement works are ongoing within the hotel, and cannot wait to see the finishing look.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnathan1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed here with my husband and son in a triple room, and our daughter and boyfriend in a double. Yes there is work going on, but the owner Steve has many great ideas for the place, and as ever it all takes time. Rooms were lovely, sea view over the rooftops, daughters room had a leak through the ceiling but soon got fixed. Used the bar. where Jackie, Steve and family and the locals are very, very friendly, made my son feel very at home, even letting him play the drums.

I didn't have breakfast, but my husband asked for a bacon and egg sandwich and orange juice for me, and it was made and wrapped in foil, and he bought them up when they had finished their breakfast, it wasn't a problem at all to do that.

Ideal location, very quiet and just a five minute walk to the harbour.

I would definitely stay there again, iit would be a real pleasure to see Steve and Jackie again. At last no more looking round for a decent hotel!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

When we got there we were later than planned, the sign says guaranteed parking and the lad found us a place but had to block the family cars in, not an issue, we were given room 24 with a seaview - a free upgrade - yes the toilet seat wobbly, yes cracks in tiles, shower was fine, bed was lovely and plenty of tea and coffee.
Breakfast was great, freshly cooked as you ordered it and plenty with the cereal and toast. But dont go down before 8.30am they wont let you in, which caused great humour between us all waiting on the first morning, especially when someone else tried and the door had been locked.
We used the bar for a drink and yes the owner was definately tipsy, but everyone welcoming and chatty which was lovely even if they did tease that I had been boxing due to my hand bandaged up. My husband used the bar every evening and was more than happy lol
Yes there is work in progress around the hotel, and furniture stacked in the front entrance area which was a little strange, and items stacked under the stairs where you go down for breakfast, and yes the damp patch in the ceiling. The view from our window is nice out over the rooftops to the sea, but I have to ask guys what is the hole in the garden? That is slightly strange, it looks full of rubbish.
Overall if I had to describe this hotel to someone I would say, imagine you are having to go visit your batty relatives, the one who likes a drink, the house is battered around the edges and you are not sure about it, but when you get there they have done everything they can to make you feel welcome and provide you with what you need, that is Yardley Manor. We loved it guys and would visit again.

Room Tip: When booking state need lower floor room if you have problems climbing stairs.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenson0412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The hotel is a family run concern which is nice but is definitely work in progress. We look forward to seeing the improvements made in 2 or 3 years. The reason we are not giving a better grading than average is the frightening scenario of the electrics with trailing sockets and hanging wires in prominent places.
We have to say though that we honestly had the BEST 3-course evening meal we had had out in a long time, with plenty of vegetables and the starter of prawn cocktail was delicious with plenty of prawns very nicely presented on a square place rather than a tiny brandy glass as appears to be the norm at a lot of places.

Room Tip: If have physical problems be aware that there is not a lift, otherwise you may have to tramp up 2 fu...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve076388, Owner at Yardley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for submitting your review, especially the comments on the meal together with your scoring which is very encouraging for the hotel, it troubles me though that you indicate that the hotel is electrically dangerous saying “frightening scenario”, these comments could and possibly would deter guests reading this review from booking. What are your electrical qualifications to place a disturbing accusation to others about the state of the wiring!! you have indicated that you are a senior reviewer and these reviewers like to have their voice heard and comments read. But what troubles me is the lack of knowledge and only an assumption which can destroy a hotels reputation on flippant remarks.

before the main holiday season (and again after), we have been busy refurbishing the hotel carefully and within budgets room by room, the electrical installation is gradually being rewired and therefore in some areas (public areas) cables are seen coming through newly plaster boarded ceiling (new emergency lighting installation cables).. We are rewiring the hotel ourselves in which saves money but takes a little longer to carry out,
I personally know that the wiring you mentioned is totally safe as I am a Technician Electrician (C course) which is highly regarded in the industry with over 34 years of wiring experience in running my own contracting company which covered 14th edition of the regs to the 17th edition, both my Sons are in the Electrical business one is an Electrical electronic Technician BTec and the other is a improver Electrician seventeenth addition BS7671( both are currently working with their apprentice generated skills),

If you had concerns then it would have been better to come and see me at reception where I would have put your mind at rest on any risks or concerns that you had rather than make rash damaging comments on the review which really does not help.
I hope I have cleared up any misunderstandings and have demonstrated that the wiring in the hotel is completely safe.
Regards
Steve (owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Nobody at reception you have to ring bell and wait, worst place I have ever stayed in. Cobwebs hanging from ceiling, bedside lamp not working, shower door hanging off and had to hold shower up whilst trying to wash hair as it did not stay up on its own. Broken floor tiles and toilet seat. Damp patches on walls and this was advertised as a superior room (room 24). So put off by the hotel could not bring ourselves to go for breakfast even though it was included so was out the door by 8am !. As we left the hotel there was water pouring through the ceiling. So how it got a certificate of excellence from trip advisor I will never no !

Room Tip: Not room 24!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
8  Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve076388, Owner at Yardley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Sara, let me explain the hotels view on your review, you are correct, we do not have someone at reception 24/7. From 1pm daily staff working the bar also checks guests in until 8pm, they will be alerted by the bell push and make their way to check in, greet guests and pass them the room key card and pass over information. The hotels policy is quite clear on this, we do not believe it is necessary to have someone hanging about when the bar staff (all working Family) can double up and do both jobs. There is always someone at the bar between 1pm and 11pm if you do not wish to press a call button. After 11pm the call button is for emergencies until 7am.

You checked in and then placed a “do not disturb “ on your door for the full duration of your stay, You left without informing us of any issues you had nor did you tell us about the problems in your room.
We entered the room to change over for the next guest on your day of checkout, we were also met by a cobweb as you were, the offending arachnid’s bag was packed and we have moved him on, his web was also demolished as we have a strict policy that planning applications need to be submitted before erection of webs.
The shower door was swinging out when door was pulled from the bottom runners and this was also fixed (we would have fixed it should we have been told that you accidently pulled it from the runner). Accidents happen. We tried the shower head slider and this worked, you need to tighten the slider for it to stop sliding, the lamp also worked beside the bed although we had to turn it on from the socket outlet!,
There are tiles that need to be replaced within the en-suite, these have been cracked by past guests recently and we cannot get the tiles replaced until September (two weeks) when there is enough time between guests booking in that room to get the work carried out, for now on we have placed a bathroom mat over the tiles that are cracked this was so when you stayed in that room. No one will die or be infected with a nasty disease from the hair line cracked tiles, it is only a cosmetic issue the tiles are always cleaned on changeover, We hold our hands up on this as the works cannot be carried out for a few weeks and bathroom floor carpet is a temporary measure that works. The toilet seat was slightly loose (this happens as the bolts are plastic and tend to loosen quicker than metal) we tightened the bolts within a few seconds; again we could have done this while you were staying.

I don’t think that you gave the hotel any chance to redeem itself on any of the issues you have stated, spiders make webs, guests while staying cause minor accidents sitting on seats making the bolts loose, accidently pulling shower doors off runners etc. if you wanted to go earlier you would have, but I surmise that you stayed for the full duration kept a “do not disturb” on the door, left quickly at 8am as you didn’t want to be seen because of the blame of damage and then decide to criticise the room hotel as a front in case you are charged for damage. The hotel does not work like that and we always ask guests to let us know, we are here to help. Oh and lastly there are no damp patches on walls within your room, although a guest left the shower running in a room below you which did overflow and came through the reception ceiling as their flannel blocked the waste (probably when you were running off at 8am) , the guest apologised, we mopped up and no one was blamed or charged although we have a repair to make on our reception ceiling, again this will be carried out in September, nine out of ten times issues and damage within a hotel are the making of the guests and spiders, its up to the Hoteliers and the staff to mop things up and get the hotel back up and running, they should not be critisised unless it is Warranted

Regards

Steve (owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#30 of 87 in Torquay
589 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Palms Hotel
The Palms Hotel
#48 of 87 in Torquay
15 reviews
1.1 mi away
Elmington Hotel
Elmington Hotel
#44 of 87 in Torquay
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#26 of 87 in Torquay
123 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Hotel Balmoral
The Hotel Balmoral
#18 of 87 in Torquay
571 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#22 of 87 in Torquay
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yardley Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yardley Manor Hotel

Address: Museum Road, Torquay TQ1 1DW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range: $70 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yardley Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Yardley Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yardley Manor Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing