We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Somerville
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$173
$135
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Imperial Torquay(Torquay)
$133
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$132
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$122
$101
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cimon(Torquay)
$105
$101
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yardley Manor Hotel(Torquay)(Great Value!)
$71
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$151
$146
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,153)
Filter reviews
1,154 results
Traveler rating
1,118
32
3
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,118
32
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden suitefresh milkb bevery afternoonlittle touchesroll top baththoughtful toucheshome made cakescomfortable bedfirst classhigh standardbreakfast was amazingsecond to nonelittle gembottled waterwarm welcomefull english
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
502 - 507 of 1,154 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed only for 2 days unfortunately. We were treated like Royalty. The cleanliness was top notch, the shower was really big and very good, we even had bath robes on the back of the door! The food was wonderful, from the lovely fresh cake when we arrived, to the most superb breakfast, easily comparable to a top class hotel. Adam and Grant were also such pleasant hosts and made us feel at home. All in all ABsolutely FABulous!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We had a lovely stay at The Somerville last week. The rooms were cosy, and lovingly decorated. We really love food, and breakfast was delicious, especially the bacon. The staff were really friendly and kind, and recommended places for us to visit, and amazing local restaurants. I would definitely recommend The Somerville.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa8232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Our third visit in twelve months. The Somerville has it all; charming hosts, excellent location, lovely decor, delicious breakfasts, luxuriously comfy beds and every little amenity one might need. The thoughtful touches even extended to a personalised Mother's Day gift on Sunday. Thank you so much Grant and Adam, we'll be back again soon!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank bookish24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

So wonderful to make it back yet again. This is such a super place for self indulgence and to be pampered. Room 12; the garden room is worth treating yourselves to with doors out to a terrace and access to the spacious car park. All the other rooms are of a very high standard too. Fantastic service and the breakfasts are amazing. Wonderful choice, superbly cooked and presented. Thank you all at The Somerville. Hope to get back soon..kindest regards Dave n Paula.

Room Tip: They are all to a high standard. The Garden Suite room12 has a terrace to sit out on.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavenPaulaSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Food is amazing, a great continental and a delicious selection of cooked breakfast. Room 7 is a good size with an amazing En-Suite with a high bath and a TV at the end of the bath. Big expensive mirrors, beds and tv's. Extremely comfortable, good temperature and nice and quiet.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews