We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Somerville
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hudson Hotel(Torquay)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Barton(Torquay)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Peppers(Torquay)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,150)
Filter reviews
1,150 results
Traveler rating
1,114
32
3
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,114
32
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden suitefresh milkb bevery afternoonlittle touchesroll top baththoughtful toucheshome made cakescomfortable bedfirst classhigh standardbreakfast was amazingsecond to nonelittle gembottled waterwarm welcomefull english
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
541 - 546 of 1,150 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We spent 3 nights at The Somerville to celebrate our Silver Wedding, we were made very welcome by Grant on our arrival who gave us loads of information on where to go and what to do. We stayed in the Garden Suite, wow wow wow! This gave us 3 beautiful rooms full of lovely little touches as well as the garden all to ourselves with the exception of Oscar & Hector (the family dogs). The wonderful breakfast served by Adam each morning exceeded anything we have experienced in any 5 Star hotel.
I would recommend this lovely small hotel to anyone who is thinking of visiting Torquay, but beware, once you have been, nowhere else will live up to the quality or the welcome you will receive from Adam and Grant.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Clean, comfortable and very welcoming, we particularly enjoyed the breakfasts.An easy walk to the harbour and plenty of excellent restaurants nearby. Owners very knowledgeable about the local area offering ideas of things to do, the restaurant guide in the room is a hoot!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Warm welcome with wonderfully presented & immaculately clean room with quality furnishings and the little touches we all love like sweets, bottled water, fridge, iron & board, toiletries. Breakfast was sublime with a wide choice of fresh fruits, cereals, pastries and hot choices all accompanied by excellent service from the well trained staff. Watch out for the afternoon treats as once you've tasted the cookies you head back for more. The on site parking has space for all the guests and the location, whilst up a slight incline, is perfect as the town is less than 5 minutes walk. Adam & Grant go the extra mile for their guests and are a happy to provide advice on where to eat, places to see and we even heard them offering to order a taxi for guests to collect a hire car. We are already planning a return visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 118T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My Wife and I have just returned from our stay at the Somerville.

I had read some of the reviews before we went.

People wrote about the friendliness of the staff, how clean and well-kept the rooms are.

It is all true

We were greeted and helped in with our suit cases, told about the local attraction’s in the area and shown to our room

Cookies laid out for the guests to help themselves, sweets in the room,

The selection of food at breakfast is fantastic, i am a vegetarian and there was ample on the menu for me to choose from.

Whilst we were at breakfast a lady was eating alone ,One a the staff greeted her and took the time to ask her what she had planned for today and helped her with directions to the place she was to visit. Very helpful l, but not intrusive.

When we checked out Grant chatted to us about a number of topics, No rush to get us out the door and get the next guests in

I would defiantly stay here again .Keep up the great standards you all make the stay pleasurable

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonTosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay and is in a good location as it is walking distance to the town. My husband and I stayed here last weekend and had a delightful experience. The décor and service were both excellent. We were made to feel very welcome and we both felt that this guest house goes the extra mile for its customers. The attention to detail is fantastic and its the extra touches that really make the difference. My husband and I have stayed in quite a few different guest houses and this is by far the best we have ever seen!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews