We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long Weekend at Somerville”
Review of The Somerville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Somerville
Ranked #4 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Our second stay at Somerville, So welcoming and comfortable, nothing too much trouble.
Absolutely spotless accomodation. We can't think of anything more we would have needed.
Fresh fruit, fresh milk and biscuits available in addition to usual tea making facilities.
Good choice for breakfast and superbly cooked and presented. Love all the decor and furnishing. quite close to Tourquay centre just a short walk. Adam, Grant and staff so welcoming.
Perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

587 - 593 of 1,116 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

Can't fault this place at all, we stayed in the Torwood Suite for a weekend away and the room was beautiful, well equipped too with tea and coffee making facilities plus some cookies and fresh milk can be found down stairs which is nice touch. The bathroom comes well stocked with some very nice herbal toiletries.
The breakfast was probably the nicest B&B breakfast I've had it's lots of choice on the hot food which is freshly prepared for you plus the buffet for fruit, cereals and stuff, the staff were friendly and very attentive.
We will definitely be returning in the summer to stay here, can see why this place has won so many awards.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Dawnrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamFromTorquay, Owner at The Somerville, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we're obviously delighted that you enjoyed it so much that you're planning a return in the summer.

Obviously, Torquay has lots to offer in the summer months but for those who can't wait that long, Easter is fast approaching. We have some offers covering the Easter period and these can be found on our website......... oh and we have stocked up on some chocolate for our guests ....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

My partner decided to treat me to a mystery trip for my Birthday. We arrived at the Somerville, I was gobsmacked. It is beautiful. I cannot believe it is a B and B , I have been in hotels that could not offer the standard of service , that we found.
The suite was elegant, the breakfast sublime, the service such a high standard. It was the little touches that made it even more special.
The little personal touch from Adam and Grant, who found out it was my birthday made the visit even more special.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Belinda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is the most perfect place to stay. We were made so welcome and felt so at home and not just another guest. The rooms are wonderfully appointed. All the little touches you never get anywhere else. Just a short walk from the town centre, up the hill from the harbour. I suffer from serious knee problems but did not have any problems walking up and down so its not that bad a climb. This was our second visit in 3 weeks, can't wait to go back. Adam and Grant are the perfect hosts and keep a spotlessly clean and very comfortable hotel/b&b. Its great to be able to leave the car with them and enjoy the town and local area.

Room Tip: We have tried the courtyard suite and also number 4 suite (not sure what it was called) both are sup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terry-vron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We're just spent a lovely long weekend at the Somerville. Not to be too boring, I'm afraid we have to agree with the vast majority of the reviewers. This really is a beautifully appointed, warm and hospitable place to spend the weekend. A great location - just up the hill from the harbour - great for aerobic exercise!! The breakfasts were fabulous - I loved the choice of starters before the hot breakfast. The reviews for the restaurants were spot on and we enjoyed 3 excellent meals at Number 7 (Fish Restaurant), Gemellis (Italian) and Henesseys. The room was as warm as toast, just what we needed for the Siberian blast outside!! Please read the reviews below for more details with which we concur whole heartedly.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olive56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Fantastic 2 night stay at the Somerville. The warm welcome continued throughout our stay and we were made to feel as if we were in our own home. Absolutely stunning room and delicious breakfast. Lovely finishing touches including home-made cookies and fresh milk. Really couldn't fault the Somervlle or our stay, absolutely outstanding. Cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We found the accommodation to be of a very high standard. Small touches such as sweets in your room, free cakes and cookies during the day and complimentary bottled water in your room all added to the experience. Breakfast is excellent with a wide range of options made with locally sourced produce. Staff were attentive and could not do enough for guests. We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizandjim1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,121 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Redholme B&B
The Redholme B&B
#3 of 149 in Torquay
521 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Charterhouse
The Charterhouse
#5 of 149 in Torquay
812 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#7 of 149 in Torquay
430 reviews
1.2 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 149 in Torquay
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Somerville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Somerville

Address: 515 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $92 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Somerville 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Somerville has many accolades including Devon B&B of the year for 2012/13 and recently received "Highly Commended" in Best B&B in vist South -West Awards. Centrally located with its own private car park and grounds. Choose from a standard room or lovely Deluxe rooms and spacious Suites; it's the ideal choice for both business travellers and leisure guests wanting a relaxing luxury break. The Somerville offers guests free parking and free wifi and extended breakfast times at weekends.Recently voted In Trivagos top 10 B&B`s in UK for value for money ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Somerville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Somerville Hotel Torquay
Somerville Hotel Torquay
The Somerville Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing