We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Friendly Service and a Great Room”
Review of The Somerville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Somerville
Ranked #4 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here for two nights on a wet January weekend in 2013.
The accommodation really made our stay, what a lovely B and B - far better than most Hotels in truth. The Host was friendly and welcoming, and our room was great. We had a deluxe room, which had a lovely modern bathroom and shower. The whole suite was scrupulously clean.
My girlfriend loved the glass of sweets by the bed, a different variety each night! Also lovely fresh cookies available in reception, gratis.
Bed big and comfy, a great choice of freshly cooked hot breakfasts and a lovely buffet bar.
Only a short walk down to the harbour, and if you are eating out make sure you go to Amici's Italian Restaurant which is just down the hill on the left.
You definitely get what you pay for. We will be staying again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeeGee72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

605 - 611 of 1,113 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

This was a b'day treat for my husband & we couldn't have asked for a more romantic & cosy room. Eveything has been well thought out making you feel @ home from the start. Chocolates @ the door on arrival, chilled milk in the fridge as an when required along with fresh fruit & cookies. Mini fridge with mineral water (supplied daily). Ipod dock in the room also free view flat screen TV. Very good quality bathroom products. The breakfast was amazing plenty of choice using local produce & nothing was too much trouble. Adam & Grant were the perfect hosts offering plenty of knowledge of the local area.
The Somerville has to be one of the best places we have every stayed & we are sure to return very soon!!

Room Tip: Ask for room No3 with the small court yard garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank desju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We have just returned from an overnight stay at The Somervile for a birthday treat. It was the perfect choice. We live in Devon and chose Torquay purely as we were visiting the theatre there and wanted to be able to walk. The Somerville was perfectly positioned to explore Torquay seafront and town. The atmoshere was calm, relaxed and very stylish. As it was a quiet winter weekend we were upgraded to the Torwood Suite which was wonderful. Extremely comfortable and well thought out. There was a small fridge for my wine and proper wine glasses to enjoy it in!! Fresh milk available for you teas and coffees etc. Great shower and quality bathroom products. Central heating very efficient (we left snow at home before heading to the coast!), if anything we should have turned it down as the bedroom was warmer than we are used to. I very much hope to return to The Somerville (if I ever manage to drag my man away from the farm again!).

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HillFarmJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamFromTorquay, Owner at The Somerville, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Thank you for such an appreciative review and we're delighted that you enjoyed yourselves so much. Even in the depths of our cold winter it is worth remembering that Torquay is always going to be warmer than just about anywhere else in the UK and that even if you don't fancy being outside there is still plenty to do inside.

The theatre is a real bonus and still to come over the next few months are Dolly Parton's 9 to 5 and Priscilla Queen of The Desert. AND don't forget we can get our guests fee free tickets for all performances....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This is my third stay at the Somerville.

The welcome was warm and friendly as always.

All of the small touches make this hotel a cut above the rest (hence the review title).

From the I-Pod dock in my room, special treats at breakfast, and local products in the bathrooms, to the five star individual decor in the room.

I travel an awful lot and have seen the inside of many a different hotel over the years. This one is a home away from home and I can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cat160282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This was our first time at the Somerville but it wont be the last. We had three nights B & B in a beautiful room with superb on-suite bathroom. The breakfast was frankly perfect. Apart from an excellent cooked "English" there was a wide variety of home made poached fruit, muesli and even posset. On a simple note, the Somerville has good car parking, free wi-fi that works and is in easy walking to town centre.

Room Tip: Check the website
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We have returned to the Somerville for the 2nd time to celebrate NYE! Couldn't have wished for a better experience on every level! We stayed in a newly refurbished suite, which was beautiful, with outstanding design features and 5 star luxury. The owners are exceptionally hospitable, helpful and go to great lengths to make your stay a memorable one! The breakfast is also amazing...a beautiful buffet, an incredible full English, and best eggs benedict EVER!!! Already planning our next visit...wouldn't want to stay anywhere else, and would highly reccomend The Somerville to everyone!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emnsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamFromTorquay, Owner at The Somerville, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

We're delighted that you continue to enjoy your visits to The Somerville and you can rest assured that we continue to strive to introduce new things to surprise and delight our guests.

Lots of things are already being planned for Torquay and The English Riviera for 2013 including a big celebration of Paignton Zoo's 90th birthday. Also, renovations on the seafront continue which will considerably smarten up the promenade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This was our 3rd visit to this hotel and it just gets better. This time we booked a suite and it was absoutely lovely. Big comfy bed, lounge area, gorgeous bathroom, with bath and shower. Everywhere is spotlessly clean and the breakfasts are the best we have ever had. The staff are welcoming and very helpful. There is also a car park which in itself is a bonus.

Room Tip: All the rooms we have stayed in have been lovely but the suire was the nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,078 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Redholme B&B
The Redholme B&B
#3 of 149 in Torquay
517 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Charterhouse
The Charterhouse
#5 of 149 in Torquay
810 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#6 of 149 in Torquay
430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kingsholm Hotel
Kingsholm Hotel
#8 of 149 in Torquay
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Somerville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Somerville

Address: 515 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $95 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Somerville 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Somerville has many accolades including Devon B&B of the year for 2012/13 and recently received "Highly Commended" in Best B&B in vist South -West Awards. Centrally located with its own private car park and grounds. Choose from a standard room or lovely Deluxe rooms and spacious Suites; it's the ideal choice for both business travellers and leisure guests wanting a relaxing luxury break. The Somerville offers guests free parking and free wifi and extended breakfast times at weekends.Recently voted In Trivagos top 10 B&B`s in UK for value for money ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Somerville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Somerville Hotel Torquay
Somerville Hotel Torquay
The Somerville Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing