We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bliss!”
Review of The Somerville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Somerville
Ranked #4 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Suberb luxurious boutique hotel. Elegant, stylish and atmospheric. Adam and Grant are great hosts! Quality breakfast! We thoroughly enjoyed it. We look forward to returning one day.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

693 - 699 of 1,114 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful weekend at The Somerville. We trawled through the web for hours to find the perfect place to stay and that is when we came across The Somerville, after reading all of the glowing reviews we decided to book our long weekend here.

We arrived very late on Friday evening, not that you would think it was late because of the friendly welcome that we received from the warm and very accommodating staff.

The Somerville was just perfect, from location to comfort, from the delicious breakfast to the unique decoration and flawless service. We would thoroughly recommend this place to friends and family and will most certainly stay here again.

Thank you so much for such an enjoyable stay.

Mr & Mrs Hayward

p.s. We stayed in the Garden Suite and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Definitely recommend the Garden Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank siany011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

I had read all the good comment before we arrived at the Somerville and thought it couldnt be that good, but believe me it was what everyone said and more. We upgraded to the Garden suite and definitely worth it, pure luxury, lovely bath, with Telly at the end. The attention to detail is fantastic. From the jelly babies at side of your bed, from the restaurant recommendations, to the cookies and the fresh milk. The room was spotlessly clean and the bed was amazing. Breakfast were very good, with a great selection. I cant recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenvine32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Lovely welcome on arrival. Beautiful rooms, spotless and thoughful attention to detail. Breakfast excellent. Stay in the Sommerville Suite if you want extra space and a TV over the bath.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xtcfan1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We were made very welcome and it's the little extras that make this an superb B&B. Fresh milk, cookies, jelly beans, nice toiletries, superb breakfast and outstanding hosts in Adam and Grant.

Room Tip: The garden Suite has the benefit of it's own terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Our stay here was as part of a family group, for a long weekend stay.

The Somerville is well located for the centre of Torquay. It is a 10 minute walk from the centre of town, and is very accessible by car with off street parking at the side of the property for guests.

The service at this B+B is excellent, with thoughtful touches throughout. The rooms are well decorated, although some are on the small side and roadside rooms a bit noisy. The beds and linen are extremely comfortable. Bathrooms include shower units, and excellent Arran Aromatics soaps and gels.

The breakfasts were very good, and cooked to order, not plated to order from pre-cooked food. Peanut butter was not available for my children, and a fresh full jar arrived promptly for breakfast the next morning. That kind of service marks this property out as being at the top of its league.

I would not recommend this for families. The collection of art-deco ornaments and other decorations is enough to put a nervous parent into a flat-spin, and there is only one small public room (apart from the dining room). This would make it difficult to entertain children by doing anything other than watching tv/bouncing on the beds.

Overall however this is an excellent B+B, and I would have no hesitation in recommending it to anybody looking for such a property in Torquay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pzfus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerville515, Owner at The Somerville, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

With regards the road noise, i should point out that we only have two rooms facing the road at the front. Both are double glazed and we rarely ever get complaints from guests about noise. (This might also be because our beds are so comfortable you just cannot help but have a good night's sleep.) In addition becuase we are set back from the road we tend to enjoy all the benefits of being in the centre of town without most of the negatives that go along with it.

I'm sorry that you were so worried about your children damaging things. We have always taken children and in the eight years we have been here we have not had any damage caused by youingsters. (which is more than can be said for some adults!!!).

In terms of things to do. We are a B&B and so will not have a swimming pool or tennis courts etc on site but we are excellently placed for the wonderful attractions in the Bay including Paignton Zoo, Kent's Cavern, Steam Trains, Boat Trips etc not to mention our large number of award winning beaches. All of which beat watching TV .... or indeed bouncing on beds!!

Summer's now arrived on The English Riviera so now is an excellent time to visit whatever your age. What's stopping you??

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed here the beginning of February, unfortunately it could have been a better time than being in Torquay for a funeral, but the hotel was fantastic, the hosts were lovely and the 2 dachshunds are adorable, seriously recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GA42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,082 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Redholme B&B
The Redholme B&B
#3 of 149 in Torquay
519 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Charterhouse
The Charterhouse
#5 of 149 in Torquay
811 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#6 of 149 in Torquay
430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kingsholm Hotel
Kingsholm Hotel
#8 of 149 in Torquay
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Somerville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Somerville

Address: 515 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $96 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Somerville 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Somerville has many accolades including Devon B&B of the year for 2012/13 and recently received "Highly Commended" in Best B&B in vist South -West Awards. Centrally located with its own private car park and grounds. Choose from a standard room or lovely Deluxe rooms and spacious Suites; it's the ideal choice for both business travellers and leisure guests wanting a relaxing luxury break. The Somerville offers guests free parking and free wifi and extended breakfast times at weekends.Recently voted In Trivagos top 10 B&B`s in UK for value for money ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Orbitz so you can book your The Somerville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Somerville Hotel Torquay
Somerville Hotel Torquay
The Somerville Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing