We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Experienced Torquay Visitors - Loved The Haven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Haven House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Haven House
Ranked #75 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Birmingham, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Experienced Torquay Visitors - Loved The Haven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2006

I have visited Torquay many times in the last 12 years and must say that The Haven Hotel is one of the best kept, cleanest and most friendly places I have stayed.

I visited with my wife on 18th August for a long weekend and we were made most welcome. Mandi, the proprietor, was waiting for us on the doorstep. Not like the old landlady's of the past I hasten to add, but with a smile as we were running later than we anticipated. The hotel is in a handy location, pretty close to the train station, and 5 minutes walk downhill to the sea and 10 minutes to the harbour.

When we looked on a map we chose The Haven as we liked the location as it was out of the busy sea front area, as we were looking for some peace and quiet. However, be aware that there are two large hotels opposite and on 2 mornings the coach drivers there were up very early!

Would I stay again? Most definately!

  • Liked — Modern light and airy rooms
  • Disliked — Car parking to the rear is a little tight
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Frankiethemutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    32
    10
    0
    5
See reviews for
13
94
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brecon, Mid Wales, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2006

We stayed at the Haven last night (2 adults and our 4 year old) and I have to agree with many of the other comments about this B & B. It is very clean, fresh, comfortable and stylish, with a friendly welcome and a very good breakfast.
We had a deluxe suite which had a comfy sofa and plenty of room and a really good bathroom.
The only suggestion I would make is the room was rather light which, for me, made it harder to sleep. The curtains were stylish, but let the morning light in before I was ready......this is my personal preference and may not bother some people. I must say though I recommend the Haven as a clean, stylish friendly place to stay in Torquay.

  • Liked — Clean, Welcoming, accomodating to children
  • Disliked — Thin curtains letting in light!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djdames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth,devon UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2006

mandi & berry very welcoming, rooms are decorated to a high standard & you feel nothing is too much trouble. will definately return.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
Thank kimmycan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2006

After a late arrival, due to car problems we were greeted with a friendly smile and a welcome beer.
This was just a sample of the service to come. Our (en suite) room was clean, fresh and maintained daily.
A hearty breakfast was supplied with a smile every day.
Parking bays to the rear of the property are available for residents in what is a busy area.
The Hotel is in the heart of Torquay & is ideally situated for town centre shopping, access to the waterfront and local routes.
Overall a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.0 mi away
Westbrook Guest House
Westbrook Guest House
#80 of 153 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Newburgh Guesthouse
Newburgh Guesthouse
#93 of 153 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Summerlands Guest House
Summerlands Guest House
#72 of 153 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Montana
The Montana
#40 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.4 mi away
Court Prior
Court Prior
#68 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haven House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haven House

Property: Haven House
Address: 11 Scarborough Road | (also known as Haven Hotel), Torquay TQ2 5UJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spotless and tastefully decorated family owned guest house. Situated in a quiet conservation area, we are a few minutes walk away from beach, theatre, harbour, shops and Riviera Centre. All rooms are en-suite, with all the usual refinements and freeview TV. To maintain a high standard of cleanliness, non smoking and no pet rules apply. A full breakfast is included along with free guest parking. The stunning Devon coastline, and delightful Dartmoor are on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Haven House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing