We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Hotel”
Review of Haven House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Haven House
Ranked #91 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2008

Everything the Haven claims and more... spotless, tastefully decorated and very friendly. No need for luncheon after one of Mandi's breakfasts - all in all highly recommended and excellent value. We will be returning soon; and Wi-fi too just the job!

Stayed: September 2008
Thank SpottySlippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 176 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2008

Had read great reviews about Haven House on Tripadvisor and so didn't hesitate to book my parents in for 5 nights late July; especially after I had spoken to Mandi on the phone who was very friendly and helpful.
Having spoken to my parents following their stay, you can understand why so many people feel the need to log a positive note on this site. Mandi is a gem and trys to do whatever is possible to make your stay a comfortable and enjoyable one.
My mother is a non meat eater and was provided with a special alternative breakfast each morning, meaning that she did not miss out. English is not my parents first language, but Mandi addressed all of their questions/requests in a friendly and courteous manner, making them feel very welcome.
Rooms are clean and well looked after, location is great.
All in all, worth every penny, Stop reading and BOOK NOW!!!

Stayed: July 2008
Thank FrequentTraveller70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2008

Arrived in Torquay on the hope of finding a place to stay, and there is always that thought will we find any where nice. Well to stop others searching just go straight to this B & B! The moment the door opened we were greeted with a smile and a warm welcome and shown a room and was in our view faultless. Best B & B we’ve stayed in and will/would definitely use again if were to visit the area.
Every thing was spotless, breakfast was great and asked what we would like the following day. Mandi goes to a lot of trouble to keep customers happy and is always smiling and friendly. The B & B is a nice and privately run and they care about there business which I like and we received individual treatment. I can’t say enough about this B & B and next time were planning a holiday in Torquay we will definitely be staying here. Top marks 10 out of 10.

Thankyou Mandi.

Dave and Rachael 1-5 July 2008 from Nottingham

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davey1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2008

Stayed for a 3 night weekend break, my wife recentley had an operation and needed a little break. This hotel fitted the bill. In a quiet location and yet not too far from Town/beach. With only 6 rooms it has a little personal touch. Very spotless and a credit to the management with a lovley english breakfast to start the day. A very BIG thanks to Mandi, who couldn't do enough for us. She really did want you to have a lovley stay........and we did. The only regret was not staying long enough..but as Arnie would say...I'll be back.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lordbucko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2008

just returned from haven house where a warm welcome awaits you clean rooms excellent breakfast good location and freandly landlady would recommend

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank artytom58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2008

We have just returned from a 4 night stay, lovely clean rooms with lots of nice touches. Breakfasts were first class home cooking, very friendly and helpful owner. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: April 2008
Thank thewomblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2008

. My wife had just come out of hospital and we needed peace, quiet and rest and we called the owners to explain our requirements before booking. Unfortunately we got none of this!! The room was noisy with late night revellers, traffic passing all night and coaches coming and going to the hotel opposite in the late and early hours. The room was also very cramped, hardly enough room to put our cases and move around the bed. The shower didn't even work. After a sleepless night we decided to cut our losses and move on. This is where things turned unpleasant. The owner insisted that we pay for three nights as that is what we had booked. We tried to negotiate and offered to pay for half the total cost. Unfortunately this was not good enough.
There are many lovely b&b's in Torquay. We are very surprised by all the positive reviews about this place. All in all I don't think we will be going back to Haven House.

Stayed: March 2008
2  Thank MandRLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtorkers, Owner at Haven House, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2008


On their own admission,, they said that there was nothing wrong with the room, clean, tidy etc and that as a host I was very helpful.
I cannot be held responsible for the outside traffic, but as soon as I knew there was a problem, I offered them another room, this was declined.
This reviewer won an ebay auction and therefore entered into a contract to pay for the break, (much reduced rate!). Any 'problem ' only arose when they refused to pay the contractual winning bid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,189 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#30 of 85 in Torquay
2,551 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Iona Torquay
The Iona Torquay
#56 of 149 in Torquay
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.9 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#48 of 85 in Torquay
368 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#8 of 85 in Torquay
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haven House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haven House

Address: 11 Scarborough Road | (also known as Haven Hotel), Torquay TQ2 5UJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $60 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spotless and tastefully decorated family owned guest house. Situated in a quiet conservation area, we are a few minutes walk away from beach, theatre, harbour, shops and Riviera Centre. All rooms are en-suite, with all the usual refinements and freeview TV. To maintain a high standard of cleanliness, non smoking and no pet rules apply. A full breakfast is included along with free guest parking. The stunning Devon coastline, and delightful Dartmoor are on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Haven House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing