We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic! Clean and friendly. :-D. BOOK HERE!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haven House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Haven House
Ranked #86 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
St Ives, Cornwall, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic! Clean and friendly. :-D. BOOK HERE!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

The owner Mandy was fantastic very welcoming and helpful. This was my first trip alone and instantly felt comfortable when I arrived and was greated so well. The breakfast was lovely and served quickly. The rooms are very clean light and airy. The bed was so comfortable. I would definately recommend this place to friends and family. When I return to Torquay I will definately be booking here again.

Room Tip: I had room 3 on the ground floor, nice and quiet. Lovely light room and the bed was so comfortable x
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtorkers, Owner at Haven House, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Omg, I did nothing, thank you for your time in writing such a lovely review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    32
    9
    0
    5
See reviews for
13
93
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Upon our arrival we were met by Mandi who was absolutely amazing. Friendly, polite, happy, caring and extremely professional. We were shown to our rooms one being used one for single occupancy and one for double, both absolutely spotless, would get a suite if available as there is much more room and only very minimal extra cost but extremely luxurious. Breakfast was amazing absolutely perfect. I made the mistake of googling the distance to the beach on google maps and it says 25 minute walk, we timed the walk and can assure you that it took 7 minutes. Lovely quiet location but short walk to many other restaurants and shops. Please don't take any notice of the couple of negative comments left on trip advisor I feel you will be missing an amazingly inexpensive, luxurious break. Thank you to Mandi and Berry for having such wonderful friendly, nothing too much attitudes. Nothing was too much trouble. xxxx

Room Tip: ground floor suite - fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dawn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtorkers, Owner at Haven House, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
What a super review. I totally thank you. You are so more than welcome to come again, love Mands xxxxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

The room was spotless and while the bathroom wasn't particularly large it was fine for my needs. The hostess was very friendly and offered sensible and considered suggestions on where to eat in the evenings and things to do both near and further afield. Breakfast was good - as much as I wanted and served quickly and cheerfully by the host. Having read the reviews before I booked I felt that from my experience of the stay it was a very good, comfortable B&B which I would recommend to others. It's a short walk from the front and the town centre and very reasonably priced - I'd stay again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtorkers, Owner at Haven House, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review....you were lovely guests and I sincerely hope that you will return.much love...Mands xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

lovely tidy and clean bedroom, tasty breakfast and plenty of it and a fab hostess :-) a nice location within walking distance to the sea front and town I would recommend people to stay here..just a little tight on the car park at the back but manageable but at least it is off road .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
havenhouse, Owner at Haven House, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review. I really appreciate your kind comments and look forward to seeing you again. Love Mands x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Enjoyed our time at haven hotel. Mandy the lady who owns haven house was very welcoming and helped us in anything we asked. The Breakfast was lovely too. The hotels location is Just a 10 minute walk into the town / harbour area which was enjoyable and very scenic. All in all our stay at the haven house was great and we would definitely go back and recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yoyoherts96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
havenhouse, Owner at Haven House, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. You were lovely guests and I look forward to seeing you again. love Mands xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

After booking the superior room as a electrical engineer i found the excessive use of extension leads to be quite bad as this is a public building ie where the paying public pay to stay also totally wrong lighting in the bathroom this should be ip rated also not on a dimmer switch as a regular user of b&bs across the country for both business and pleasure i feel this does not consider customers safety. Breakfast ok, but a limited time frame of only 45 mins 8.15 till 9 not accommodating if you want an earlier or later breakfast. Overall found the residence to be of a lower standard than advertised more in line with a 3 star accommodation. Proprietor not exactly welcoming. Was glad to leave.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank transporter_guy1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtorkers, Owner at Haven House, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Oh Bless your cotton socks ,I do believe that the rules are that - one is only allowed to write ONE (1) review so it would be great if people would not use different ip addresses...!!!!!!.,Please do give me your address and I can send you a copy of the annual electrical check. I am so sorry that you found the breakfast times narrow, if you had a problem with this all you had to do was ask and I would have been more than happy to accommodate you.. but thank you again for your SECOND review ..xxxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Superior Room was of an adequate size and light and airy, although lighting in the bathroom was dark and dingy. Could be a little noisy at night as the room was located on the ground floor front of the premises right next to the front door. Parking is dreadful especially for people with larger vehicles, be prepared to drive round in circles for a long time or park at a local pay & display 2 streets away.
Breakfast was adequate, although the full english does contain tinned tomatoes rather than fresh. Sauces and accompaniments are of a non branded low cost supermarket variety.
As regulat travellers the accomodation in our opinion does not meet 4 star standard and would only class as 3 star. There is better 4 star accomodation available in the area.
Overall we would not return to this accomodation or recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigger6744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
havenhouse, Owner at Haven House, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Oh Dear Tigger, The lighting in the bathroom is on a dimmer switch, I am so sorry you didn't realise this, why did you not ask. We do have a car park..but as you wanted to be able to see your vehicle because you had 'very very' valuable equipment in it, we could not accommodate you as the car park is at the rear. The breakfast has the option of tinned or fresh tomatoes, all you had to do was read the room menu or request, easy peasy really. Sauces and accompaniments come from various sources, from Organic, farm shops to Lidls'. I thank you for all your comments though. Kind regards..Mands xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Lawnswood Guest House
The Lawnswood Guest House
#75 of 153 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.0 mi away
Westbrook Guest House
Westbrook Guest House
#76 of 153 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Ashfield Guest House
#96 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Summerlands Guest House
Summerlands Guest House
#81 of 153 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Newburgh Guesthouse
Newburgh Guesthouse
#99 of 153 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wayfarer Guest House
Wayfarer Guest House
#100 of 153 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haven House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haven House

Property: Haven House
Address: 11 Scarborough Road | (also known as Haven Hotel), Torquay TQ2 5UJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spotless and tastefully decorated family owned guest house. Situated in a quiet conservation area, we are a few minutes walk away from beach, theatre, harbour, shops and Riviera Centre. All rooms are en-suite, with all the usual refinements and freeview TV. To maintain a high standard of cleanliness, non smoking and no pet rules apply. A full breakfast is included along with free guest parking. The stunning Devon coastline, and delightful Dartmoor are on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Haven House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing