We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasure to stay!”
Review of Haven House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Haven House
Ranked #81 of 148 Torquay B&B and Inns
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A pleasure to stay!”
Reviewed September 9, 2011

On arrival we were greeted by land lady mandi who showed us to our rooms,which were imaculate very homely,and clean.
Breakfast was very good, mandi was very friendley she told us about places to visit and gave us good information on the area could,nt do enough for us it was a pleasure to stay.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms were excellent especially the first one massive bathroom shower and bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELSE21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
havenhouse, Owner at Haven House, responded to this review, September 11, 2011
Thank you for your review, it is much appreciated, and may I say what a lovely guest you were too x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    34
    10
    0
    5
See reviews for
13
96
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newport
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2011

The rooms were very disspoianting and misleading from the photos on the internet. Very small with the cink next to the bed and a very small en suite. No irons in the rooms.

My biggest issue is that when we did not finish our breakfast the lanlady that appeared friendly very blatently shouted at the top of her voice about us being wasters and using other choice words about us.

Next time we come we will stay on the opposite side of Torquay which Amanda classed as the common side. Give me the commoners anyday over as rude protentious woman!!!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlieh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
havenhouse, Owner at Haven House, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Oh Dear!, I am really quite nice actually! An iron is not in the room but is readily available on request. I honestly believe that I have never called a guest a waster, I might have said that I do not like waste, but that is my fault for serving too much in the first place, so whatever they think they heard was misinterpreted. As for the 'harbour' lark, that is all it was, a lark, a running joke, I sincerely apologise for my sense of humour, I must remind myself that some people do not have one and to tone myself down accordingly. Lastly shame on you Tripadvisor for allowing personal insults... I presume 'protentious' is meant to be one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed there for 3 nights over the Bank Hol weekend.
Very clean room and comfortable bed, the hostess Mandi is very friendly and there is plenty of choice for breakfast.
10 min walk to the seafront.
Would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sammy9874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights and were please with the welcome we received. There was a good choice for breakfast, which was well prepared. Our only slight grumble would be that the room was very small and had we known this when booking we would probably have booked something else or expected a lower room rate. Having said this the room did have all we needed and we would stay again depending on price and rooms available.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rubysw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Nice b and b. The room was a bit on the small side and the toilet and shower room was very small, the wash basin was in the room next to the bed. Saying that though the bed was very comfortable and the hotel very clean. The breakfast was filling and the landlady (sorry don't know her name as she never introduced herself) very friendly. The hotel was not far from the seafront about a 5 to 10 minute walk. If we ever go back to Torquay we would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zelda18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Just as it says on the wall outside, this is a real haven. We have stayed with Mandi & Beri on several other occasions and enjoyed every one, this time was no exception. The Haven is warm and welcoming and Mandi is a great host, she is very helpful and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are clean and light and comfortable. If you have a special dietry request Mandi will cater for it. For anyone unfamiliar to Torquay, the Haven is close to all ammenities, ie shops, pubs, restaurants and the local sports and leisure facilities and is 10 minutes walk from the beach.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johng91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
havenhouse, Owner at Haven House, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to review. You are such wonderful guests xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Well,what a welcome to start with from the hostess Mandi.We were shown to the room which was outstanding.We were then given the grand tour of the surrounding area and places of local interest.The free parking at the rear of the hotel was a godsend.The choice of breakfast was fantastic and nothing was too much for Mandi .Would definately go back too the Haven house hotel again.AAA+++

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnf63_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
havenhouse, Owner at Haven House, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
You were brilliant guest as well, thank you xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.0 mi away
Westbrook Guest House
Westbrook Guest House
#76 of 148 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.0 mi away
Newburgh Guesthouse
Newburgh Guesthouse
#92 of 148 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Summerlands Guest House
Summerlands Guest House
#68 of 148 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Montana
The Montana
#33 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.4 mi away
Court Prior
Court Prior
#70 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haven House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haven House

Property: Haven House
Address: 11 Scarborough Road | (also known as Haven Hotel), Torquay TQ2 5UJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spotless and tastefully decorated family owned guest house. Situated in a quiet conservation area, we are a few minutes walk away from beach, theatre, harbour, shops and Riviera Centre. All rooms are en-suite, with all the usual refinements and freeview TV. To maintain a high standard of cleanliness, non smoking and no pet rules apply. A full breakfast is included along with free guest parking. The stunning Devon coastline, and delightful Dartmoor are on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Haven House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing