We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“welcoming B&B but a little on the small side”
Review of Haven House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Haven House
Ranked #87 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights and were please with the welcome we received. There was a good choice for breakfast, which was well prepared. Our only slight grumble would be that the room was very small and had we known this when booking we would probably have booked something else or expected a lower room rate. Having said this the room did have all we needed and we would stay again depending on price and rooms available.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rubysw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
There are newer reviews for Haven House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 176 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2011

Nice b and b. The room was a bit on the small side and the toilet and shower room was very small, the wash basin was in the room next to the bed. Saying that though the bed was very comfortable and the hotel very clean. The breakfast was filling and the landlady (sorry don't know her name as she never introduced herself) very friendly. The hotel was not far from the seafront about a 5 to 10 minute walk. If we ever go back to Torquay we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zelda18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Just as it says on the wall outside, this is a real haven. We have stayed with Mandi & Beri on several other occasions and enjoyed every one, this time was no exception. The Haven is warm and welcoming and Mandi is a great host, she is very helpful and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are clean and light and comfortable. If you have a special dietry request Mandi will cater for it. For anyone unfamiliar to Torquay, the Haven is close to all ammenities, ie shops, pubs, restaurants and the local sports and leisure facilities and is 10 minutes walk from the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johng91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
havenhouse, Owner at Haven House, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to review. You are such wonderful guests xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Well,what a welcome to start with from the hostess Mandi.We were shown to the room which was outstanding.We were then given the grand tour of the surrounding area and places of local interest.The free parking at the rear of the hotel was a godsend.The choice of breakfast was fantastic and nothing was too much for Mandi .Would definately go back too the Haven house hotel again.AAA+++

Room Tip: Book early.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnf63_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
havenhouse, Owner at Haven House, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2011

You were brilliant guest as well, thank you xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We stayed at Haven House two weeks ago, and we can only speak for the room we were given, it was very small and cramped, skirting boards were very dirty and light shades were very dusty,also I have never seen such a small shower cubicle and the wash basin is only a cloakroom hand basin. Wallpaper was bubbling off the wall and a piece of the ceiling looked as if it might fall down, the pelmet had to be seen to be believed, a rough cut piece of hard board with a strip of material stuck to it, electric wires were very untidy and a backplate to one plug socket was broken off. The other rooms might have been perfectly ok, judging by the feedback (that we had checked before booking) I think we have been unlucky to get this awfull room with a view of a brick wall from the window. Mandi did offer us another room but that was as small. I know when you are on holiday you dont spend much time in the room, but it was a depressing thought that at the end of a day out that was what we were coming back to. Having had my grumble I will say that Mandi was a very helpfull host and the breakfast was ok. After two nights we decided to move on but still had to pay for the four nights we had booked. I have since received an email from Mandi telling us that the room has now been cleaned and is gleaming,and the electric socket has been replaced, and has offered us a complimentary two night stay in the superior suit, which we have declined, as nothing makes us want to go back there. I think we should have been re-embursed with the two nights that we paid for but didnt stay, as we didnt get what we paid for and what is advertised.

Room Tip: When booking ask for one of the large rooms,
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piperannie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

location, 10 mins walk to shops and beach, in a nice quiet area .spotless clean room with good facillities, i.e t,v t&c en suite and a comfy bed.breakfast large and cooked nice and hot to order,hot toast,cereals e.t.c.the owners are very friendly and ,helpfull , cannot fault in anyway. free parking as wel(l,parking in torquay is not easy, )highly reccomended .

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pip18Wigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

We like to get away for the odd weekend.........to escape from the everyday pressures of work etc! Torquay is a place neither of us had been to and we had a lovely time!!!!! It has everything lots to do beautiful scenery loads of pubs and eating places.......The location of this perfect little 'Haven' was .......well just 'perfic'!!!! We parked up on Friday and chilled until Monday. Thanks Mandi what a lovely hostess you are.........Hope to return soon and will certainly recommend you.........unlike our experience in Wales last bank holiday!!!! Still shuddering at the memories!!! But thats another story..........

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clareph57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#56 of 87 in Torquay
955 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Chesterfield
The Chesterfield
#70 of 149 in Torquay
152 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brooklands
Brooklands
#99 of 149 in Torquay
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Morley Guest House
The Morley Guest House
#81 of 149 in Torquay
27 reviews
0.9 mi away
Abberley Guest House
Abberley Guest House
#93 of 149 in Torquay
96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mulberry House
Mulberry House
#103 of 149 in Torquay
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haven House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haven House

Address: 11 Scarborough Road | (also known as Haven Hotel), Torquay TQ2 5UJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $66 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spotless and tastefully decorated family owned guest house. Situated in a quiet conservation area, we are a few minutes walk away from beach, theatre, harbour, shops and Riviera Centre. All rooms are en-suite, with all the usual refinements and freeview TV. To maintain a high standard of cleanliness, non smoking and no pet rules apply. A full breakfast is included along with free guest parking. The stunning Devon coastline, and delightful Dartmoor are on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Haven House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing