We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exellent 5 night stay”
Review of Haven House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Haven House
Ranked #81 of 148 Torquay B&B and Inns
wigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“exellent 5 night stay”
Reviewed May 22, 2011

location, 10 mins walk to shops and beach, in a nice quiet area .spotless clean room with good facillities, i.e t,v t&c en suite and a comfy bed.breakfast large and cooked nice and hot to order,hot toast,cereals e.t.c.the owners are very friendly and ,helpfull , cannot fault in anyway. free parking as wel(l,parking in torquay is not easy, )highly reccomended .

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pip18Wigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    34
    10
    0
    5
See reviews for
13
96
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2011

We like to get away for the odd weekend.........to escape from the everyday pressures of work etc! Torquay is a place neither of us had been to and we had a lovely time!!!!! It has everything lots to do beautiful scenery loads of pubs and eating places.......The location of this perfect little 'Haven' was .......well just 'perfic'!!!! We parked up on Friday and chilled until Monday. Thanks Mandi what a lovely hostess you are.........Hope to return soon and will certainly recommend you.........unlike our experience in Wales last bank holiday!!!! Still shuddering at the memories!!! But thats another story..........

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clareph57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 3, 2011

What more could you ask for when you arrive at the front door to find a beaming smile amongst the pressure of cooking breakfast and finding us a room at the same time. Mandi attended to our every need. The rooms are light and airy with all the necessary facilities + a top notch breaky for the day ahead. Haven house is situated a short distance from the bay. We've stayed here twice and will be back again. Thanks Mandi :)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manda8650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
havenhouse, Owner at Haven House, responded to this review, May 11, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to review. I hope to see you both again..Mandi xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2011

Mandy is absolutely fantastic. She's extremely helpul, knowledgeable and a wonderful hostess. She made my stay in Torquay a few days in paradise. I would really recommend her to people who want to stay somewhere close to the riviera and main attractions.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leasandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
havenhouse, Owner at Haven House, responded to this review, May 11, 2011
Thank you, you are too kind, Do come and see me again..Love Mandi xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caistor, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2011

On our arrival we were given a friendly welcome by Mandi who immediately made us feel at ease and at home.
We were shown two double rooms which were exceptionally clean and with the high ceilings and neutral colours the rooms are bright and airy.

On retiring for the night we found the bed to be as comfortable as the rest of our surroundings and slept soundly all night. Because we like to sleep with the window open we were awoken in the morning by the sound of seagulls calling to each other….it was time to get up anyway, they beat the alarm clock by just a few minutes.

At breakfast times I had the full English breakfast with generous portions but a wide choice of other options are available including kippers.

Mandi is the perfect hostess and provides everything from extra toast to local walking maps making sure that your stay is an enjoyable experience

Haven House is ideally situated in the heart of Torquay and has easy access to beach, marina, shopping centre and local attractions.

Free car parking means that you can leave the car and explore the town on foot or by bus. The local bus services are very good and serve the whole of Torbay at frequent intervals

I thoroughly recommend this guest house to anyone who wants an affordable, clean comfortable guest house with a friendly owner

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank semi-retired-nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
havenhouse, Owner at Haven House, responded to this review, May 11, 2011
Thank you so much,for taking the time to write a review for me..much appreciated. I am so pleased you had an enjoyable time, love Mandi xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2011

I stayed here whilst working in the area and found it to be a cracking little place. The location is within walking distance to the town, bay and leisure centre.
Mandi is a great host and has good knowledge of the area. She cooks a fantastic breakfast, and keeps the rooms spotless.
True there are cheaper places to stay but without the friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leewoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 18, 2011

Enjoyed our stay at Haven House.Was made to feel very welcome by Mandi who had a wealth of knowledge to pass on of the area.Room was very clean and cozy.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.0 mi away
Westbrook Guest House
Westbrook Guest House
#76 of 148 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.0 mi away
Newburgh Guesthouse
Newburgh Guesthouse
#92 of 148 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Summerlands Guest House
Summerlands Guest House
#68 of 148 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Montana
The Montana
#33 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.4 mi away
Court Prior
Court Prior
#70 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haven House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haven House

Property: Haven House
Address: 11 Scarborough Road | (also known as Haven Hotel), Torquay TQ2 5UJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spotless and tastefully decorated family owned guest house. Situated in a quiet conservation area, we are a few minutes walk away from beach, theatre, harbour, shops and Riviera Centre. All rooms are en-suite, with all the usual refinements and freeview TV. To maintain a high standard of cleanliness, non smoking and no pet rules apply. A full breakfast is included along with free guest parking. The stunning Devon coastline, and delightful Dartmoor are on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Haven House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing