We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was just great!”
Review of Hotel Barton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Barton
Ranked #42 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
UKI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything was just great!”
Reviewed July 28, 2007

We spent three nights here. Everything was super and the hosts couldn't be nicer. The room was very clean and the shower was great! The hotel is in a great location and can walk to everything. We really recommend staying at this hotel. Can't beat it for the price!

  • Liked — location, cleanliness and pet friendly
  • Disliked — the steps!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelinpac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    34
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
80
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2007

My family and I stayed at the Barton in June of 2005 on a family vacation around Devon & Cornwall. The rooms were small but nicely appointed. Comfortable beds. Andy & Helen were friendly and helpful. The walk to downtown was beautiful -- but coming home up the hill was quite a hike. We worked off our dinner calories, that's for sure! We'd definitely stay at the Barton again should our travels ever bring us back to that part of the world!

  • Liked — Location, Friendly service, comfortable beds
  • Disliked — Parking!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stagemama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2006

Well, to start.. A freindly welcome as soon as we walked through the door. Excellent service straight away, Andy was very pleasant, and met with their gorgeous son, who also gave us the keys and map for parking! So sweet. Rooms and whole hotel are superbly clean and excellent size. Me and my partner were pleasantly surprised, best hotel we have stayed in a long time. I would recommend this Hotel in Torquay to anyone. Only a 5minute walk into town, down hill.... My feet hurt after dancing all night. But i cannot fault this Hotel one bit! Thank you for a great two days!

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Sazzlexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2006

My wife, baby son and I stayed at this hotel at the end of July 2006 for 2 nights as part of a tour around Devon and Cornwall. This is a small hotel located in the centre of Torquay. The contemporary decor of the hotel is refreshing - mostly white walls, etc. This is probably the cleanest hotel we have ever stayed in. Andy and Helen were friendly and added several nice touches in advance of our arrival. The English breakfast was delicious. This was the nicest hotel we stayed at in Devon and Cornwall and would highly recommend it.

There is free 2-hour street parking across the street, and free street parking within 2 minutes walk.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank HolidaySummary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2005

A great little hotel. Well kept, clean, nice modern furnishings, very friendly owners. Location is perfect, just a few minutes walk from restaurants, pubs (the Hole in the Wall would be my recommendation) etc.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2005

Hotel was clean and tidy but guests were awful.
Awoken at 0200 by drunks staggering back from clubs banging and crashing around.
Then kept awake by couple having sex in corridor.
Owner offered no discount despite not having had Breakfast due to not having had any sleep and then slept in!!
If you want a quiet hotel go elsewhere. If you’re going to Torquay on the beers I’m sure it’ll be fine…

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dan1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 26, 2005

My husband and i stayed at this hotel for the weekend. It is in a great location, 2-3 mins away from the bars, restuarnts and harbour. The Hotel is very clean and modern and the rooms are perfect. The staff are very approachable and the breakfast is spot on! Would recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Peppers
Hotel Peppers
#21 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Palms Hotel
The Palms Hotel
#27 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbour Heights Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Braddon Hall Hotel
Braddon Hall Hotel
#38 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hudson Hotel
Hudson Hotel
#62 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#49 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barton

Property: Hotel Barton
Address: 543 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#28 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Barton 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Barton is a bright modern family run hotel, 300 yards from Torquay harbour. The hotel is light and airy, decorated in neutral colors in a fresh modern style. Michael & Tina will make every effort to make your stay a pleasurable one. Hotel Barton also caters for business visitors, with free Wifi internet access, photocopying and fax service also available.Located on a road leading from the harbour, with steps up to the front reception and bedrooms arranged over 3 floors. All rooms have en-suite shower rooms, Digital TVs and hospitality trays. They are recently decorated and are fresh, bright and modern. Ideal for a holiday or short break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Barton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barton Hotel Torquay
Hotel Barton Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing