We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bentley Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Atlantis(Torquay)(Great Value!)
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Westgate(Torquay)
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Marstan(Torquay)
$103
$97
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$89
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$234
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Imperial Torquay(Torquay)
$103
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (751)
Filter reviews
751 results
Traveler rating
715
31
2
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
715
31
2
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskim davidon arrivalbiscuitslovely gardenwarm welcomeperfect hostsnight breakbreakfast was excellentvisit torquaycup of teatwo nightsour room was spotlessly cleanhigh standardsea frontoff road parkingeach morningexcellent stay
Filter
Updating list...
373 - 378 of 751 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Just had our first stay for two nights with Kim and David. What a nice couple, and they could not have made us more welcome. Bentley Lodge is a great place to stay very high standard of decor, rooms are very comfortable, excellent standard of food and service. Lovely garden to sit in with a relaxing pot of tea, or bottle of wine. Definatley a 10 out of 10 from us.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Just returned from our third visit to Bentley Lodge and once again it fully lived up to expectations.Could not fault a single thing from food,cleanliness,hospitality,lovely room and garden and a fabulous atmosphere throughout.This really is our perfect get away from it all/chill out retreat and with David and Kim going all out to make sure everything IS perfect we couldn't have felt more welcome.A real gem! We will definitely be returning hopefully next year.Thank's once again to David and Kim,be sure that all your efforts are appreciated,love the place,John and Tina

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent so it doesn't matter
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johna224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We had a two night stay and could not find fault with anything. The rooms are really lovely and everything you could possibly want is provided. The breakfast was excellent and the hosts Kim and David made everyone very welcome and nothing was too much trouble for them. There is a delightful garden to relax in, which we did as the weather was lovely. We would certainly be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabina032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We were very happy with our stay. And would recommend without a doubt, it is the first B and B we have stayed in that has asked us to chose breakfast the day before and I was surprised that our cereal and juice was already waiting when we arrived at our breakfast table, and you couldn't help yourself or top your juice up, but on saying that David our host did ask if we would like anything more,the breakfast although not large was cooked to perfection and went down a treat, lovely stay and lovely clean modern room and bathroom (room 3)and very nice hosts. A steady walk from the B and B to the big wheel in Torquay took us about 25 mins walking through the abbey.

Room Tip: Room 3 was nice
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allweneedtodo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Overall not good for the price. 80 pounds for one night. Our shower was broken. The breakfast was small one piece of bacon. One sausage. 3 small mushrooms. Two tiny cuts of toast. Facilities in room also poor. Wont stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank installer1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentley_Lodge_Devon, Owner at Bentley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Dear Installer1967
I believe that Tripadvisor is a great tool but where it frustrates me is when people leave reviews without their proper name making it impossible for us to identify the guest and respond on a personal level. For all we know you could never have even stayed at Bentley Lodge but here you are trashing our reputation. That said I will respond to the said criticism.
1 £80.00 for one night is indeed our high summer season one night rate. We do however offer various discounts and offers for multi night stays. I note that you have not said how many nights you stayed with us at Bentley Lodge or indeed the nightly rate you paid...I wonder whether it was one off or “Two Nights for the Price of One” deals by chance???
2 You have stated your shower was broken yet you decided not to mention this whilst staying!! The last shower unit that failed (yes they do fail occasionally) we replaced out within hours. What puzzled me more though is other guests have obviously used the room you were in as we are fully booked for the month, yet no one has said that the shower is broken...strange!!
3 You complained about the breakfast not being enough, yet our menu offers: Yogurt, Fresh Fruit and a range of Juices. It offers starters, Grapefruit, Prunes and a range of cereals. Our Full English consists of Bacon, Sausage, Hash Browns, Tomatoes, Mushrooms, Beans and Eggs the way you want Fried, Scrambled, Poached or Boiled. You could even have Smoked Salmon or the continental with as many racks of Toast as you like. Even more we consistently ask our guests “would you like anything else”? “Can we get you anymore”?...presumably Installer1967 you must have said NO!!
4 You have said the room facilities were poor...WHAT!! Have you actually stayed here? For those reading, in your room you have Tea & Coffee making facilities, a Fridge to keep things cool. You have a Flat Screen TV with built in DVD player and we offer a range of DVD’s for your enjoyment. You have your Alarm Clock radio, Hair Dryer, Iron, Ironing Board, Sewing Kit, Shoe Shine. There is even an individual Fan Heater for when the central heating is off, which can also be used as a cooling fan when hot. There are additional pillows in the room along with a blanket to go over the duvet for those that need it. In the bathroom you have your Shampoo, your Conditioner, there’s Shower gel and Soap and we even supply a bathroom spray to mask any embarrassing odours. I’m not even going to mention towels and WIFI...That Installer1967 isn’t my idea of poor facilities but if we are missing something that guests would want please tell as “when you were here” there was nothing asked for.
Lastly you say you won’t stay here again, this I am truly sorry about as Kim and I are good people who go out of our way to ensure excellence for our guests and with you Installer1967 we have failed and didn’t even know it at the time. That said you are a very special person because your point of view represents 0.2% of all our guests who have kindly left their opinions on Tripadvisor, so I guess this probably says more about you as a person Installer1967 than it does of Kim and my home and business. Have a great life and be happy. David Grey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews