We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bentley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bentley Lodge
Ranked #8 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a 2 night stay at Bentley Lodge. We had room 1 (the one with the view of the garden and the pond) and it was EXACTLY like the pictures. Some hotels make things look better in the pictures but not Bentley Lodge. It was beautiful. The bed was so comfy and the shower was lovely. Breakfast was really really nice and you get given the choice of what you want and when. That was amazing! It was too far to walk to town for us in winter but about £5 in a taxi and the town and harbour were upon us. This would be a beautiful walk in summer though. David and Kim were both extremely welcoming and David was happy to answer our questions regarding what kind of things we could do with our time in Torquay. A brilliant stay. We will definitely return. Thank you Kim and David!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben_Col01112012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    640
    28
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
84
480
5
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

The Lodge was very impressive down to the last detail. Kim and David were amazing hosts. The breakfast was fabulous with a lot to choose from and the setting was beautiful. It was in a great location and Kim and David were helpful in giving us tips on the local area. We look forward to another stay at the Bentley Lodge in the near future.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked great and very clean, we had room 1 which in my opinion had the best layout and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ljccsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed here to celebrate our anniversary and were so impressed. From our first welcome until our departure Kim and David were very helpful and were even kind enough to write us a card. The Bentley Lodge was spotless, the breakfast was great with a wide selection of food and the location was very convinient. We couldn't fault this hotel in any way and would recommend it to anyone!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StephA22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Seriously could not fault our stay in any detail. Starting from the helpfulness on information before booking through to the stay, the departure and even the follow up.
The property is immaculately clean and tasteful in decor. My room #5 was a nice size on the gound floor and again immaculate and our hosts Kim & David were wonderful.
In summary i travel a lot around the world and my stay here represents probably the best value for money in lodging that I have ever seen.
First class.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hambo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

My wife & I stayed only one night in the Bentley Lodge. We have stayed at, or visited over 15 guest houses in Torquay in the last four years and the Bentley Lodge ranks as one of the cleanest and most well maintained that we have come across. David & Kim were very amiable hosts whilst still managing to maintain a professional look and approach - a balance that is not easy to achieve.
We highly recommend this guest house to anyone looking for a quality stay in a very well run, friendly establisment.

Room Tip: Room 1 overlooks the beautiful garden. A good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mandjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Our daughter gave us a 2-night hotel break and we 'stumbled' across this on a web site (luckily).
Lovely couple (Kim & David), great rapport during phone booking, friendly welcome with coffee and biscuits. Lovely room (#5) on ground floor, beautiful decorations throughout .
My wife rated her poached eggs at breakfast as Número UNo! (iPad struck again!). The only niggle is a lack of storage space in the bathroom for toilet bags, etc. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarkingMad_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

we only spent one night at Bentley Lodge,but would certainly stay again if in the area.lovely hosts. we had two rooms and they were spotless.breakfast was not rushed and dining room overlooking the beautiful garden made us want to return in the summer.the fact we could open the bedroom window was a big plus.only a small detail but it makes a big difference to how we sleep.we highly recommend this lovely house

Room Tip: we had room 2 for a single occupant and room 5 which was downstairs and was at that front, however...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chloerosescott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
Anchorage Hotel
Anchorage Hotel
#80 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crown Lodge Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#7 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#2 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#6 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Albaston
The Albaston
#3 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bentley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bentley Lodge

Property: Bentley Lodge
Address: Tor Park Rd, Torquay TQ2 5BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bentley Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bentley Lodge... ...Award Winning 4 Star Silver Guest House...Open All Year A Lovely house that was built around 1900 and has been lovingly cared for. Your hosts Kim & David offer a genuine, warm and friendly welcome along with stylish, comfortable en-suite bedrooms and a freshly cooked breakfast (choice of menus) using local produce wherever possible. All contribute to give Bentley Lodge the feel of a boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Bentley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentley Hotel Torquay
Bentley Lodge Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing