We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Bentley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bentley Lodge
Ranked #7 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milhars, France
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

What a great place, lovely rooms very clean. Kim and David are great hosts, very friendly and very helpfull. The full english breakfast is excellent.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    674
    29
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
85
509
5
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying here yesterday and I can honestly say I have never stayed in a more clean environment. The room was spotlessly clean, very nicely decorated and comfortable. The garden to sit in is a very nice touch. The owners are very friendly and accommodating, recommending places to eat and places to visit. Breakfast this morning was without fault. We usually stay in larger hotels but this place was really nice and charming, and we will without doubt stay here again as it was excellent all round.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeejayBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Loved everything about Bentley Lodge - after driving over 3hrs and being stuck in London traffic, as soon as we arrived Kim read our minds and offered us a cup of tea/coffee, nice touch! Only stayed 1 night but Kim recommended great pub in town 'Hole in the Wall'. Decor was stunning, rooms were presented beautifully. Was a bit confused why the shower wasn't working, realised there was a red button outside the room that turned on the water. Would definitely recommend - thank you David for recommending us to visit Port Isaac on our Cornwall trip, loved it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misscherry17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Warm welcome. Clean and enough space room and crean shower room. The floor creaked under my feet. It does not bother me, but I am a bit afraid of others.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YKak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Wonderful b and b wonderful hosts made us welcome from the start of our stay. Nothing to much trouble highly recomend
:)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jueljohngarbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Really enjoyed our time. Ever so friendly and would / will recommend to everyone. Everything was so clean, gardens were lovely (apart from in the torrential rain) and room was perfect for the three of us

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adeydobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset uk
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

we received a very warm welcome upon arrival and were shown to a clean, well appointed but small room. unfortunately the bed was also very small. i'm normally a heavy sleeper but i was disturbed all night by the plumbing from the room next door, being able to hear every person that walked past our door and traffic noise. i could hear every word that was said in the room next door and i didnt feel that they were being particularly loud. i would not return and i am surprised that i didnt find any negative comments on trip adviser as it hasnt let me down before!

Room Tip: dont stay in room 3!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francis d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentley_Lodge_Devon, Owner at Bentley Lodge, responded to this review, April 28, 2012
Kim & I each year welcome hundreds of people into our home.
We like to make them feel as if each is a personal friend and that the experience they take away is one of excellence and of being home from home.
We strive for that excellence in all we do (Please read the other reviews as testimony of this pursuit). On this occasion for Francis & his partner Sasha they feel as if we have fallen short on this for them and we are sorry.
It is said that even when you do your very best sometimes you have to accept “You can please most people most of the time BUT you can’t please all the people all of the time”
Although this is a truth it still leaves us sad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
Anchorage Hotel
Anchorage Hotel
#72 of 87 in Torquay
386 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 87 in Torquay
2,886 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 149 in Torquay
339 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Somerville
The Somerville
#6 of 149 in Torquay
1,084 reviews
1.4 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#6 of 87 in Torquay
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bentley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bentley Lodge

Property: Bentley Lodge
Address: Bentley Lodge Tor Park Road, Torquay TQ2 5BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bentley Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bentley Lodge... ...Award Winning 4 Star Silver Guest House...Open All Year A Lovely house that was built around 1900 and has been lovingly cared for. Your hosts Kim & David offer a genuine, warm and friendly welcome along with stylish, comfortable en-suite bedrooms and a freshly cooked breakfast (choice of menus) using local produce wherever possible. All contribute to give Bentley Lodge the feel of a boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bentley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentley Hotel Torquay
Bentley Lodge Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing