We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home,”
Review of Bentley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bentley Lodge
Ranked #5 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Desborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home,”
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Home from home, excellent hostesses, made you feel so welcome, like being at home. Room outstanding, overlooked the garden, fantastic view, well presented and spotless, what more can I say, would defiently recommend and will return. Food good, such a choice for breakfast and well presented, breakfast room overlooks the garden with pond.

Room Tip: rooms are just like the pictures you are shown when looking to book and decide on your B&B
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacmusk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    28
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
84
504
5
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
hampshire
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Bentley Lodge for a relaxing weekend, we were warmly greeted by Kim and David who made us feel most welcome.
The room we were given was suberb you couldn't fault it. It was very clean, fresh and modern with the plus side of over looking the gorgeous garden .
Breakfast offered was a wide variety and very tasty, just whats needed before heading out to explore the lovely area of Torquay.
We would throughly recommend Bentley Lodge and many thanks to Kim and David for making us feel so welcome, we wish you all the success in your B & B.

Neil and Karen of Andover Hampshire.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gallywags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2011

What a fantastic place to stay.. We would reccomend this lovely place to any one.. We were greeted in a friendly manner, shown around the facilities and were offered a tea or coffee on our arrival. The room itself was truly beautiful, great facilities and a fantasic view. The included breakfast was cooked to perfection and we were truly looked after during our stay.. OOh and I can't forget the pretty garden that we could enjoy. Fantastic hotel with great owners!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelzwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster
2 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Arriving at Bentley Lodge we were met by Kim who immediately made us all feel very welcome and gave us a tour of the facilities including the lovely garden. My daughter and myself shared the family room which was decorated and furnished to a high standard with a lovely ensuite .We also made a booking for my mother in the downstairs double room with ensuite , climbing stairs is a problem for her so this room was excellent and was also decorated to a very high standard and certainly made her holiday. We all enjoyed beautifully cooked breakfasts in the tastefully decorated dining room which overlooks the garden. Many thanks for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fluffy_Joanie_Poanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TAD520
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We stayed at this fab B & B when we were visiting family close by.

Everything from the intial greeting right through to the moment we left was superb.

The complimentary tea offered by Kim was great and very welcome after we had been out sightseeing.

We had bought some flowers to take to party we were attending that evening and David very kindly organised us with a vase to put them in (we were going to prop them up in the sink in the bathroom!).

The rooms whilst not huge were adequate and were spotlessly clean. The little mini fridge in the room with complimentary bottles of water was a really nice touch.

The small garden at the rear was also a welcome retreat to have a cup of tea as well.

The breakfast was also very good as well with a good selection for which you complete an order form the night before so it is all cooked to order fresh at your desired time so no long wait for a great cooked breakfast. Very deserving of their good breakfast award.

We will definitely stay again at the Bentley Lodge if we stay in the area again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TAD520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We have recently returned from a two day stay at Bentley Lodge. My first impression was that this was a well run, spotlessly clean establishment . My lasting impression was that it was better than this.
This is how a B and B should be run, where the needs of the guests really are put first and where the overall service far exceeded our expectations. I would recommend Bentley Lodge without reservation, because I doubt that any guest could find fault with the way in which this establishment is run. We shall certainly be returning for a further stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank culinaire2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Myself and my husband stayed at this lovely B&B for two nights in July. The house is lovely and clean and decorated to a very high standard and the breakfast was absolutely delicious with plenty of choice. Kim and David the proprieters were very welcoming and helpful. We would definately recommend staying here and would stay again if returning to Torquay in the future.

Room Tip: Room 1 overlooking main road which is quite noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieW89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
Anchorage Hotel
Anchorage Hotel
#72 of 87 in Torquay
375 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
235 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crown Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Somerville
The Somerville
#9 of 149 in Torquay
1,057 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#6 of 149 in Torquay
364 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#4 of 149 in Torquay
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bentley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bentley Lodge

Property: Bentley Lodge
Address: Bentley Lodge Tor Park Road, Torquay TQ2 5BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bentley Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bentley Lodge... ...Award Winning 4 Star Silver Guest House...Open All Year A Lovely house that was built around 1900 and has been lovingly cared for. Your hosts Kim & David offer a genuine, warm and friendly welcome along with stylish, comfortable en-suite bedrooms and a freshly cooked breakfast (choice of menus) using local produce wherever possible. All contribute to give Bentley Lodge the feel of a boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and LateRooms so you can book your Bentley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentley Hotel Torquay
Bentley Lodge Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing