We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“74 belgravia”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 74Belgravia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
74Belgravia
Ranked #93 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“74 belgravia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We have just come back from staying at 74belgravia for a long weekend, we have stayed at b&b s before and this is the best by far, the rooms are all very clean and comfortable. It is within a short walk of the beach area and town with lots of bars and restaurants around, the breakfast in the morning was lovely and your host Trevor is very friendly and helpful, me and my husband will be returning to the belgravia as it was an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 7 at the back of the building and was very peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aje68_dre66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    13
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
12
37
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newbury
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

My partner and I have just spent a couple of nights at 74 Belgravia,we were so very lucky with the weather and choice of B & B. At first I was not impressed with having to pay up front before we had even seen the room but in this case it was fine as the room was beautiful and very clean and a lovely comfortable bed. We had a tasty breakfast cooked and served by Trevor our friendly host, very nice man. We enjoyed the short stroll to the sea front and town, with plenty of good restaurants, Bianco's is excellent if you enjoy Italian food. Plenty of local buses to take you to surrounding areas, try the bus trip to Brixham and return by ferry. I would definitely visit Torquay again and would love to stay again at the Belgravia.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBritsNewbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Together with my wife and our 20month old son stayed for 2 nights. This stay completely changed our perception of guest houses.

The decor is just fantastic, you can see that the colour coordination and the decor have been well thought through.
The staff were extremely attentive a d friendly.
The house is extremely clean and they have taken all the health and safety measures.

We parked the car at the hotel and was able to walk to town, the beach and harbour and close to restaurants. The location is perfect.

Breakfast was excellent too.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rawand9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed at 74belgravia for the weekend - we often stay at bed and breakfasts at sea side resorts around the country and can say that this is by far the best we have stayed at. Rooms all clean and tidy, lovely breakfast in the morning and it is a short walking distance from the sea front and town center. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brynmawr
Level Contributor
179 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Just spent a long weekend in 74Belgravia B&B close to the centre of Torquay. Our double room was a good size, furnishings were brand new and very comfortable. Whole property has been recently refurbished to a high standard. Our bed was fantastic, with a brand new duvet, bright white cotton linen, and new pillows. Cooked breakfast was lovely start to the day. Trevor, your host, was very helpful and welcoming.
Parking to rear is limited, but is in a quiet cul-de-sac. There is a decent pub opposite, with good value food and good cheap wine!
74Belgravia, is within 5 minutes walk of the seafront, and 10 minutes of the town centre. There are a number of shops, takeaways and a nice indian restuarant a few doors up.
Overall, a very good place to base yourself in Torquay.

Room Tip: If you have a room at the front of the building, you will have some traffic noise as it is located o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StanBrynmawr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2010

Very friendly welcome from Steve & Maria, helped with luggage and even had a spare cover for the bike. Room very comfortable, well located near the town, fantastic breakfast, you couldn't ask for more - will definately be staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heritagerider1450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOOGALS, Owner at 74Belgravia, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Thankyou so much to all our Wonderful Guests for your kind words, Unfortunately Doogals ceased trading in February 2011 and is no longer running as a guest house.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2010

I was meant to stay for one week but ended up staying for three weeks. The personal service from the above couple was second to none. They really looked after me and what i really loved was coming back from a hard days work and been met with a friendly smile. The room was always kept clean and tidy.
Keep the good work up Steve and Marie, God bless.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbing80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Cranborne Guest Accommodation
0.0 mi away
Mariners Guest House
Mariners Guest House
#62 of 153 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Trouville
The Trouville
#72 of 153 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Summerlands Guest House
Summerlands Guest House
#71 of 153 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Chesterfield
The Chesterfield
#58 of 153 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kethla House
Kethla House
#29 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 74Belgravia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 74Belgravia

Property: 74Belgravia
Address: 74 Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HY, England (Formerly Doogals Guesthouse)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — 74Belgravia 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
74Belgravia is in the prime tourist location of Belgravia just a short walk to the beach, passing the bowling greens, gardens and Torquay tennis club on your way. The town centre is within easy walking distance via the promenade where you will find the Princess Theatre, Torquay Marina and the harbourside with open air cafe life and the Pavilion shopping centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your 74Belgravia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
74Belgravia Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing