We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time in a B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lanscombe House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lanscombe House
Ranked #76 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Balmain, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“First time in a B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Have stayed in Torquay Hotels for years but wanted a location close to family. Trip Adviser was correct in suggesting this lovely B&B. It was our first time in a B&B so not sure what to expect.
Comfortable rooms, whisper quiet, breakfasts of choice and an honour bar that was ideal given the location. Next booking made already.

Room Tip: Room 3 & 4 overlook the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozziemovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    6
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
100
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Shepshed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in May & couldn't have wanted for more. Like most other reviewers, we agree that Paula & Leon are excellent hosts, showing you just the right amount of attention. Recommendations for evening dining were perfect, as we made reservations early based on Lanscombe's web site. Room 7 was comfortable & quitet, although the shower was a bit lacking in power (sorry Leon, meant to mention this whilst we were there, but forgot). Wonderful breakfasts with good quality food. Location is great, with Torquay being a relatively easy 40 minute walk away, down the water meadow path. We even succesfully negotiated it back in the dark! Very convenient for pleasant strolls in Cockington Park.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJSLeicestershire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benissa, Spain
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Found this on Tripadvisor looking for somewhere in Devon for a short break. I am always a bit concerned when reviews say how welcoming the hosts are as its a fine line between welcoming and intrusive...well I needn't have worried as Paula and Leon have it spot on and really are perfect hosts, welcomed with tea and delicious shortbread which after a 5 hour drive was most welcome. They are there when you need them and have all the local knowledge you would need. Room 2 was absolutely spotless ,decorated to the highest standards and tastefully done. It was double aspect so lots of light. Breakfast superb and loved the availability of bottled water in the landing fridge. Honesty bar a great idea and we had a bottle of Cava at a price we would have paid in a supermarket. We have returned thoroughly refreshed and would recommend this to anyone looking to recharge their batteries!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diavola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonButler, Owner at Lanscombe House, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Oh, thanks for your lovely review. So glad you were happy with everything. Great to meet you both. Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We received a warm welcome from the owner on arrival and we appreciated the accompanying cup of tea and shortbread biscuits which were served in the lovely residents' lounge. Leon and Paula gave us much useful information about the local area, places to visit and also places to have a good evening meal and were always willing to look information up for us. Our bedroom was spacious, very clean and the 'memory foam' bed really comfortable. The breakfasts were very good, plenty of choice (including the most wonderful pancakes) and served in a large pleasant dining room overllooking the garden.We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and fully intend to return to Lanscombe House in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonButler, Owner at Lanscombe House, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thanks for your review. Look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here twice. Each time we were shown the utmost courtesy and consideration. We stay here whilst visiting family who have a caravan nearby, they have also looked around and agree with us how wonderful it is. Breakfast is good quality and cooked to your own liking by Leon with no rush. Rooms are all immaculately kept, beds comfortable and the only noise is from the birds outside. The village of Cockington is well worth a wander around and it is a lovely walk along the side of the stream down to the coast itself. This is a real gem and can't wait until we go again.

Room Tip: All rooms have their own style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TitchLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonButler, Owner at Lanscombe House, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. It's much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

On arrival, we received a warm welcome. We were then shown to our lovely stylish and spacious bedroom which was immaculately clean and inviting, our host Leon then gave us a few minutes to settle in and then brought a tray of refreshments to our room ( drinks and cakes ).
Fresh milk, ground coffee and filtered water were available from the fridge on the landing. The breakfast menu was extensive and nicely prepared using good quality ingredients.
There is a very pleasant guests lounge and garden which one can enjoy on warm sunny days. The house is situated in a beautiful village and peaceful park land with many attractions, arts and crafts, nice tea rooms and miles of lovely park land to explore on foot. Your host's Leon and Paula are very pleasant and dedicated to helping to make your stay all that you would. want, always happy to help you plan your days. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room eight is a very spacious, double aspect room, comfortably provided for :-
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Booked our patents in here as we live in Paignton.They came down from Bristol.The hotel is breathtaking.Very welcoming extremely clean and room 5 was absolutely stunning.This is the only hotel that is actually situated in cockington village witch is a beautiful chocolate box very English place.They want to book again.We highly recommend this hotel it is perfect and in a most stunning place with everything in walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahg349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,208 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Charterhouse
The Charterhouse
#4 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
0.8 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cloudlands
Cloudlands
#56 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
2.1 mi away
Haldon Priors Bed and Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Briarfields
Briarfields
#12 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanscombe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanscombe House

Property: Lanscombe House
Address: Cockington Village, Torquay TQ2 6XA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lanscombe House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five star Lanscombe House is in a stunning location within Cockington Village and Country Park yet just a few minutes walk from the sea and Torquay beyond. The listed property has just 7 refurbished individually furnished rooms with quality en-suites and the personal attention to detail from the owners Leon & Paula Butler you would expect from a five star boutique country house. Lanscombe House has their own car park, a cosy bar, elegant guest lounge and spacious sunny breakfast room leading out to the walled Victorian gardens. The world famous preserved thatched village boasts a number of tearooms,a pub/restaurant as well as the extensive crafts studios at Cockington Court and 450 acres of park with rural walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Lanscombe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanscombe Hotel Torquay
Lanscombe House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing